We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Inspirational” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Xandari Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Xandari Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Inspirational”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2008

Hotels should strive for the excellence that Xandari delivers. From the moment you step onto the property, you feel inspired and relaxed. They're committed to the environment, community and the animals all while providing an extraordinary experience. Be sure to take the time to walk the property and learn about the history of Xandari.

  • Liked — Committment to the environment
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Garfield3121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    626
    145
    26
    7
    3
See reviews for
204
407
28
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2008

Our family (mom, dad, 2 teenage girls) stayed here for one night before leaving for home upon the recommendation of a friend. It's close to the airport but feels a million miles away. We stayed in 5 places during our CR visit and this was the only resort-type place. We were upgraded (I think it was a Villa Plus) and our rooms were w. We didn't have much time here but did make it to one waterfall and just gorgeous with never-ending views of Alajuela. We had a wonderful lunch with fresh interesting food overlooking the viewere really struck by the careful planning of the lush and interesting gardens (and this is saying something in lush CR!). We were really looking forward to dinner after our lunch but were very disappointed by overcooked shrimp, dry and overcooked chicken, and coconut rice with everything, including my shrimp prepared with tomatos and garlic (horrible combo). What happened? Breakfast was OK but not particularily interesting unless you ordered off a menu (for extra cost). Nice pool and spa; both heated. We would consider coming back for an adult relaxation vacation.

  • Liked — Interesting, beautiful, private
  • Disliked — Terrible dinner
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2008

Very litle new to add to previous reviews except to say that our experience was consistent with others. The grounds of the place are amazing, staff friendly and courteous, villas huge and positioned beautifully overlooking the city. You won't believe you are 20 minutes from the airport. A stay here combined with some days at their sister resort on the Pacific will give you the best of Costa Rica and a longing to return as soon as possible.

Both resorts were so much more than we expected that we ended up cutting tours short so that we could return to the hotel to soak up the atmosphere and relax.

bravo Xandari

  • Liked — grounds
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank fbcscottsdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2008

Gated, secure, well-planned, perfect for people with disabilities, great views of the central valley, clean, spacious, sense of privacy, good food, pleasant attentive staff, relaxing, exterior grounds that flow right into the interiors of the villas and right back out again. These are just a few of the reasons we liked Xandari. In the off-season, early June, we were able to walk in first thing in the morning (7:30am) and have a choice of Prima villas for later in the week. It’s one of several places in and around Alajuela that make for easy access to SJO at the start or the end of a trip to Costa Rica. It was also centrally situated for our jaunts to all the volcanoes, gardens, plantations and other sights in and around San José and the valley. Even Cartago and the Orosi valley loop was an easy drive away. Our large ceiling to floor windows opened onto a balcony that was bliss for morning coffee, for afternoon tropical downpours or for winding down and gazing at the glittering nighttime panorama of lights in the distance below. There were trails and waterfalls on the property, if we wanted to explore them; there were menus of spa treatments, if we wanted to indulge. We didn’t do either since we already had our list of things to do and see elsewhere. We still felt it was worth the stay. In the hills the days are warm and the nights cool—by the middle of the night I wanted to pull up a light blanket. Nice. We came to understand the meaning of the Costa Rican central valley ‘eternal spring.’

After a morning and early afternoon of touring our way up from Manuel Antonio, stopping for delicious ‘comidas tipicas’ in nearby La Garita, and getting settled into our villa, the skies absolutely opened up in late afternoon. The deluge went on for hours well into the night. The way the rain hit the roof of our villa, it produced a soft aural massage that made for one of the most relaxing evenings and best nights of sleeping in a long time. The entrance to the villa had the feel of entering our own home, like our own address. A locked gate opened into a patio area before the front door. Inside, the expansive room was before us and the shower/bathroom area to the left of the entry was sectioned off by a curving wall. The tall glass doors in the shower/bathroom opened wide (we chose to open them) right back into the patio area giving the feel of washing and showering outdoors. Since the patio walls were over ten feet high and the entry gate was angled away from any direct view in, complete privacy and discretion was still maintained. Pretty ingenious. Not bad for the lowest priced tier of accommodations they offered. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Liked — Everything.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank nypuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, FL
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2008

This resort exceeded all of our expectations. We couldn't turn down a cheap flight to Costa Rica, even if it meant we only had four days to spend there. Because of our time constraints, we decided to stay in the Central Valley. Xandari was the perfect choice for our needs.

William (we love you!) picked us up at the airport, so we didn't have to worry about getting a taxi or finding our way to the Xandari on our own. Upon arriving at the resort, we were upgraded to a beautiful Ultra Villa. The architecture is astounding! The room was open and airy. There were four of us in our villa, and we had more than enough room to relax and spread out. The complimentary water and sodas was perfect for our needs.

We booked two tours through the hotel, and it couldn't have been any easier to do so. We decided to go to Poas and do the zipline tour; both are well worth it.

My husband and I also hiked the trails on the resort property; this experience was probably the most memorable of our trip to Costa Rica. We felt like we were in the middle of the jungle; we saw more watefalls than people on the trails. We loved it so much that we hiked the trails twice. Remember to take a walking stick with you!

Food at Xandari is affordable and delicious. There is an herb garden on the property that, I assume, is used to help create the freshness in all the dishes we ate. Among the four of us, we pretty much covered the entire menu, and I can't think of anything that wasn't exceptional. A dinner will cost you about $10 per plate. Meals that stood out include: the tower of health (free for breakfast) and the sea bass.

Lastly, I want to thank the entire Xandari staff for being so accommodating when one our group members was injured. She actually broke her ankle, which can be a scary thing to happen to a person in a foreign country, but the Xandari staff was welcoming and helpful as can be.

  • Liked — Food, location, view, convenience
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Shellshocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2008

Put simply, Xandari is a wonderful resort which is very individual and is tranquility itself.

We stayed here on two separate nights, and were simply blown away with the quality of the room in particular, which was beautifully designed with a high, sweeping ceiling, with panoramic views over San Jose. The hotel is also set in substantial gardens which are well landscaped and make for a lovely pre-breakfast stroll.

The one thing that we really liked about this resort is that there isn't the blatant profiteering that we encountered on some of our other resorts in Costa Rica. Bottled water came free of charge in our room, and the restaurant meals were reasonable in value and excellent in quality.

And by the way, the complimentary coffee in the room is not to be missed and was the best of all the hotels we stayed at. You can buy it bigger packs in the hotel lobby.

  • Liked — Design and location of the resort
  • Disliked — We can't find fault.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank davyjcrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2008

Xandari in Alajuela is convenient to the International Airport. We stayed one night on our way to the Osa Peninsula, and it was fabulous. Our Prima Plus villa was spectacular, and I cannot imagine needing anything nicer, or more private. There is a lush garden between units and the villa opens to a terrace with a private view of the gorgeous valley. Other favorites were the barrel ceiling and open bath/shower with private gardens. The detail in design was truly amazing. There is a small frig/kitchen with complimentary soda

We were able to explore the gardens in the afternoon, but there is much more to see. It was rainy season, and a downpour limited our time outdoors. Fortunately, the clouds & rain cleared, and we had a night time view of the valley to die for.

We hope to return and spend 2-3 nights. I would suggest you book some Spa treatments ahead. We hoped to visit the Spa that afternoon, and they were completely booked.

One more thing: Xandari provided free transport from SJO to the resort! Much appreciated.

  • Liked — The terrace/view.
  • Disliked — Inability to get some kind of spa treatment on short notice.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank suzygd2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
0.8 mi away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#5 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
8.7 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 9 in Heredia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,201 reviews
11.9 mi away
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bajos del Toro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
4.2 mi away
Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn
4.8 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#4 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xandari Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xandari Resort & Spa

Property: Xandari Resort & Spa
Address: 1 km northwest of El Diamante Bar | Tacacori, Alajuela 4050, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#1 Spa Hotel in Alajuela
#1 Family Hotel in Alajuela
#6 Business Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Xandari Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Xandari is a 40-acre plantation with botanical gardens, orchid house and over 5 kms of nature trails including five waterfalls. Xandari is the creation of an architect-artist couple, with 24 spacious villas overlooking the Central Valley. Only 20 minutes from Juan Santamaria International Airport. In addition, three fabulous swimming pools, including the new 125 ft. Long Sunset Pool with a stunning view, and two outdoor jacuzzis. The restaurant serves fresh, continental and Costa Rican menu, featuring many organic fruits and vegetables from our own gardens. Xandari Spa Village is harmoniously integrated with nature and consists of a Yoga Room and five private palm-roofed jalapas with jacuzzi perched on a mountain ridge, where natural ingredients are used in massages and body treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Xandari Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xandari Resort And Spa
Xandari Hotel Alajuela
Xandari Resort & Spa Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing