We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,015)
Filter reviews
1,015 results
Traveler rating
774
182
37
15
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
774
182
37
15
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshiking trailscentral valleyinfinity poolsan joseprivate jacuzzicosta ricabotanical gardensoverlooking the valleycoffee plantationour honeymoontwinkling lightslarge balconybeautiful groundsrooms are hugemain buildingbefore flying homedogs barking
Filter
Updating list...
742 - 747 of 1,015 reviews
Reviewed August 31, 2009

Rooms/villas with views across the valley and birds to watch from the terrrace. Nice grounds. Food fine.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Camdenuser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed our week which was split between the Xandari resorts in Alajuela and on the Pacific at Playa Eserillos Este. The occasion was our niece's wedding. Both rooms were well appointed, colorful and comfortable. The staff at both resorts were most accomodating and friendly. All the staff were invited to join in dancing at the reception and seemed to enjoy themselves as much as we did.
The spa experience was terrific. On our last evening my wife and I were relaxing in the jacuzzi after our massages, during a rainstorm, gazing over the lights of San Jose - SPECTACULAR!!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T-rad-NH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2009

Xandari is a beautiful property and a great choice for the end of your trip when you want to just relax and be close to the airport. Our driver was late picking us up, so we got off to a bit of a rocky start, but we called from the airport, and they said he would be there shortly.

After that, things went smoothly. We stayed in a beautiful villa that had a gorgeous view of the central valley and the mountains. Our room was huge and had a small frig stocked with free bottled water, juices, sodas, and cookies. Also beer and wine if you wanted to pay for those. This place was designed by and is owned by an architect, and we had the pleasure of meeting him when we checked in. He had a desire to leave a beautiful place in the world, and he has succeeded.

Our room was huge and posh with funky modern artwork created by the other owner, his wife. We had a king-sized bed with a beautiful view, separate tub and shower, and a great balcony with comfortable lounge chairs on it. Our villa had floor to ceiling windows and louvers that allowed you to open them to let in the breeze; sliding glass doors opened onto our beautiful terrace and private landscaped courtyard. Air conditioning is not needed here. The bathroom was stocked with robes, shampoo, and a blow dryer - very nice not to have to pack those things. All of the villas are painted in beautiful, bright, brilliant colors.

We enjoyed walking around the lush grounds and hiked to the 5 waterfalls on the property. They grow a lot of their own fruits and vegetables here; everything is very fresh. The food at the restaurant is good, and the restaurant is open-air and also has a beautiful view of the valley. One night at dinner, a huge storm came up and torrential rains started pouring, along with strong cold winds. The servers in the restaurants came out with blankets for everyone, which we thought was such a kind and wonderful touch. This part of CR has much cooler temperatures than other areas we visited.

The owner, Broudy, had mentioned that they just finished a new pool by our villa, so we went to check it out and found it to be beautiful. There's also a little hot tub with a great view. Since it was pouring, we didn't get a chance to enjoy it, but next time we would love to. There's a little media room at reception where you can watch movies. We wanted to bring a movie back to our room since we have our own DVD player, but they wouldn't let us. That was really our only disappointment. If you're paying for a beautiful villa, you'd like to enjoy it, so we passed on the movie and just went back to our room to relax and enjoy the view.

The next day we hiked the grounds some more and saw some beautiful birds. A continental breakfast was complimentary and had offerings like toasted bagels, fresh fruit, smoothies, ham, yogurt, etc. There are heavier choices like eggs and bacon if you want to pay the extra cost, but really the continental breakfast was perfect for us. Checkout was easy, and our driver to go back to the airport was very nice and prompt - it's an easy 20-minute drive to get there. It's nice to be so close to the airport but to be outside of the city where it's beautiful. We could definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank volcanogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2009

We stayed at Xandari the first night and last night of our honeymoon to make traveling to the airport much easier. Our first night there was good - the rooms are enormous (1400sq.ft) with great bathrooms and decks overlooking San Jose. The food was also delicious and the staff was very courteous. The rooms are decorated with zany/chic/trendy artwork and interesting styles.
Our last night there was not as great. The room was terrific with a great view but I was kept awake all night by the sounds of dogs barking and motorcycles speeding up and down the side streets leading up to the hotel. The bed was not very comfortable and there was not a shade over any of the windows like our previous room so I was awake at dawn. Also upon returning from dinner we found a very large slug making its way across the floor. That had we creeped out. It made for a very long day of traveling home.
Despite that I would recommend it to folks as a great transition from days of traveling before you embark on a bigger adventure.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LilSmall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2009

In a nutshell, the Xandari was excellent. We loved the property and the room. The only downside was an uncomfortable mattress.

Pros:
- The grounds are really fantastic. We had a great time walking the property, looking at all the plants, and seeing the waterfalls. The outside design of the hotel is very cool. We walked on the trails for an hour, and it was great. As adults, the trails were cool. I think that kids would also find the trails interesting, especially if they were interested in nature.
- The view from all areas of the hotel is great.
- The staff all seemed very helpful.
- The food at the restaurant was good and the menu was pretty diverse. The ingredients were very fresh and eating here was enjoyable.
- The pools were nice. They are long enough for actual lap-swimming, which was a plus.

Cons:
- The mattress was really awful. The bed would be the main reason why I might not go back again. I was glad I was only there for one night just because of the bed.
- The rooms are designed to let in a lot of light. I think that it would be difficult to sleep in here even a little. This was not a problem for me, but it is worth mentioning since sunrise is early in Costa Rica .

Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Plantriptoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews