We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, beautiful grounds and lovely villas !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Xandari Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Pros: location is amazing, out of the way coffee plantation but still close enough to town, ultra plus villa no 22 was beautiful, spacious, clean, comfortable and offered an amazing view of the valley and mountains, peaceful and wonderful, grounds are gorgeous, must walk the 4km trail, beautiful and very cardio healthy exercise. Staff is very nice, efficient, professional, friendly. 3 beautiful pools but the nicest is the one with the view of the valley next to villa 27. Music in the rooms is a nice touch. Free in-room water, juice, cookies very appreciated. Go for soak in jaccuzi at the spa in the evening, candles and great view !

Cons: food was ok, nothing out of this world, had better elsewhere, best dish was costa rican chicken soup with palmitto and veggie rice, amazing ! very expensive tours, had pedicure, staff friendly, professional but in need of more updated nail polish and cleaning policies for instruments.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BlueeyedZosia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (872)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

510 - 516 of 872 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2012

My boyfriend said we should stay near the airport our first night. I thought, 'Ugh, Holiday Inn...what a waste of a night.'

Was I ever surprised!! The service, room, environment, view---everything about this place was mind blowing and world class!! We ate a fabulous dinner there and watched fireflies as we took a swim in a beautiful pool. The included breakfast was fresh and beautifully served and presented. The room was HUGE, romantic and clean. I couldn't have dreamed we'd start our trip any better!

Room Tip: We had a room close to the main lodge with great view of the city at night. Not sure what else they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amy0328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

We began our honeymoon at Xandari, spending just three days/two nights there upon arrival in Costa Rica. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. Our individual villa was spacious, colorfully adorned by the owner's paintings, murals and tapestries and opened out onto our personal patio overlooking the lush Central Valley. The meals were exceptional, particularly the robust complimentary breakfast of fruits, banana muffins, yogurt, granola, and fresh squeezed juices; and the fish tacos with chipotle mayonnaise at dinner. They even offer a nice selection of vegetarian options. The only "miss" was the coffee. Surprisingly, the coffee was just mediocre, since apparently the Ticos export all of their high quality coffee to the U.S. and Europe and save the dregs for themselves.

The 40-acre grounds were paradise, with lots to entertain - orchid garden, botanic trails, waterfalls, bamboo forest, citris grove, farm animals, pools, tons of birds and a spa with duel massage tables overlooking the city of Alajuela, which twinkles magically at night.
8
The hotel is also happy to arrange trips for guests to nearby sites to Volcanoes, ziplines, coffee plantations, etc. so if you can buddy up with other guests, it'll bring the transport costs down substantially.

I would highly recommend a visit if you need a place to stay near San Jose but want to skip the city center. We opted to stay one night in downtown San Jose before our return flight to VA. Other than the opportunity to shop in a couple of the craft markets for souvenirs, the city is pretty grim, dirty and crowded, so staying outside of town with perhaps a day trip into SA is all you would need.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank miz_virginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

Our agent Catalina at CR Referrals recommended my wife and I stay at this hotel outside of San Jose instead of in the city. Only twenty minutes from the airport we did not believe it would make the difference it did. We actually stayed at Xandari for three different occasions on our trip. We arrived late Sunday night and could not appreciate the hotel until we got to our Ultra Villa. Our eyes popped out with the view of the city. The villa was decorated very eclectic but was extremely well done. Better yet the bed was very comfortable. We awoke at 5am with the birds doing their thing. We decided to go for a hike on their trails and were again surprised at our beautiful it were the waterfalls at the end of the trail. Unfortunately, we had an early transfer to Arenal and our first experience of Xandari was cut short. We arrived later during our Holiday and enjoyed a couple’s message with a view of the city. It could not get much better than this. Again the next day we had to leave and were on our way to Puerto Viejo with a very early start. Upon our last stay at Xandari we were upgraded to their Ultra Plus Villa. Big difference, this was more of everything that was good with the Ultra Villa. It is just a little further from the main house. We did not mind, we love to walk. They have a golf cart if you choose not to walk.
The entire staff is very friendly and courteous. They go out of their way to help you. The grounds are kept in pristine condition with unusual art work located throughout. The only negative would be their restaurant. Although their breakfast was excellent we found their dinner menu to be stale. We did not see any changes while we were there and wished to eat somewhere else which is slightly inconvenient. It was not that the food was bad but boring. If you are staying for only one or two nights you probably will not even notice. Overall this is a place that you should not miss.

Room Tip: Go with the Ultra Villa. If you can upgrade to the Ultra Plus Villa for a real taste of luxury
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cozysdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Ex-pat friends directed us to the "package" deal offered by Xandari Hotel and its "little brother" the Alma del Pacifico, giving us a taste of the Central Valley of Costa Rica as well as the Pacific coast and rain forest environment. Both properties are the creation of California architect Sherrill Broudy and in many respects they are mirror images of one another. These comments concern the Xandari, perched high above the Central Valley, 20 minutes and a world away from the capital San Jose and its international airport.

There are just 24 villas featuring a well appointed main sleeping area with vaulted, dark wood ceilings, a glass wall leading to a terrace that provides a panoramic view of the valley below and in the distance the city and (at night) its twinkling lights. Charlene Broudy, wife of the architect provided all of the colorful decorative touches in the villas and public areas, bright paintings, mosaics, murals and tapestries, each worthy of a photo for our Memory Book. The villas are completely private, spread out away from the main building which houses the open air dining room with its equally impressive views, the Reception and lounge areas. WI-FI is available everywhere, even at the lovely tiled swimming pools (there are two). With my NOOK and my wife, Lorraine's i-Pad, this was especially appreciated. The food service was impeccable and the choices, while not especially numerous, where satisfactory. The accommodations include a fridge with complementary soft drinks, cookies, and for purchase, beer and wine. The shower was commodious circular affair about six feet in diameter, facing an interior private garden. To reach our villa we depended on the ever-ready golf cart, even when our early morning departing flight required a 5 A.M. checkout and complimentary transfer to SJO Airport. Negatives? I cannot think of anything that was amiss to distract from our little bit of Paradise.

Room Tip: Every room/villa features the terrace view of the Valley and in speaking with other guests, none men...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kallmancon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2012 via mobile

My fiancé and I got engaged here so it would be hard not to love this place. Nice rooms with fun decor. The waterfalls on the property made for a great morning hike. We even liked visiting the goats before we left. Service was really good and all the staff were very nice. Only thing I could say as a critique would be the food at restaurant wasn't quite at the level a hotel like this should have

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CraigNV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Xandari is an amazing property in the hills near San Jose. We stayed in a sprawling hillside villa with a wonderful view of the valley which was a lovely and luxurious experience. The villa was huge and perfect for lounging around. It was so much fun walking around the property--there was so much to do. We went for a hike and saw all the huge waterfalls within the property and checked out all the different swimming pools. The food was exceptional with many healthy and delicious choices that can be delivered to your room. Service was truly first-rate. When there was an electrical outage, we were brought flashlights and candles to our room. Overall this was an luxurious and fantastic resort to stay at with exceptional grounds and I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChristineN939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
0.9 mi away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#1 of 1 in Pilas
692 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
10.7 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 7 in Heredia
1,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 27 in Alajuela
675 reviews
4.2 mi away
Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation Resort
3.7 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xandari Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xandari Resort & Spa

Address: 1 km northwest of El Diamante Bar | Tacacori, Alajuela 4050, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Alajuela
#1 Spa Hotel in Alajuela
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#6 Business Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range: $132 - $412 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Xandari Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Xandari Resort & Spa offers the quintessential Costa Rica experience. The property’s forest reserve, with five waterfalls and miles of trails for bird-watching, provides the nature guests expect from a visit to Costa Rica. The landscaped gardens, the orchid house, and the farm all provide an additional abundance of tropical goodness. The Spa provides ample opportunity to unwind, to relax, to absorb the surrounding nature. All 24 villas, each uniquely designed and set within lush foliage, have spectacular views. And three times a day, our restaurant demonstrates the role of local cuisine in giving visitors an authentic sense of place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Xandari Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xandari Resort And Spa
Xandari Hotel Alajuela
Xandari Resort & Spa Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing