We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pure heaven!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Xandari Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We spent 3 nights at the Xandari and it was glorious. The villas are stunning, the food lovely, the staff fantastic,the swimming pool fabulous and the grounds amazing!! The view overlooking the central region was so beautiful and we hope one day to return. After our stay there, we headed south to the Manuel Antonio area and although our hotel was fine, it didn't compare AT ALL to Xandari and we kept comparing everything.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view and apparently each one is a little different. We had #26 and liked that it wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sr328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (872)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

356 - 362 of 872 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2014

Like many hotels in Costa Rica, you arrive through a security gate. They should call the guard St. Peter because this hotel is heavenly. It is situated on a hill with acres of landscaped tropical grounds with trails throughout. There are 3 swimming pools, one called the sunset pool where you can sit and watch the sun set. There are also 3 km of walking trails.
You get 2 keys to your room. One key is for the gate into the gardens outside your room and the other to the room itself. The reason why the garden area is private is because the wall of the shower is glass and you can see the garden right from your shower. The toilet is in a separate smaller room. The room has a small sink and mini fridge. The soft drinks and the small snacks in it are free. You pay for any alcohol that you drink from the fridge.
The sleeping area has a king sized bed, built in bookshelves and a sofa and chairs. The far side of the room opens to a large balcony with a table and chairs and two lounge chairs. The view from the balcony is of the valley below. In the distance you can see Alejuela and the planes landing in SJO airport.
There is a small restaurant with good food in the lobby which also looks out over the valley. There is a conference room on the property in another small art studio. The decor throughout is modern.
We were part of a tour group that stayed for 2 nights in Xandari. We were all in awe of our accommodations. You have got to see it!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank WintersR4beaches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We arrived somewhat frazzled in the dark after a 15 hour journey and a 20 minute drive from the airport and were taken to a villa with a vast room with attached bath shower and toilet area, huge bed and lots of lounging space. Bright Californian style decor, works of art by one of the owners Picture window overlooking the central valley, lit up at night, with total privacy. Natural air flow which needed investigation of adjustment to cut out draughts. We were too tired to go to the restaurant so had room service which was brought to us by an extremely kind and motherly waitress, just what we needed.
The following morning we called a golf buggy to take us some distance uphill through the beautiful botanical garden to the main building. Very good breakfast choice with same caring waitress with a view over the valley. Very helpful front desk staff who directed us to a walk through the grounds to a waterfall and back to our room. we had an excellent lunch and a walk through the artists studio with more attractive pictures by the owner then a siesta followed by a massage in the spa,whiich we had been charmingly sold by the delightful and amusing receptionist. After an excellent dinner an early night
The following morning early I was taken for a birdwatching walk by Jose from the front desk. we saw clearly nearly 30 species in about an hour.
We left shortly after breakfast.
It was the perfect start to a wonderful Costa Rica holiday and we would have happily stayed a couple of more days at Xandari

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zachariah15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Hard to explain how superb this place is. It was our second visit and was even better than the first, which we found hard to believe. Our villa (23) was paradise. The courtyard, the balcony, the view down to the lights of San Jose, the colorful interior, well, just everything, was perfection. The gardens on the property are just exquisite and the waterfalls hike was thrilling. Lucy, at the front desk, was so friendly and helpful. It was one of the highlights of our entire trip. Don't miss it!

Room Tip: The stand alone prima plus villas are heavenly in all ways.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmgMatthewsNc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

After a week on the Star Flyer we stayed at the Xandari for two nights to recover our land legs. It's hard to enumerate the many fabulous aspects of this resort. The villas (mostly duplex) with private balconies are staggered amidst a botanical garden of delights: wild orchids, exotic plants and hundreds of fruit trees are everywhere you turn. The view from the open air dining room is exquisite. An artist's touch is evident in the lobby/bar/dining room as well as each room, plus the artist's studio on the grounds. Partakers of a massage or other spa treatment will be delighted by the services, plus the waterfall right outside. Xandari is environmentally conscious, growing many of the organic fruits and vegetables on the menu.

There is a reason walking sticks are available in the reception area: you can expect to walk a lot on beautifully maintained paths, as well as more rugged terrain if you wish to climb over 300 steps to see one of the four waterfalls on the property. If you'd rather relax, ask for a villa near the dining area, or near the spa if you plan to spend time there. (I'm pretty sure they'd send a golf cart to transport you if needed.)

If you're willing to get up early, one of the staff will take you on a guided tour to point out the magnificent birds flying free on the grounds, or other sights you might choose. You can visit the orchid & vegetables greenhouses on your own.

In planning this resort, owners Sherrill and Charlene Broudy were guided by this quote from architect Bertram Goodhue, ‘Make no little plans, they have no magic to stir a man’s heart.’ I for one am very grateful for their vision. My heart was certainly stirred. I shall return!

Room Tip: Villa 9 is near the dining room. Ask what's closer to the spa if you plan to spend time there. J...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaneCutler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Driving up to the main building through exotic flowering trees and shrubs creates a wonderful first impression. This continues. The whole hotel has been beautifully thought out and designed. It is an art-lovers dream, mosaics, carvings, wall hangings and paintings everywhere. Lots of lovely architectural touches in the beautiful rooms. The restaurant has excellent food and very friendly staff. There are three big swimming pools - so you nearly always have one to yourself!
There are good walks all over the extensive grounds. Can't say a word against it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeremy138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I chose Xandari to get married this month and it was the best joint decision we have made thus far. Firstly, the grounds are gorgeous. There is literally no reason to leave. There are pools, orchards, waterfalls, and if that isn't enough, they will arrange off site tours for you as well. Second, the food is impeccable. There is something for everyone and the freshness practically radiates off the food. Last but not least, the customer service is 10/10. Juan, Juan Jose, Alexander, and Konrad took care of us and our guests and went above and beyond the call of duty to assist in any way necessary.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank Kristina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
0.9 mi away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#1 of 1 in Pilas
691 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
10.7 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 7 in Heredia
1,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 27 in Alajuela
675 reviews
4.2 mi away
Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation Resort
3.7 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xandari Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xandari Resort & Spa

Address: 1 km northwest of El Diamante Bar | Tacacori, Alajuela 4050, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#1 Spa Hotel in Alajuela
#1 Family Hotel in Alajuela
#6 Business Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range: $133 - $413 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Xandari Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Xandari Resort & Spa offers the quintessential Costa Rica experience. The property’s forest reserve, with five waterfalls and miles of trails for bird-watching, provides the nature guests expect from a visit to Costa Rica. The landscaped gardens, the orchid house, and the farm all provide an additional abundance of tropical goodness. The Spa provides ample opportunity to unwind, to relax, to absorb the surrounding nature. All 24 villas, each uniquely designed and set within lush foliage, have spectacular views. And three times a day, our restaurant demonstrates the role of local cuisine in giving visitors an authentic sense of place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Xandari Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xandari Resort And Spa
Xandari Hotel Alajuela
Xandari Resort & Spa Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing