We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Grounds And Views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Xandari Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 13, 2009

First time being at the Xandari for my fiance and I. We read some of the reviews before hand and were not sure if it would be exactly the same.

Some new improvements from other guests remarks:
- the beds are not hard anymore they have mattress padding and are quite nice
-almost all the windows have drapes to block out the sun, they also provide night masks at reception
-there are 3 pools now, the 3rd is at the far end and right against the cliff overlooking San Jose and a second jacuzzi is there too. It's an amazing view.

Loved:
The spaciousness and cleanliness of the room
Friendly staff
Beautiful gardens and property
The waterfalls and hiking trails on-site
Beautiful spa rooms and a great massage!! Highly reccommended
The view of San Jose
Great resort drivers
It wasn't very busy with guests and we had lots of space to ourselves

Not So Great:
Getting lost in Alajuela trying to get to the hotel, reception giving generic directions and not from the road we came in on, after 12 phone calls and much frustration they sent a cab to lead us up to the impossible to find resort way in the hills of Alajuela.

The vegetarian food is not that great, luke warm or cold and for the price the portion sizes are ridiculously small. Having to order 3 appetizers and 3 entrees for 1 couple to get enough to eat and extra rice is a little excessive (and we're a thin couple) Suggest not serving such small portions of rice and gallo pinto, it comes out cold in the small mold. Red cabbage and lettuce are not ingredients for a stir fry. Pita chips were cold and rock hard and barely edible. The "baked" potato ENTREE was 2 boiled white baby potatoes... ?? The pizza could be cooked more and came out luke warm. When asking for salsa we got ketchup. We decided to pay for the expensive cab ride to downtown San Jose to get vegetarian food there instead, if you're going to pay $50 US for dinner in Costa Rica you might as well enjoy it and get enough to eat. Otherwise the restaurant is very nice, the staff are helpful and courteous. Just was not thrilled by the food when others rave it's a gourmet restaurant.

There could be better lighting around the jacuzzi and pool lights would be nice. Sun sets around 5:30 and it's super dark there.

The fruit drinks here pale in comparison to the ones offered at The Xandari By The Pacific

I would definitely visit the Xandari again, we brought some fruit with us, next time we will bring more and eat elsewhere and enjoy the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tropicaltravels6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (870)
There are newer reviews for Xandari Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

635 - 641 of 870 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2009

We spent the last night of our trip here so that we could get to the airport quickly. We had a villa with fabulous views of the valley. Our children shared the villa but had twin cots in the same living space. The bathroom is separated by a wall but does not have any doors so we had to be sure to be mindful of each other's privacy. No TV either which my kids were looking for. On the plus side, the grounds were beautiful, spa was okay and the food in the restaurant was delicious. I would return with my husband but minus the kids.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VKI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2009

This resort is absolutely amazing. They bent over backwards helping us out. They personally tailored our spa treatments. My wife and I were able to enjoy hours in the Jacuzzi overlooking the city with fresh cheeses and juice. We loved the hotel...intimate, great food, and enough property to spend a couple days walking around. Great surrounding area, very isolated. The villas are amazingly large and very beautiful. Architecture was amazing. Definitely recommend this place, the customer service was magnificent as well. October was the rainy season...recommend another time of year.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JNKassebaum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2009

I would recommend this hotel. it really makes for a special vacation. great service, great rooms, great restaurant. It is a little more pricey than others but really worth the price if you want to have a great, relaxing, and romantic time. the grounds are great to walk around.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debtravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2009

Rooms/villas with views across the valley and birds to watch from the terrrace. Nice grounds. Food fine.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Camdenuser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed our week which was split between the Xandari resorts in Alajuela and on the Pacific at Playa Eserillos Este. The occasion was our niece's wedding. Both rooms were well appointed, colorful and comfortable. The staff at both resorts were most accomodating and friendly. All the staff were invited to join in dancing at the reception and seemed to enjoy themselves as much as we did.
The spa experience was terrific. On our last evening my wife and I were relaxing in the jacuzzi after our massages, during a rainstorm, gazing over the lights of San Jose - SPECTACULAR!!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T-rad-NH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2009

Xandari is a beautiful property and a great choice for the end of your trip when you want to just relax and be close to the airport. Our driver was late picking us up, so we got off to a bit of a rocky start, but we called from the airport, and they said he would be there shortly.

After that, things went smoothly. We stayed in a beautiful villa that had a gorgeous view of the central valley and the mountains. Our room was huge and had a small frig stocked with free bottled water, juices, sodas, and cookies. Also beer and wine if you wanted to pay for those. This place was designed by and is owned by an architect, and we had the pleasure of meeting him when we checked in. He had a desire to leave a beautiful place in the world, and he has succeeded.

Our room was huge and posh with funky modern artwork created by the other owner, his wife. We had a king-sized bed with a beautiful view, separate tub and shower, and a great balcony with comfortable lounge chairs on it. Our villa had floor to ceiling windows and louvers that allowed you to open them to let in the breeze; sliding glass doors opened onto our beautiful terrace and private landscaped courtyard. Air conditioning is not needed here. The bathroom was stocked with robes, shampoo, and a blow dryer - very nice not to have to pack those things. All of the villas are painted in beautiful, bright, brilliant colors.

We enjoyed walking around the lush grounds and hiked to the 5 waterfalls on the property. They grow a lot of their own fruits and vegetables here; everything is very fresh. The food at the restaurant is good, and the restaurant is open-air and also has a beautiful view of the valley. One night at dinner, a huge storm came up and torrential rains started pouring, along with strong cold winds. The servers in the restaurants came out with blankets for everyone, which we thought was such a kind and wonderful touch. This part of CR has much cooler temperatures than other areas we visited.

The owner, Broudy, had mentioned that they just finished a new pool by our villa, so we went to check it out and found it to be beautiful. There's also a little hot tub with a great view. Since it was pouring, we didn't get a chance to enjoy it, but next time we would love to. There's a little media room at reception where you can watch movies. We wanted to bring a movie back to our room since we have our own DVD player, but they wouldn't let us. That was really our only disappointment. If you're paying for a beautiful villa, you'd like to enjoy it, so we passed on the movie and just went back to our room to relax and enjoy the view.

The next day we hiked the grounds some more and saw some beautiful birds. A continental breakfast was complimentary and had offerings like toasted bagels, fresh fruit, smoothies, ham, yogurt, etc. There are heavier choices like eggs and bacon if you want to pay the extra cost, but really the continental breakfast was perfect for us. Checkout was easy, and our driver to go back to the airport was very nice and prompt - it's an easy 20-minute drive to get there. It's nice to be so close to the airport but to be outside of the city where it's beautiful. We could definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank volcanogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
0.9 mi away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#1 of 1 in Pilas
689 reviews
10.7 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 7 in Heredia
1,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 27 in Alajuela
673 reviews
4.2 mi away
Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation Resort
3.7 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xandari Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xandari Resort & Spa

Address: 1 km northwest of El Diamante Bar | Tacacori, Alajuela 4050, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#1 Family Hotel in Alajuela
#1 Spa Hotel in Alajuela
#6 Business Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range: $129 - $410 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Xandari Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Xandari Resort & Spa offers the quintessential Costa Rica experience. The property’s forest reserve, with five waterfalls and miles of trails for bird-watching, provides the nature guests expect from a visit to Costa Rica. The landscaped gardens, the orchid house, and the farm all provide an additional abundance of tropical goodness. The Spa provides ample opportunity to unwind, to relax, to absorb the surrounding nature. All 24 villas, each uniquely designed and set within lush foliage, have spectacular views. And three times a day, our restaurant demonstrates the role of local cuisine in giving visitors an authentic sense of place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Xandari Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xandari Resort And Spa
Xandari Hotel Alajuela
Xandari Resort & Spa Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing