We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly outstanding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica
Ranked #12 of 27 Hotels in Alajuela
Reviewed June 24, 2014

We just wanted to stay close to the airport to catch our flight early morning and did not want to spend a fortune for such "one night stand".
The Hotel is about 20 years old but well kept. Beautiful gardens with lots of huge old trees and a great variation of tropical plants and flowers. The pool is small, but clean and not exposed to everybody else. Check in, was taking two minutes only, and staff is very friendly and helpful. The room (#139) was clean and the beds comfortable. AC and TV working great. The free wireless internet is steady but a little slow (85KB/s down- and 105KB/s upload speed)....well, what else shall we expect for free ?
Big surprise was dinner at "Las Planchas Restaurante & Grill":
The Restaurant is quiet basic..... or in other words, not fancy at all, but staff is very friendly, attending fast and acting professionally. We ordered 12oz beef tenderloins from the grill, green pepper sauce, fries & veggies, for about $22 each. The result was surprisingly good. For 18 years now, I'm a chef and restaurant owner myself and would give them 9 out of 10 points for this meal !
We will come back :)
Simon + Jeannette, Jacó, Costa Rica

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SimonTheSaint666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (408)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 408 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2014

The area around the hotel looks dangerous. The hotel room's door had a lot of movement in it and did not look very secure. The windows did not have locks on them. The wireless internet was not password protected and the outside area was darker than I would prefer. The sheets on the beds appeared to have been sleep in before so I was not convinced the sheets were clean. The pictures in the advertisements look like they were take 50 years ago and even the hotel sign was missing a letter in the name. During the day the grounds were well-maintained and the free breakfast was fine. I had reservations for two nights there but canceled the second. Even if the airport transportation is free, I will stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lucky1inVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

My family and I stayed here over night upon arrival to Costa Rica , lovely little family run hotel with restaurant on site and small pool area to relax. The food was delicious and the service overall was very friendly and accommodating . The hotel rooms were also very clean and comfortable . I would definitely recommend for anyone transiting through San Jose .

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
Thank Shardozois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

Great location.. Can't beat the price which includes a taxi to and from the airport with one of the companies they have a deal with. The rooms are basic but clean, grounds very well kept and much nicer than u would expect for a hotel in this price range. Would definitely stay here again

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
Thank almorgan24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at hotel aeropuerto for a night while waiting for a domestic flight to Drake Bay. We had a room by the pool which was spacious and clean. Having AC was wonderful along with the cable TV.
The hotel restaurant is also delicious.

All in all, great place to stay while waiting to either continue your journey or head home

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank OlsenkdNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Looking out the window of our room you would never know that this hotel is 5 minutes from the airport and right next to a car part graveyard. The grounds were lush, the staff was friendly, accommodating (and spoke good English) and helpful. Our flight was delayed so the shuttle wasn't running but they paid for our taxi ride from the airport!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carmenkane25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Beautiful hotel. Clean, good location, friendly staff, excellent food! Relaxing atmosphere. Reasonably priced for the benefits. We will certainly stay there again. Already planning to go again with friends!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CesiSalazar24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Brillasol Airport
Hotel Brillasol Airport
#11 of 27 in Alajuela
309 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
1.6 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 27 in Alajuela
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Berlor Airport Inn
Berlor Airport Inn
#16 of 27 in Alajuela
265 reviews
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
0.9 mi away
Hotel Robledal
Hotel Robledal
#7 of 27 in Alajuela
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica

Address: West From Sjo International Airport 4km | On the Interamerican Highway, Alajuela 20104, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel Aeropuerto San Jose Airport Costa Rica)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range: $60 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring free transportation from and to SJO International airport, this comfortable hotel is an ideal base for your trip (3 stars). Those traveling long distances will particularly appreciate the proximity of the hotel to the motorway. The hotel is located in direct proximity to the airport (4.0 km). The reception desk, which is manned 24 hours, also has a hotel safe. The hotel provides free WI-FI in your room or via a wireless connection in public areas. Feel free to enjoy room service or the wake-up facility when staying at the hotel. The hotel operates a suite of business facilities. The friendly team at reception will provide you with more information on the hotel's own car rental offer. Don't worry about finding a parking space, the hotel offers free parking for guests. The rooms benefit from cable television and telephones. All bathrooms are naturally equipped with a hairdryer. Do you want to book a non-smoking room? Are you traveling with your family and do you need a cot? We will gladly cater for your wishes - please indicate them when booking your room. Your room also has a safe. Air-conditioning ensures that the room temperature is always comfortable. Whether you just want to play around or you take your training seriously, the hotel swimming pool is there for you! Forget the worries of the day as you enjoy a relaxing massage. Treat yourself to a meal in the restaurant, with outdoor seating, where diabetics and vegetarians can find tasty dishes too. In the evening we will welcome you to the hotel bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aeropuerto Hotel Alajuela
Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing