We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Andrew Harpers DISAPPOINTMENT”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Xandari Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
catguy1000
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“An Andrew Harpers DISAPPOINTMENT”
Reviewed March 22, 2006

After reading the Andrew Harpers gold list we decided to save Xandari for the last stop of our Costa Rica vacation. For the rate we paid and all of the glowing reviews we had read we were so disappointed! We arrived hoping to relax in our room - not possible as we could hear every word of the staff meeting that went on for 2 hours next to us in the lounge. We went to the pool (not heated as advertised), too cold to swim and no lounge chairs available in the shade. We made a reservation months in advance for dinner, we were never told everyone sat together at 1 table. Not my idea of romantic! Dinner was ok - not great, not terrible. The next morning we had to leave for the airport by 6:30 - they offered an early continental breakfast which we accepted. Breakfast was not ready as promised and the icing on the cake was the additional currency exchange fees they tack on the bill. On a high note we loved the area, we loved the rainforest park, the people are so friendly we will definately go back, but not to Xandari!

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank catguy1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

834 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    649
    148
    27
    7
    3
See reviews for
216
420
28
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2006

The writers of the bad reviews are either searching for things to complain about or had crazy bad luck. We've stayed at Xandari over the past two years and each trip is the warm, relaxing escape we had planned. For whatever reason(probably sheer enthusiasm) every time we book a room we are generously upgraded for no extra cost when we arrive, if there happens to be availability. The villas are beautiful, unique and full of surprises. Semi-open showers, breath-taking views from a huge veranda and curved ceilings only add to a sense of calm. The coffee we purchased from their plantation is the best in Costa Rica.
After checking in, we headed straight for one of seven hiking trails and explored the gorgeous waterfalls. Walking around the grounds of Xandari is the best part of the experience-not something to complain about. We passed a sloping, colorful garden on our way and later booked a treatment at the spa. The massage I received in the open palapa facing the valley of Alejuela was unforgettable. The sunset from the hot tub was spectacular! Later, at dinner on the open-air balcony, a cloud drifted up from the valley and passed right through our dinner table!
Our waiter was so friendly, we wound up chatting about his experience at Xandari. The staff was always gracious, attentive to every need and cheerful. Best of all, you go to sleep at night knowing security is patrolling the grounds, just in case. Security even drove us up the hill in a golf cart from the spa with a smile.
One note: We experienced a 6.4 earthquake while staying at Xandari. Nothing at all moved except for a hanging lantern in the center of the room. The next morning it was as if nothing happened. What a relief to be at Xandari!
Can't wait to see the new hotel in Esterillos!

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank lotusveda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulfport, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2006

Hotel Xandari is about six or seven miles north of the San Jose airport. It is built on an old coffee plantation. The owners (who live there part of the year) are two artists from the United States. Many of the accessories in the rooms (actually villas) are made by them.

The villas are modern and wonderfully decorated. Each one is different; all are special. Spotlessly clean and well maintained. The grounds are well taken care of and make for pleasant walks.

The restaurant has a good kitchen and has the good sense to serve local, fresh food.

If you are going there from the airport, let them know your flight information and they will pick you up -- gratis.

My wife and I love Costa Rica. We always end our Costa Rican vacations here. It is a short, easy ride to the airport and is a MUCH nicer way to end our travels than one of the large hotels just outside the airport.

All sorts of spa treatments, etc. available. The staff is friendly and helpful.

And the rates are surprisingly low for a true 5-star resort.

Helpful?
5 Thank ab0si
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Underhill, Vermont
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2006

We immediately fell in love with this place and felt so relaxed our entire stay-the landscape is breathtaking and the gardens are beautiful. This place has a very private feel. Its worth getting a spa treatment in this very unique spa. The dinner was outstanding. If you like places that have no feeling that resembles a chain hotel, this is the place for you. Special attention is paid to every detail!!! Well worth the money

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kumabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2006

We arrived very late after a full days drive from the Osa Peninsula and were very pleased to see our lovely, comfortable room with fabulous views over the valley. Unfortunately the restaurant had closed as it was just after 9pm and we were only offered beef or chicken sandwiches. The rooms are large and beautifully decorated with wall art and ornaments. The grounds are superbly kept with gorgeous plants and flowers and walking trails which are marked with varying degrees of difficulty. The only real negative comments are directed at the swimming pool areas. One of the pools' water was completely green with a notice asking guests not to swim; the other pool was looking a bit tired, with the the surrounding concrete looking rather messy and dirty. There were some empty glasses on a table which had obviously been there since at least the evening before and were never cleared away during our entire stay. It is unfortunate that a hotel of this standard and standing allows the swimming pools to be so badly kept. Perhaps some money should have been spent in these areas in addition to the new Spa in this hotel, and their new hotel by the coast at Jaco.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank The Penguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
10.7 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 7 in Heredia
1,252 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#4 of 27 in Alajuela
675 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bajos del Toro
658 reviews
6.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Caria...
#2 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
1,327 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 27 in Alajuela
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xandari Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xandari Resort & Spa

Property: Xandari Resort & Spa
Address: 1 km northwest of El Diamante Bar | Tacacori, Alajuela 4050, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#1 Spa Hotel in Alajuela
#1 Family Hotel in Alajuela
#6 Business Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Xandari Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Xandari is a 40-acre plantation with botanical gardens, orchid house and over 5 kms of nature trails including five waterfalls. Xandari is the creation of an architect-artist couple, with 24 spacious villas overlooking the Central Valley. Only 20 minutes from Juan Santamaria International Airport. In addition, three fabulous swimming pools, including the new 125 ft. Long Sunset Pool with a stunning view, and two outdoor jacuzzis. The restaurant serves fresh, continental and Costa Rican menu, featuring many organic fruits and vegetables from our own gardens. Xandari Spa Village is harmoniously integrated with nature and consists of a Yoga Room and five private palm-roofed jalapas with jacuzzi perched on a mountain ridge, where natural ingredients are used in massages and body treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Xandari Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xandari Resort And Spa
Xandari Hotel Alajuela
Xandari Resort & Spa Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing