We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Xandari - an amazing experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Xandari Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Xandari Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Xandari - an amazing experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a most beautiful visit at Xandari Resort where we stayed for our anniversary. From our arrival at the airport where we were greeted by the hotel's transportation service provider, to our welcome at at the hotel, our lovely spacious villa, the cuisine and staff at the terrace restaurant with stunning views of the valley, the spa, absolutely gorgeous, lush tropical gardens, the architecture ... all a most fabulous and memorable experience ... one that we definitely needed. We'll certainly return to the beauty and serenity of this jewel and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marvam106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    580
    131
    23
    7
    2
See reviews for
183
379
25
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

From the moment you arrive to this hidden zen like resort you are transformed. Appreciation and relaxation take over. The staff are "your friends"the quiet is meditative and the abundance of nature engulfs you. The foods you see in the gardens and the fruits in the garden become your meals, literally made for you they fresh and authentic. Spend time at the pools then head to the spa, Konrad and his staff will have you blissed on no time. You will leave xandari blessed~ knowing you must return. For all those that have touched your life from arrival to departure be it a moment or an hour, or be it the doggies, the orange trees, the art work etc... It is the xandari life and it embraces you with it's magic.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank miamitraci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

Please note: This is our first year posting reviews. We went to Costa Rica a year ago (May), but the entire staff at Xandari Resort and Spa created so many wonderful memories for us, we have to give them the 5-star review that they all worked so hard for. Xandari is a full-service resort with a warm, down-to Earth personality and authentic Costa Rican style. It’s like spending the night in a botanical garden.

The vast grounds, lush with tropical plants and colorful flowers are gorgeous! Located in the countryside, on a hill above the city of Alejuela, it’s surrounded by small family farms. Ideal for travellers who wish to experience the beauty and spirit of central Costa Rica hill country, not a Miami high rise hotel—this is a fine choice for responsible/green travel.

The open-air restaurant is flanked by tropical wildflowers and looks out over the beautiful, sprawling hillside with Alejuela in the distance. It’s super-romantic at night. The food is delicious! Fresh, organic, most grown right on the premises. Portions are neither too big nor too small and highly satisfying. The included breakfast is a treat! A generous and high-quality offering of homemade breads, perfectly ripened fresh tropical fruits and more! Additional breakfast-food items are also available for a reasonable fee. Service in the restaurant is friendly, and attentive.

The rooms are as clean and well appointed, as they are huge! Private patio is great for relaxing.

We thoroughly enjoyed the spa, the hiking trails, and the 3 sparkling pools.

The front desk and office staff consistently demonstrated a saint-like patience, by giving their full attention to every guest and every request.

A large variety of day tours are offered. They did an incredible job of arranging and personalizing quality day tours. We had signed up ahead for a half-day tour to Poas Volcano, and that morning, 3 other Xandari guests also signed up. Xandari then split the cost of the tour equally per person amongst the 5 of us, which considerably reduced the cost per person, and delighted all involved.

Xandari is a paradise for nature lovers & aspiring bird watchers in search of quiet opportunities and relaxation. In the morning a variety of beautiful birds visit fruit feeding platforms just beyond the restaurant. The on-site birding program is not to be missed. Stroll the grounds, hike the on-site trails, you’ll add to your check list.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike-and-Lis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Our stay at the Xandari resort in Costa Rica was magical, the food was exquisite, the people were fantastic, and the views were breathtaking. I would most definitely recommend this resort for couples, it was truly wonderful.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank MiamiJess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarchi, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

We live just 45 minutes from Xandari and so have visited there on occasion for lunch. During rainy season they have substantially reduced room rates and so we decided to spend the night there to celebrate our wedding anniversary. It was perfect. People from reception met us in the parking lot at our car to assist us, we were immediately offered the beverage of our choice, we were given a room upgrade, and a quick tour of the main building. We were impressed before we even saw our villa. Our villa (#4) could not have been lovelier--totally private, impeccably decorated, great outdoor space, and lots of little touches that made us feel as though we could stay there indefinitely and want for nothing. We visited the spa and were well-pampered. The restaurant was excellent and not terribly expensive. The Xandari staff is amazing--each and every person we dealt with was friendly, caring, and informative. We really felt special and we imagine that all guests do. We walked the trails--the grounds are spectacular with a number of waterfalls, a greenhouse, grazing animals, an orchard--simply lovely. There just is nothing the least bit negative to say about our experience at this place. We will return again and again. Our only concern is that Xandari may not be around forever. Apparently, the owner is in his nineties and there is some concern that his wife may not want to continue to be so involved once he is gone. It would be a huge loss if Xandari was sold or changed in any significant way. I would go there now to avoid any possibility of missing the experience of this idyllic place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

This was our first location on our holiday and we wanted somewhere nice. This was it! The private villas give you privacy and we lost awareness that other people were around. The design is impressive, the pools great and the gardens and maintenance very well cared for. Breakfast was delicious, however room service and the restaurant was a little under par, but I would definitely stay here again! Be prepared for isolation from reality and a perfect location for couples.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keiryn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

We had been celebrating my Birthday vacation for 8 days all over Costa Rica and spent our last night at Xandari because it was very close to the International Airport. It was truly a MAGICAL experience from the moment we arrived to the last adios! A true gem at the top of the hill surrounded by coffee plantations with spectacular views of the lush tropical beauty during the day and of the city lights down below at night. We felt we were experiencing a little piece of Heaven as we strolled through the grounds and hiking trails at sunset taking in all the Spectacular vegetation and florals, the amazing statues and all the Beautiful bright colors!! The staff was VERY professional, informative and accommodating! We were greeted in the rain with umbrellas as we were exiting our taxi and offered coffee immediately. (a wonderful touch, sadly, I don't remember her name) Our villa had a spacious patio with a WONDERFUL view of all the tropical paradise and the city below. it was sooooo relaxing and peaceful. We were given a tour of the individual spa huts and introduced to the spa director and lucky spa dog Lucy. (The most pampered dog in all of Costa Rica :-) ) We oooohhhh'd and aaaaahhhhh'd over the couples massage room. What an Incredible view and unbelievably romantic! We can't wait to come back and get to experience some treatments. Christian was our dinner server. Our service couldn't have been any better and our food was delicious! Christian was very engaging and everything about our dining experience was PERFECT!! All staff we came in contact with were friendly, personable, helpful and happy!! We were sad we only had 1 night at Xandari but it was DEFINITELY THE MOST SPECIAL way to end our Costa Rica vacation. We are already planning our trip back to Costa Rica next summer beginning with XANDARI Resort and Spa!!! Very highly recommend to all flying in or out of San Jose airport.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VEE5-Lablover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
0.8 mi away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#4 of 30 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
11.9 mi away
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bajos del Toro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
8.7 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 9 in Heredia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
0.3 mi away
Tacacori EcoLodge
Tacacori EcoLodge
#7 of 30 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 30 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xandari Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xandari Resort & Spa

Property: Xandari Resort & Spa
Address: 1 km northwest of El Diamante Bar | Tacacori, Alajuela 4050, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#1 Spa Hotel in Alajuela
#1 Family Hotel in Alajuela
#6 Business Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Xandari Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Xandari is a 40-acre plantation with botanical gardens, orchid house and over 5 kms of nature trails including five waterfalls. Xandari is the creation of an architect-artist couple, with 24 spacious villas overlooking the Central Valley. Only 20 minutes from Juan Santamaria International Airport. In addition, three fabulous swimming pools, including the new 125 ft. Long Sunset Pool with a stunning view, and two outdoor jacuzzis. The restaurant serves fresh, continental and Costa Rican menu, featuring many organic fruits and vegetables from our own gardens. Xandari Spa Village is harmoniously integrated with nature and consists of a Yoga Room and five private palm-roofed jalapas with jacuzzi perched on a mountain ridge, where natural ingredients are used in massages and body treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Xandari Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xandari Resort And Spa
Xandari Hotel Alajuela
Xandari Resort & Spa Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing