We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staying not too far from everything in Costa Rica”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Bristol Aeropuerto (Antiguo Villa dolce).
Ranked #31 of 63 Alajuela B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 12, 2010

My husband and I coincidently found this sympathic Inn (B&B Costa Rican motel style) in Alajulea, Costa Rica (about 10 min drive to the Airport) and 30 km from San José, the capital. This is one of the ideal places to stay if you wish to visit touristic attractions around the capital of this country and stay out of big cities. We spend a week there with no predetermined plans for visits, but got everything organized from there with the help of the owners, who were the most attentionate to all of their clients.

This beautiful Inn, located in the suberbs of Alajuela (very private place as surrounded by high concrete walls and entrance locked at night) with parking spaces, is owned by a very pleasant young lady and her parents (from England), who were super attentive and helpul in their recommendations for good places to visit and eat. They would call taxis for us, order take-outs to eat in their little dining room and brought us back to the airport as any other big hotel would do. They are excellent at servicing their clients.

The place was super comfortable with large bedrooms with clean and recent linens and furniture and comfortable beds, excellent shower pressure and warm water with a large bathroom. The entire place is very well maintained and top clean, with a good size swimming pool and mature threes and flowers around. It was a little bit noisy in the surrounding because it's near the highway #1and local roads, but with the AC in the room you do not hear it anymore. They have a good size TV in the rooms with cable and also access to free WiFi in their loundge. Their staff were also very kind and always ready to assist us in any service needs. You may also rent an all furnished little studio for the month if you wish. Prices of rooms are not expensive.

This place is well centralized to visit many interesting points of attractions (but 4 hours drive from the Arenal Volcan or 4 hours drive to Puerto Limon). Try the canopy tour in San Lorenzo, this is the best place!!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank therese_desjardins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (257)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 257 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2010

We all have concerns and apprehensions when planning our escapes but you can stop your worries as The Villa Dolce is your answer. A family run cozy, clean and very convenient home like retreat located minutes from San Jose airport. Speaking of conveniences a family member picks you up and takes you back at no charge, books your tours, finds other places to stay when your travels take you to other Costa Rica regions, speak many languages, prepares fresh, well presented food in the on site family’s kitchen and a cheerful staff full of smiles answers to your needs.
As I said “Your search is over.”
After 2 weeks of Costa Rica travel, driving, bus rides, taxi transfers, language problems, untidy accommodations and the same “typical” food we headed towards San Jose to unwind before our return home. Thinking the larger hotel chain would work, as we tried the Hostels and Small hotels along our way, we were again disappointed until we found Villa Dolce and gave it a try. Wow, from the moment we spoke to Jessica who calmed our concerns, to driving in the middle of a business area to find a picture perfect tucked away gem, putting my feet in the sparkling pool and sipping some Italian wine and guarded by Mina the dog and free range Lizards, I knew I found the right place to stay. My only regret was that I didn’t find this paradise earlier as I would have stayed here for the entire 2 weeks. Many day tourists locations are 2 to 3 hours no matter where you go and traveling from here to return back would have been the ideal choice. After 2 days here I forgot about the past disappointments and now want to return to Costa Rica and the Villa Dolce for more adventures.
The Berton family attends to your every need with cheerful European graciousness that is welcoming and warm. In the restaurant area which feels like your Mama’s kitchen you can hang out with Mom and Dad while the scents of homemade cuisine awakens your taste buds for dinner. Jessica cooks with love and laughter with your choices in mind. We met a single business traveler who boasted about the feel of home while away including the WIFI and business services and smiled the entire time he spoke. The Villa has single rooms up to a large 2 story villas to service everyone’s needs in an updated and immaculate surrounding. Bring your tour group, family, romantic get away or overnight stay before you head out to other regions after your San Jose flight in our back home. As I stated before this is the perfect choice, really it is!
Reservations are so simple in many languages you can SKPE (hotel.villadolce), email, call, and fax or book here on Tripadvisor.com.
If you do not believe that the Universe places you in special places and with wonderful and enlightened people, Villa Dolce and the people here will make you believe.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrueL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2010

I have stayed at the Villa Dolce many times for the last 15 or so years.....Franco, Maria, and Jessica have been more than host...they have become friends...location is close to the airport which is a good stop off after a long flight...food is VERY good,rooms are always clean, and they can help you with every travel question and need... Villa Dolce is very well recommended to anyone staying in the San Jose area.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank busytraveling52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2010

This was our second time spending the first and last nights at Villa Dolce and both times we were treated like old friends staying for a visit. Jessica and the staff could not be more helpful...ordering taxis and meals, helping with directions and plans for getting around. The neighbourhood doesn't leave the best impression for first time travellers to Costa Rica but you feel safe and secure in a secret tucked away garden while staying at Villa Dolce.

Thanks Jessica and best of luck with your massage classes!!! I'll be booking a spa day next visit :) See you next year !!!
Tracey

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tshipman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2010

Hotel Villa Dolce is a really nice place to stay in when you just got in because it is near the airport and its a pleasant family hotel, calm, clean, with swimming pool. The best thing about the hotel besides the people who are nice is the food. The food is amazing there and it is really home made food. You are well treated and well feeded :)!!! That's all you need during a vacation!!!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juniornoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2010

When we fly into or out of San Jose , we make our stop at the Hotel Villa Dolce. For last 10 years we always look forward to seeing Franco, Maria and Jessica. The rooms are always very clean and we feel safe . To start the holiday off right, we start with breakfast which is included and a wonderful cup or two of coffee.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarbyBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2010

After 5 hrs drive from the coast,we arrived hot,tired and with no concrete plans for our 2 day stay at the end of our holiday. It was recommended by travellers as convenient to the airport for early departures. We got more than that. Within 30 minutes, Jessica the manager organised the rest of our afternoon suggesting a trip to the zoo before it closed and a superb restaurant Martinos. Next day she arranged a driver to take us to Poas Volcano,coffee plantation and butterfly garden. We never could have arranged this in such short notice. That nice she and her mother created a party atmosphere with all the guests and we ordered in pizzas. What a bonus! Thanks Jessica for a memorable stay.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LynneM60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
0.8 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 27 in Alajuela
675 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Robledal
Hotel Robledal
#7 of 27 in Alajuela
309 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Brillasol Airport
Hotel Brillasol Airport
#11 of 27 in Alajuela
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica
2.2 mi away
Villa San Ignacio
Villa San Ignacio
#9 of 27 in Alajuela
131 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa Margarita
Villa Margarita
#1 of 2 in La Garita
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bristol Aeropuerto (Antiguo Villa dolce).? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bristol Aeropuerto (Antiguo Villa dolce).

Address: El Coyol de Alajuela | De la Rotonda del coyol 300 m este, Frente al antiguo Rancho Maba,, Alajuela 20101, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Alajuela
Price Range: $58 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Bristol Aeropuerto (Antiguo Villa dolce). 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Bristol Aeropuerto (before Hotel Villadolce) is located 7 minutes away from the Juan Santa Maria Airport connected by one of the main roads of the country, the Bernardo Soto Expressway. In the same way the Hotel Bristol Airport, connects directly to different routes with the interior of the country, such as: Route 27. By means of the Radial El Coyol only 150 meters away, San José- Puntarenas via La Bernardo Soto, Alajuela San Jose, through the General Cañas. As well as Alajuela Atenas by Route 3 among others. A place that despite being very close to the city is surrounded by nature and with a traditional atmosphere of the Villas of the West of the Great Central Plateau of Costa Rica. We have 7 types of rooms at your disposal, all with amenities and complementary services so that your stay in our hotel is pleasant and relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Bristol Aeropuerto (Antiguo Villa dolce). reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolce Hotel Alajuela
Hotel Bristol Aeropuerto (Antiguo Villa Dolce). Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing