We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place we have ever stayed - room, setting, service, food, uniqueness”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Xandari Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
Boulder, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best place we have ever stayed - room, setting, service, food, uniqueness”
Reviewed December 6, 2010

Xandari is awesome. Beautiful, clean, spacious rooms where every comfort has been anticipated and delivered. We stayed for 3 nights at the beginning of our 10 day trip in Costa Rica. The food was very good with friendly service (especially Marco) and the restaurant was so comfortable, relaxed and in a lovely setting - we were happy t to linger over our meal (we ate 3 breakfasts and 3 dinners at Xandari). We used the front desk service to plan two day outings (although the trails, flowers, pools and artwork on the property are so extensive you could happily spend the whole time exploring the property). On both of our day trips our driver was William. Not only did he do an expert job of navigating the tricky Costa Rica roads, but he also was a terrific ambassador for his country, sharing with us interesting facts and discussions about Costa Rica ranging from history, to current events, politics, wildlife, nature, and food preparation. What a treat for us. Our first day trip was to La Paz and Volcan Poas (both worthwhile stops), and our second trip was to the Tirimbina Biological Reserve. At Tirimbina there were no Naturalists available to give us a tour, so William offered to accompany us and shared with us a wealth of information about the flora and fauna at the reserve. The drive through Braulio Carrillo park on the way back was breathtaking. William spotted some toucans and howler monkeys along the way and stopped so we could get photos.
You cant go wrong booking a stay at Xandari - next time we plan to visit both the Alajuela and Pacific Coast Xandari resorts. Enjoy!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathyandpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    670
    156
    28
    8
    3
See reviews for
232
429
28
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
vancouver
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2010

Second time I have stayed here. Not as nice as 10 years ago but still very well designed hotel with stunning artwork everywhere and good views of the valley, plus hiking trails on site. Restaurant good, staff all very attentive. Sadly there are dogs in the local vicinity who bark all night and you need a vehicle to go anywhere else since the surrounding neighbourhood is quite poor. It is a good spot to spend a night or two en route into or out of the airport. We were not charged extra for the small snake who appeared under our patio door. Like most of Costa Rica, insects, birds, reptiles abound and most of them seem able to get into your room. They are harmless though. Leave no food out as ants will come in their millions.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rallyist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2010

Wow, what a beautiful place with incredible landscaping and many walking areas. When we first checked in, I was in awe of a most unique and beautiful work of art and was even luckier to get to meet Charlene, the artist. We discovered she has created the beautiful and colorful paintings you see everywhere plus her many other creations using colorful tiles, etc. The room we stayed in was decorated using Costa Rican woods & decor and then mixed in was a bit of art deco. The room also had a fridge and coffeepot. The bathroom and shower area was unique, great towels and robes if you needed one. The deck had a marvelous view of San Jose. We had a late lunch which was very good and priced well, I expected it to cost more. The breakfast buffet had many delicious fresh choices. The staff was very attentive. Also, the rooms have a book that gives you lots of information and they even have many tours to choose from. I hope my pictures do Xandari justice but I doubt they will.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 56Stargazers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Bell, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2010

My wife and I spent 9 days in Costa Rica with our last day at Xandari. Although the hotel is a little further from the airport the ride was more then worth the effort.

We were met by Douglas the hotel manager when we arrived. He could not have been nicer and even upgraded our room. This was a pleasant surprise, one of several during our brief stay. The gardens and orchid house were extraordinary and the hotel has its own trails.

We stayed in room #5. It was spectacular- one of the finest we have experienced. It was furnished beautifully and had a view of the central valley.

The food was excellent- both dinner and breakfast were memorable. We walked the trails and saw the waterfalls. The hotel is a self-contained resort including a spa where the treatments are reasonably priced.

I give the hotel 5 stars plus!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tesiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2010

Well located next to San Jose and offering amazing views on the Alajuela valley (and the airport far far away) this is your best bet when it comes to finding a chic but eco place.
5 stars at least in my book.
Pool is something you can't miss, with its dark lining and the statues around it.
Our room (number 24) was simply breath-taking. It is not a room it is a small house with a huge terrace overlooking the valley.
The spa is top-notch
Staff is very friendly.
Restaurant is offering fresh and tasty local food. Don't expect crazy French cuisine. This is simple locale fare.
You can take short hikes right from your room and if you have young kids I bet they will love feeding the baby goats with the milk bottles. The farm next door has very friendly people who will let you play around with the animals (kids love it).
I would go back in a wink!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vorsoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2010

We spent the last three days of a four week journey in Costa Rica at the Xandari Resort. For the most part our trip in Costa Rica was "rustic" , outdoorsy but amazing.

We decided we wanted the last few days in Costa Rica to have Air Conditioning, no jungle creatures and alot of luxury. The Xandari fit the bill. The staff we friendly and always helpful. The gardens are amazing as are the two incredible swimming pools. The resort is only a 20 minute drive to the Airport , approximately a half hour to Poas Volcano and and hour to the artisan town of Sarchi.

The Xandari is in Alajuela a much more laid back city just outside San Jose, it is a much better alternative to staying in the City of San Jose at the beginning or end of your trip to Costa Rica.

We ate at the restaurant each day and all the meal choices on the menu were excellent

The location is amazing, it is an old coffee plantation that looks onto the mountains and city below. At night the lights of the city below and a passing lightening storm made for incredible views.

Highly recommended at the start or end of a trip to Cost Rica if you are flying into or out of San Jose International Airport

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank niko1721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2010

Everything in Xandari is beautiful.
The rooms, the swimming pools, the grounds, the spa, the trails....
Just go there.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dalia78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
10.7 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 7 in Heredia
1,279 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#1 of 1 in Pilas
686 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 27 in Alajuela
668 reviews
11.9 mi away
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bajos del Toro
676 reviews
4.2 mi away
Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xandari Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xandari Resort & Spa

Property: Xandari Resort & Spa
Address: 1 km northwest of El Diamante Bar | Tacacori, Alajuela 4050, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#1 Family Hotel in Alajuela
#1 Spa Hotel in Alajuela
#6 Business Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Xandari Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Xandari is a 40-acre plantation with botanical gardens, orchid house and over 5 kms of nature trails including five waterfalls. Xandari is the creation of an architect-artist couple, with 24 spacious villas overlooking the Central Valley. Only 20 minutes from Juan Santamaria International Airport. In addition, three fabulous swimming pools, including the new 125 ft. Long Sunset Pool with a stunning view, and two outdoor jacuzzis. The restaurant serves fresh, continental and Costa Rican menu, featuring many organic fruits and vegetables from our own gardens. Xandari Spa Village is harmoniously integrated with nature and consists of a Yoga Room and five private palm-roofed jalapas with jacuzzi perched on a mountain ridge, where natural ingredients are used in massages and body treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Xandari Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xandari Resort And Spa
Xandari Hotel Alajuela
Xandari Resort & Spa Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing