We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a one night stop over from San Jose”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Xandari Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great for a one night stop over from San Jose”
Reviewed August 20, 2007

We stayed at Xandari after recommendations from our travel agent, Jonathan from Vacationcity.com. We had a long drive from Tamarindo to San Jose to get our flight. He thought a night at Xandari before going back to the states would be perfect. He was right!!

First, the room is decorated in a really funky California style (the owners are from California). The literature written by the owners explain the history of the resort (it used to be a working coffee plantation). Plus, it introduced you to the entire staff.

We enjoyed our dinner overlooking the lights of San Jose. We were so happy to be in a quiet, relaxing atmosphere out of the city life. We were on our honeymoon.. and it was perfect.

We walked the trails on our own which are truly well-marked. It is amazing to see the 5 waterfalls. Highly recommend it.

After seeing Tamarindo, Arenal, Manuel Antonio, this is the place to end your Costa Rican vacation.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank lelandsquare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

834 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    649
    148
    27
    7
    3
See reviews for
216
420
28
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Novato CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2007

Xandari is close to the San Jose airport, just a 20 minute drive to their 4500 ft. x coffee plantation location. A couple--architect and artist, own this peaceful, visually beautiful ,because of the colorful creative villas and the immense amount of tropical plants, and the view of the city in the distance. The villas are 700+ ft each...with high curved wooden ceilings, huge patios, overlooking the gorgeous vegetation and the city lights at night; double bathroom with an open plan shower that opens to a flowers and plants; there are floor to ceiling glass windows and doors. The dining area is open with a curved floor plan overlooking the lovely green area and the city; the staff is always friendly, helpful and very kind.
There are two pools; one secluded and one with a jacuzzi and more open.
You can't not stay at this fabulous place if you have some time in San Jose.

  • Liked — Beautiful location and villas
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gretch3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2007

We wanted a little taste of luxury during our Costa Rica holiday, so we decided to book two nights and check it out. We were so glad we did. It was absolutely by far our best hotel experience in Costa Rica. Sure it was also the most expensive, but you get what you pay for, and so much more in this case.

The hotel has great character and style, friendly and informal staff, spacious and well thought-out rooms with great design, a really good restaurant that was reasonably priced, very pleasant grounds to stroll in, including a coffee plantation, waterfalls and the list goes on and on. Finally the view of the Central Valley (from the restaurant or from your room) is truly stunning, day and night.

The only snag with staying here is that that you won't want to leave the place to go sightseeing! We recommended this place to anyone, it's a real treat.

We're not the people to give full marks liberally, but in this case it is truly worth it.

  • Liked — The architecture and decor, the grounds, the view,
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank wildmushroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2007

I'd had friends spend part of their honeymoon here, and I had a few days to relax before heading down to the Osa, so I booked a night at Xandari, which became two. Sure, I was the only person traveling alone there at the time, but there is so much to do... if you like hiking, staring out at the gorgeous view from your private balcony, reading, swimming, sunbathing or just vegging out.

I love the villas. The moment I stepped into #14, I thought--yea, this is so my style. The food was very good and reasonably priced, in my opinion, and I found the service lovely and sweet. I'll add photos later.

  • Liked — The villas, the views, the gardens, the spa
  • Disliked — That I couldn't afford it my final night in the country
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emm_Dash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2007

Wow. My husband and I began our Honeymoon at Xandari, mainly because it had been recommended and was only a brief distance from the international airport. Once through customs, we were quickly at our hotel and on our vacation -- which is a tremendous plus.

The hotel is on a coffee plantation in Alajuela, which is just far enough from the airport to seem like an escape, and lushly remote enough to sincerely BE an escape.

We stayed in an Ultra Villa, which was one of the most phenomenal rooms we've ever been in -- and we typically don't stay in less than 4-5 Star hotels. It wasn't necessarily as opulent as typical 5-stars, but it was open, airy, artsy and beautiful -- it made us truly feel like we were in Costa Rica. High ceilings, tiled floors, and a spectacular outdoor terrace with a killer view are high points. The beautiful lap pools, restaurant, orchid garden, and waterfall hiking trails are also excellent.

The FREE juices, cookies and sodas in the fridge, plus the delicious free breakfast spreads -- with the best papaya, pineapple, mango, muffins, jams and juices you'll ever taste -- are truly stellar selling points. If you want elegance, opulance and total luxury, this hotel may not be for you -- but then, if you aren't willing to tolerate a little rain, a few bugs, and the natural humidity that comes with a major rainforest, you don't belong in Costa Rica anyway.

Xandari is a perfect, warm, lovely welcome to this country, which is full of perfectly warm and lovely people. The staff at Xandari bend over backwards to please. The artisan shop, with its rich, colorful wood products and hand-made leather bags is also a draw, as is the delicious local coffee. Sincerely, if you must begin or end a trip in Costa Rica, I cannot recommend Xandari enough. It was an fantastic beginning to our honeymoon.

We plan to return many times.

  • Liked — The view, the decor and the staff.
  • Disliked — I wish they'd had a ceiling fan -- that's about it.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank PassportGirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2007

We stayed at Xandari for 3 nights at the end of April in a Prima Plus villa. The villa was amazing with wonderfully original decoration. It was spacious and airy with loads of natural light and patio doors that stretched the length of the villa. We had a large balcony with uninterrupted views over the valley. A particular favourite was the enormous shower!

The staff were professional and courteous without being overbearing and all in all we had a superb time - I would recommend this place without question.

I read other people's reviews of this hotel before we booked and I have to say that we didn't experierence any problems with noise (apart from the insects!). I think that was because we opted for a detatched villa rather than a terraced one. If you are going to Costa Rica then definitely book in with the Xandari.

  • Liked — The amazing surroundings
  • Disliked — The restaurant
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BMac3009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 22, 2007

We stayed in Xandari for the last 3 nights of our honeymoon and it was the perfect end to our trip. When we arrived there was a welcome note and a bottle of wine to celebrate the honeymoon. We were upgraded free of charge and stayed in one of the luxury villas. The style of the villa was very arty and perfectly clean complete with fridge and a really good walk in shower. We didn't venture outside the resort at night as the restaurant was excellent and the relaxing atmosphere overlooking the city was breathtaking. Staff were very pleasant and even lent us mosquito spray when we ran out. Overall we couldn't fault the resort and would love to revisit. A perfect location to watch the sunset over the valley and a complimentry shuttle to the airport.... It was hard to leave.

  • Liked — The general atmosphere and the staff
  • Disliked — Cold pool
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Galway145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
10.7 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 7 in Heredia
1,252 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#5 of 27 in Alajuela
675 reviews
11.9 mi away
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bajos del Toro
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
6.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Caria...
#2 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
1,327 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#4 of 27 in Alajuela
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xandari Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xandari Resort & Spa

Property: Xandari Resort & Spa
Address: 1 km northwest of El Diamante Bar | Tacacori, Alajuela 4050, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Alajuela
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#1 Spa Hotel in Alajuela
#6 Business Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Xandari Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Xandari is a 40-acre plantation with botanical gardens, orchid house and over 5 kms of nature trails including five waterfalls. Xandari is the creation of an architect-artist couple, with 24 spacious villas overlooking the Central Valley. Only 20 minutes from Juan Santamaria International Airport. In addition, three fabulous swimming pools, including the new 125 ft. Long Sunset Pool with a stunning view, and two outdoor jacuzzis. The restaurant serves fresh, continental and Costa Rican menu, featuring many organic fruits and vegetables from our own gardens. Xandari Spa Village is harmoniously integrated with nature and consists of a Yoga Room and five private palm-roofed jalapas with jacuzzi perched on a mountain ridge, where natural ingredients are used in massages and body treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Xandari Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xandari Resort And Spa
Xandari Hotel Alajuela
Xandari Resort & Spa Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing