We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Xandari Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$129
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel La Rosa de America(Alajuela)
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$137
Courtyard
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Robledal(Alajuela)
$84
$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$57
$51
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$69
$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (943)
Filter reviews
943 results
Traveler rating
724
172
33
10
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
724
172
33
10
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshiking trailscentral valleyinfinity poolorchid housesan joseprivate jacuzzicosta ricaoverlooking the valleybright colorscoffee plantationour honeymoontwinkling lightsbeautiful groundsrooms are hugebefore flying homepoas volcanolonger stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
729 - 734 of 943 reviews
Reviewed August 7, 2008

Xandari is a real haven, within 20 minutes of the airport and yet with the feel of being at a country retreat. On our first stay, we stayed in a standard villa, which we found spacious and comfortable, with a terrace and panoramic view. On the second stay, we upgraded to the palm leaf roof villa (no.20). This is an amazing structure - almost feels like a cathedral inside its vast roof. The room is circular, with glass windows almost all the way round, and is great for watching the birdlife. First impressions were great, but in fact we slept extremely badly. Light sleepers should be aware that it faces towards the noisier side of the resort. An assortment of dogs were yapping and barking in chorus during the night, and kept us awake for many hours. In addition, the fact that there were no curtains or blinds to draw meant that you are sleeping in what feels like a goldfish bowl, with distracting security lights shining all around. The bed is placed in the centre, to benefit from the view, but there are no reading lights. Since the whole structure is only dimly lit, it is difficult to read. We wished we had stayed in the original villa!

However, apart from this unfortunate choice of villa, everything else went exceedingly well. The restaurant is not particularly speedy in service, but the food is fresh, imaginatively presented, and served in a discreet and highly professional way. And of course the view of the valley below is spectacular.

The grounds of Xandari are simply wonderful. Take time, after going on the waterfall trails, to wander through the sculpture gardens, with their fantastic display of colourful flowers and shrubs, which attract butterflies and humming birds.

We would definitely wish to return to Xandari on a future occasion, and perhaps spend longer just relaxing and walking those wonderfully appointed trails.

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Ridges012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2008

We had never been to Costa Rica, and so relied on a family member for a recommendation. Xandari was a great call. The flights land in darkness, so having the Xandari driver, Jose, pick you up is a great call. I cannot imagine trying to find the resort in the dark the first time you visit!

The staff checked us in immediately, and we were driven to our villa by golf cart, so we didn't have to schlep our bags, nor did we have to pull the car around and unpack and repark. The villa we booked was their Prima Plus, which meant we got a stand alone villa with a big room, containing two large queen beds, a sofa that could easily sleep one, a desk, and a small kitchen area with a refrigerator, a sink, and counters. The room has huge glass windows and doors overlooking the view of the Central Valley (Valle Central), which was all lit up and gorgeous. There was also an enormous bathroom with two sinks and the longest counters you've ever seen, with a large shower open to the private garden behind the villa. The toilet itself was separate, so the room obstensibly could be used by the whole family.

The grounds are incredible. There's a fabulous garden with all kinds of tropical plants. There's a spa, which we didn't use, but looked to have all kinds of relaxing treatments at reasonable rates. The restaurant prepares a complimentary breakfast, a buffet if the guest count is sufficiently high, or brought to your table if there are relatively few guests, as happened once in our 6 night stay. They also have other items available if you don't want their buffet items. The restaurant also has terrific food for lunch and dinner and the waiters were terrific and attentive, especially to our children.

There are two pools, although one was being rebuilt when we were there. Since it was the "down" season, or green season as they call it, that was absolutely not a hardship. The open pool was wonderful and large, had plenty of seating and a hot tub. The view from the pool is fantastic.

The grounds also have a set of trails that take you to waterfalls. Some climbs are quite steep, but they have easier trails that you can choose. There's also a small farm, with lots of chickens, a couple of goats, and a greenhouse.

The location is central to a lot of things to explore, like the Poas volcano, the Doka coffee plantation, and La Paz waterfall gardens. The resort can arrange tours for you, or provides a parking area if you rent a vehicle. They will xerox maps to show you how to get to a place you want to go, and are incredibly gracious.

I wanted to consult with a doctor regarding a small wound my child had, and the staff called a doctor who paid a visit to the hotel for a $60 fee. Antibiotics were prescribed and delivered for a mere $12. Incredible. The staff really helped me turn a stressful situation around.

I loved this resort and would stay again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank sunbunny31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2008

Hotels should strive for the excellence that Xandari delivers. From the moment you step onto the property, you feel inspired and relaxed. They're committed to the environment, community and the animals all while providing an extraordinary experience. Be sure to take the time to walk the property and learn about the history of Xandari.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garfield3121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2008

Our family (mom, dad, 2 teenage girls) stayed here for one night before leaving for home upon the recommendation of a friend. It's close to the airport but feels a million miles away. We stayed in 5 places during our CR visit and this was the only resort-type place. We were upgraded (I think it was a Villa Plus) and our rooms were w. We didn't have much time here but did make it to one waterfall and just gorgeous with never-ending views of Alajuela. We had a wonderful lunch with fresh interesting food overlooking the viewere really struck by the careful planning of the lush and interesting gardens (and this is saying something in lush CR!). We were really looking forward to dinner after our lunch but were very disappointed by overcooked shrimp, dry and overcooked chicken, and coconut rice with everything, including my shrimp prepared with tomatos and garlic (horrible combo). What happened? Breakfast was OK but not particularily interesting unless you ordered off a menu (for extra cost). Nice pool and spa; both heated. We would consider coming back for an adult relaxation vacation.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2008

Very litle new to add to previous reviews except to say that our experience was consistent with others. The grounds of the place are amazing, staff friendly and courteous, villas huge and positioned beautifully overlooking the city. You won't believe you are 20 minutes from the airport. A stay here combined with some days at their sister resort on the Pacific will give you the best of Costa Rica and a longing to return as soon as possible.

Both resorts were so much more than we expected that we ended up cutting tours short so that we could return to the hotel to soak up the atmosphere and relax.

bravo Xandari

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank fbcscottsdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews