We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,015)
Filter reviews
1,015 results
Traveler rating
774
182
37
15
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
774
182
37
15
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshiking trailscentral valleyinfinity poolsan joseprivate jacuzzicosta ricabotanical gardensoverlooking the valleycoffee plantationour honeymoontwinkling lightslarge balconybeautiful groundsrooms are hugemain buildingbefore flying homedogs barking
Filter
Updating list...
747 - 752 of 1,015 reviews
Reviewed June 1, 2009

We stayed at Xandari for two nights to begin our honeymoon in Costa Rica. It was the perfect place to begin our honeymoon. The grounds of the hotel are absolutely beautiful. The view from the rooms is tremendous. The architecture and design within the rooms blends so fabulously with the surroundings, making it a very special place.

I can't say enough about the spa services. We had a massage lesson for 2 with Konrad, the manager of the spa. He is phenomenal. He spent extra time with us and personalized the massage techniques. The view from the jacuzzi in the jalapas where they have the spa services is also incredible. The jalapas where they provide spa services are thatched huts with one side completely open, overlooking the gardens and the city. This is absolutely beautiful, but it can also get chilly at night. So be aware if you are planning to get services after 5pm that it quickly gets chilly.

We planned to have dinner one night in San Jose, but never made it because we were too relaxed after spa services to leave the grounds.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aniek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2009

We were picked up at the airport by the Xandari driver William. He was one of the best people we met on the entire trip. A very nice, down to earth, surprisingly good english skills tico. Xandari was only like 20 minutes or so from SJO but once you arrive it feels like you are in a different world, which is exactly what we was looking for. It has a bunch of trails where you can hike to waterfalls, rivers, orchard farms, goats, turkeys, chickens. We hiked them all and it was very fun. We stayed in the Ultra Plus Villa. This villa is awesome. First you get an amazing view of the valley below. It has these huge sliding glass windows/doors that you can keep open to give you than indoor/outdoor feel. It all has a bunch of daybeds/couches where you can just rest on. It was a huge room. The shower was nice but the bathtub was shallow and kind of pointless. I thought that would've been better. Also it would be awesome if this place added iPod docks to all the villas. Besides that the rooms were very nice.

We ate at the Resort pretty much every meal. They have a compliementary breakfest (bagels/fruit/yogourt) which does just fine. There are also affordable lunch and dinner options.

We also offer many excurisions from this hotel and they are just great. It was great staying here.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ckerber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2009

Staying here was a fabulous experience. The room was big, beautiful, had an amazing view and was extremely comfortable. The grounds were also beautiful and filled with fruits and flowers. It was magical to sit in the jacuzzi and watch the sun set. The food at the restaurant was YUM, YUM and very fresh - as were the drinks. I recommend the strawberry daquiri. We stayed here by accident, on our last night in the country, after we couldn't find the hotel we were planning on staying at. It's close to the airport, although you would never know it because it's very quiet and peaceful.

When we stayed there in late April, Xandari wasn't very crowded and they were open to negotiation on the room rate, as this was a little outside of our budget.

It was a wonderful experience and a great way to cap off our visit to Costa Rica!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brooklyn32Alli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2009

We decided to splurge a little on our first night in Costa Rica. We chose Xandari based on past reviews and were not disappointed! The hotel offers a free hotel pick up, which was great. You would not want to drive here at night! The hotel staff had contacted us by email because we were arriving late at night, to pre order some dinner, which we did. Turned out, we were a little early, so we ate in their lovely restaurant. Food at Xandari is all fresh (much grown on their beautiful property), and absolutely delicious! My teens said breakfast there was the best meal in Costa Rica! We loved our room (beautifully decorated, flowers, mosaics), the art and colors are a feast for the eyes. The staff could not have been more wonderful. They drove us to and from our room and the pool at night in a golf cart, so accomodating. The views are amazing, the property is amazing--there are waterfalls to hike to. You could easily stay for several nights here and do many day trips. I think the room I booked was one of the less expensive categories, and it was beautiful! I would return in a heartbeat! We also stayed at the sister property, Xandari by the Sea, and loved it just as much. I am very fussy about hotels, and both Xandaris are top notch! We will be back.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sanfran58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2009

Xandari was truly amazing!
Went for 3 nights for my honeymoon, and was thrilled with this choice. The views of San Jose are fantastic and it is in the perfect location to use as a base to see Poas volcano, coffee plantations and San Jose.
The room was very large, with king size bed, sitting dining area, large shower room and large balcony with view of San Jose valley.
The restaurant was very nice, if a little draughty in the evening, and staff there were fantastic (especially one of the waitresses Matilde who greeted you every morning with a cheerful Buenos Dias).
Lots of trails into the gorgeous grounds where you will see waterfalls along with all the spectacular flora and fauna that Costa Rica is blessed with!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClaireNewcastle_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews