We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely friendly place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Bristol Aeropuerto (Antiguo Villa dolce).
Ranked #19 of 67 Alajuela B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 8, 2009

The Villa Dolce is currently run by owners Maria and Franco who intend to hand over the property to their daughter in a few weeks. They were extremely friendly and helpful. When we left after just two nights, we actually had the impression that we spent some time with friends...
As this place is quite close to the Panamericana highway, expect some traffic noise. Rooms are spotless, and for about the same price, I found them nicer and better equipped (Aircon) than the rooms at Rosa de las Americas.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YvesLuxembourg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (261)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 261 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2008

The hotel is close to international airport of Alajuela.
At first sight looks very good and welcoming, but the area surrounding the hotel is very poor and depressing.
A beautiful pool, not great but also with hydro massage, ideal for a relaxing afternoon.
The rooms large and comfortable, well equipped with everything.
Unfortunately move to negative, we stayed in April for two nights and the staff was not equal to the task.
It is noted that the staff is fairly inexperienced, and did not meet all the needs that we had
The restaurant is not good, the foods are heated in microwave and prices are very dear.
We can not say that it was a bad experience, but even beautiful

  • Stayed: March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank colt_72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2008

This hotel was recommended to me by a traveller who stays there with his wife and kids atleast once a year and i need to thank him as it was absolutely perfect.
Rinzu anda staff there were so freindly and helpful and i cannot think of one fault for the hotel.

We are definatly planning another trip and will be returning to Costa Rica and monteverde.
Very good value for money and have just undergone a renovation.
As for the breakfast
I have no complaints and some of the hotels dont even include it so even better.
I would recommend this hotel to singles or families .

Stayed: February 2008
Thank DALLASGirl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2008

I highly recommended the Hotel Villa Dolce. It is in a great location for flying in and out of the San Jose airport. It is run by a very helpful and friendly couple, Grace and Lorenzo. Between them they speak english, spanish, italian, and mandarin. They will plan any type of vacation that you want, for you. Lorenzo will pick up and drive to the airport at any time necessary.

The rooms are excellent, way above what I would expect for the price. The rooms, grounds, and pool are very clean. The restaurant has a small menu since Lorenzo does the cooking, but the food is very good.

The staff is also wonderful.

The negative is the sound of the panamerican highway behind the hotel but that didn't stop us from sleeping.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jibacoababe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2007

We stayed at Villa Dolce the last night of our stay in Costa Rica.

The property is not in a very nice neighborhood, but it does have a gate at the front that gets locked every night.

Once you enter the property though, it's surprisingly nice.
The property has a pool, resturant (kindof), and very nice rooms, hot water (real hot water, not a suicide shower head) and it's cheap. Breakfast is included - its pretty decent.

The one thing that I was very dissapointed with was dinner.
$10 for some fried chicken breast and instant mashed potatoes.
This is Costa Rica for God's sake. $10 should get AT LEAST real potatoes and veggies, and that's if you're in a tourist trap.

So my recommendation is save your $$, and find a resturant.
There were some pizza places, a chinese place and at the very end of the road (if you pass up Villa Dolce) where it T's there is a resturant on the corner. Try one of those places instead.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank DrummerDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
new york
916
Reviewed January 1, 2006

This is a very pleasant hotel very close to the airport. The rooms are very clean and the owners are extremely helpful. They made us feel at home immediately. The only disadvantage was that there was no restaurant on site.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2005

Hotel Villa Dolce was a fabulous place. Only its immediate area appeared a wee bit shady. Maybe it was just because we drove into the hotel at night- but the immediate area seemed- not so nice. The hotel is set back from the road and there is a locked gate at the entrance at night. Don't know if that means anything.

Stayed at the hotel the night before returning home.Stayed there at the end of our trip because it was 5 minutes from the airport. Owners were great and most accomodating. Stayed up for us since we didn't arrive until like one in the morning. Rooms were clean, nicely decorate.Great pool. tranquil atmosphere. The family dog and cats were friendly as the owners! Great free breakfast and shuttle to the airport. Hotel is highly recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank spookycatofphilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaDolce, Owner at Hotel Bristol Aeropuerto (Antiguo Villa dolce)., responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2011

Apologies for responding at this stage, but just in case somebody notices the "questionable area" opinion, I would like to clarify that Villa Dolce is located in a safe, residential, very typical Costa Rican area called el Coyol de Alajuela.

It is very safe inside the hotel and also to walk outside, day or night. Nothing has ever happened at Villa Dolce, or to our clients walking outside; no crime, roberry or stolen goods inside the rooms or elsewhere on the permises, and we have been operating since 1996!

It is not appropriate for me to disclose too many details online about our security system here, but all I can say is that we are lucky enough to live in an area that allows us to feel very relaxed about it. Close by there are some of the most important duty free zones and large companies in Costa Rica, making El Coyol a very secure, well monitored area.

We do have a gate, but it is not a high, solid, fenced iron gate. It is the very old, regular bar gate that was already in place when we bought the farm where we then built Villa Dolce (our gate should almost be protected as a piece of Costa Rican cultural heritage!!). There is no security wire or intimidating security system nowhere at the hotel.

Unfortunately, the urban areas in Costa Rica are not as well maintained / developed compared to some other places like in Europe or the USA (and this is part of the charm and character!) so people coming from well maintained, more modern cities and towns abroad may feel some areas here, especially in the city and at night, look somehow run-down and not safe. People here get going very early in the morning and go to bed early, so streets tend to look empty early at night and street lights can be a bit of a luxury... Also, hotels entrances which look more "open" and sophisticated do not always indicate a safe area.

El Coyol, where we are, is a very typical Costa Rican residencial area with a rural character. If guests decide to book with us, I invite them to adventure out for a walk to enjoy a glimpse of life here; the school, the church, lots of nature and classic Costa Rican farm houses.

Thank you to the guest who posted this review - for the nice comments and for giving me the opportunity to post some information about our area.

If anybody may be interested, I will be happy to email them a photo of our entrance and of our much loved, good old gate!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
0.8 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#4 of 27 in Alajuela
708 reviews
7.3 mi away
Hotel Colinas del Sol
1.4 mi away
Hotel Robledal
Hotel Robledal
#7 of 27 in Alajuela
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Villa San Ignacio
Villa San Ignacio
#9 of 27 in Alajuela
142 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica
4.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bristol Aeropuerto (Antiguo Villa dolce).? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bristol Aeropuerto (Antiguo Villa dolce).

Address: El Coyol de Alajuela | De la Rotonda del coyol 300 m este, Frente al antiguo Rancho Maba,, Alajuela 20101, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 67 B&Bs / Inns in Alajuela
Price Range: $80 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Bristol Aeropuerto (Antiguo Villa dolce). 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Bristol Aeropuerto (before Hotel Villadolce) is located 7 minutes away from the Juan Santa Maria Airport connected by one of the main roads of the country, the Bernardo Soto Expressway. In the same way the Hotel Bristol Airport, connects directly to different routes with the interior of the country, such as: Route 27. By means of the Radial El Coyol only 150 meters away, San José- Puntarenas via La Bernardo Soto, Alajuela San Jose, through the General Cañas. As well as Alajuela Atenas by Route 3 among others. A place that despite being very close to the city is surrounded by nature and with a traditional atmosphere of the Villas of the West of the Great Central Plateau of Costa Rica. We have 7 types of rooms at your disposal, all with amenities and complementary services so that your stay in our hotel is pleasant and relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Bristol Aeropuerto (Antiguo Villa dolce). reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolce Hotel Alajuela
Hotel Bristol Aeropuerto (Antiguo Villa Dolce). Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing