We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice little local hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica
Ranked #12 of 29 Hotels in Alajuela
Boston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice little local hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2006

This is a nice, convenient alternative to the chains that are near the airport. We were a family group gathering from several locations, so it made sense to start near the airport before setting off to visit Costa Rica.

The Aeropuerto is located a few miles from the airport, with free transportation to and from.

Food was good, well prepared local Costa Rican cuisine. The included breakfast was hearty, eggs, bacon, rice and beans, fresh fruits and juices and coffee. We had dinner, too, typical Central American fare of good quality.

The rooms were decent, the beds firm ("hard" said a member of our party, but I like firm mattresses). Wake up calls were on time. We'll come here again if conditions dictate.

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank rodish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    157
    56
    20
    21
See reviews for
85
141
40
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2006

I travel 3 or 4 times a year (for the last eight years) to Costa Rica for business and to visit aging parents who have retired there. I have stayed at a wide range of hotels in Costa Rica, in San Jose and surrounding areas. My opinions:
Pros: If you need a clean bedroom and bathroom with steady running hot and cold water, friendly staff, business services like free Internet, and fax and copy services, plus good food, immediate access to highway and airport, then Hotel Aeropuerto is for you.
Rates are very reasonable - a good deal for the money. The grounds are protected by a gate guard, and security staff is always visible and vigilant. One feels safe inside.

Having read an earlier review, I had stayed away in the past. This time, I reserved tentatively for two nights, and stayed seven. I will definitely go back again. I loved the coffee maker in the room.

My only con, after the above pros, is that the highway is under construction, and the entrance is quite muddy. Also, the rooms could use a security chain, not just a bolt lock. And a privacy sign to hang outside the door would be a great plus.

H. Marin -- Los Angeles, CA

  • Liked — Quiet, friendly, convenient access to tourist places, shopping, airport.
  • Disliked — Entrance to hotel needs work.
  • Tips/Secrets — It's not a rowdy place - it's for business and family travelers seeking a place to rest and relax between other activities.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Ticoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monteverde
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2006

I've stayed at the Hotel Aeropuerto many times, and I've always been happy. It is clean, has nice firm mattresses, reliable hot water (not always a certainty anywhere in CR), reasonable rates, free WiFi and a couple free public internet terminals, and good working AC.

  • Liked — convenience to airport
  • Disliked — not a great neighborhood
  • Tips/Secrets — Not the place to stay for ambiance or beauty-- the location is just unbeatable to the airport for late arrivals or early departures
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank scotty23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2006

This is a dirty hotel. There are bugs EVERYWHERE. We could barely make it out our room or to the taxi without walking through about 300 flying beetles that were about 2.5 inches long. The room had a pungent smell. I would have paid double to be in a clean decent room. Staff is basic at best with English.

Stay somewhere else!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gator2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAeropuerto, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica, responded to this review, January 10, 2011
I would like to say this review is 5 years old, the hotel has changed a lot in the last year, our focus is the guest and 100% guest satisfaction is our goal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Level Contributor
129 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2006

We stayed near the airport our last night in the country to avoid a long, early morning trip. The Hotel Aeropuerto is a reasonably priced, relatively nice hotel that is 6 or 7 minutes from the San Jose airport. Pretty comparable to a Best Western in the States. There is a restaurant that serves a pretty typical Costa Rican menu at a fair price.

Shortly after we arrived, we took a taxi to the Butterfly Farm, about 5 miles away. I would highly recommend taking their tour. They have over 30 different species of Costa Rican butterflies flapping around in an enclosure. The tour is very educational and the butterflies are really beautiful.

Helpful?
6 Thank Atkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
1.8 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
2.2 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Brillasol Airport
Hotel Brillasol Airport
#11 of 29 in Alajuela
4.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
3.7 mi away
Berlor Airport Inn
Berlor Airport Inn
#17 of 29 in Alajuela
3.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica

Property: Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica
Address: West From Sjo International Airport 4km | On the Interamerican Highway, Alajuela 20104, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel Aeropuerto San Jose Airport Costa Rica)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring free transportation from and to SJO International airport, this comfortable hotel is an ideal base for your trip (3 stars). Those traveling long distances will particularly appreciate the proximity of the hotel to the motorway. The hotel is located in direct proximity to the airport (4.0 km). The reception desk, which is manned 24 hours, also has a hotel safe. The hotel provides free WI-FI in your room or via a wireless connection in public areas. Feel free to enjoy room service or the wake-up facility when staying at the hotel. The hotel operates a suite of business facilities. The friendly team at reception will provide you with more information on the hotel's own car rental offer. Don't worry about finding a parking space, the hotel offers free parking for guests. The rooms benefit from cable television and telephones. All bathrooms are naturally equipped with a hairdryer. Do you want to book a non-smoking room? Are you traveling with your family and do you need a cot? We will gladly cater for your wishes - please indicate them when booking your room. Your room also has a safe. Air-conditioning ensures that the room temperature is always comfortable. Whether you just want to play around or you take your training seriously, the hotel swimming pool is there for you! Forget the worries of the day as you enjoy a relaxing massage. Treat yourself to a meal in the restaurant, with outdoor seating, where diabetics and vegetarians can find tasty dishes too. In the evening we will welcome you to the hotel bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aeropuerto Hotel Alajuela
Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing