We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay in Hotel Villa Dulce”
Review of Hotel Villa Dolce

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Villa Dolce
Ranked #32 of 58 Alajuela B&B and Inns
Alexandria, LA.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful stay in Hotel Villa Dulce”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

I had a four night stay here and enjoyed it very much. I rented a one room villa which was spacious and well appointed with a living room, dining area, stove top and fridge plus dishes and cookware. The property is well maintained and lush, the pool is beautiful. The staff was so sweet and caring, and the housekeeper/ cook went above and beyond for me and I was touched by her kindness. I would definitely stay here again, I would live here if I could do a long term rental. Thanks for everything!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    88
    19
    8
    7
See reviews for
58
102
35
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Playa Chiquita
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

The staff and the owner were by far the most helpful and welcoming I have ever encountered in all my travels. The hotel itself was perfectly located near the San Jose Airport and the rooms, the pool, the continental breakfast & the neighbourhood were exactly what we needed before heading to the airport. If you want to stay at a lovely hotel where your security & well being while in transit are top priority then Hotel Villa Dolce should be your only choice. Great hotel! Great staff!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Benoit D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Villa Dolce for 3 nights - 2 upon our arrival in Costa Rica, and 1 right before we left. We were so grateful for the helpful staff. Randall was so patient with us as he explained how to use the public buses, and he made some great suggestions for where to explore in Alajuela and San Jose. The room was great, not too fancy, but clean and functional - exactly what we were looking for.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

The rooms are not air-conditioned.

We stayed one night at this hotel at the end of March of 2013 as our last stop before we flew back to the states. We arrived at the hotel around 3 pm and it was hot. My 5 years old son was sweating just sitting there. We then took a drive to the city and came back at night. Fortunately the temperature dropped at night so we were able to go to sleep with fan running and window open. Another problem with open window is that we have to endure the constant traffic noise since the hotel is next to major traffic roads.

The hotel situated in a not-so-nice area, as you can tell that the hotel is completely surrounded by a metal wire fence and a metal gate. Every time when a car needs to get in or out, the hotel owner will have to open the metal gate. The hotel consists of a few single floor houses (I guess that's why it's call Villa). Our unit was like a one bedroom apartment with 2 single beds in the living room and a bed combined by 2 single bed in the bedroom. It has a kitchen, a washer and a dryer, but we didn't cook and do laundry. The hotel also offers pizza dinner ($14 a piece, big enough for 2 people) which is convenient. The complimentary breakfast is not the typical buffet style. Each person is offered a fruit drink and a plate with a piece of bread, some scramble eggs, a piece of pineapple, papaya, and several pieces of banana. It's sufficient but not like other hotel where there are more varieties and you can your own.

There is a pool, but we didn't swim in it. The water is ok but not spectacularly clear. I did see someone come to vacuum the pool in the morning.

This is not the kind of hotel you typically see in the US.

I switched to this hotel from another one about 3 weeks before our trip because the other hotel is a little farther away from the airport and I was a little worried about the time since I need to return our rental car the next morning. If I could do it again, I would not make that switch.

Room Tip: don't stay in this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mountain60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Positive reviewers are right:the staff is friendly, the breakfast OK, the rooms clean (may be with a somewhat chemical smell) and we felt safe. BUT...there are some negative aspecs to relate too: perhaps the staff is sometimes too friendly. We tried to sleep at Villa Dolce one night when there was a big group of American schoolgirls (and maybe some boys) in the hotel. They had a lot of fun. At 10 PM the staff tried to calm them down, but the laughter and loud talking went on until 1.30 AM. No staff acting anymore. So we were personally asking the girls twice to realise there were people in the hotel with the purpose to sleep, but their fun was more important. At our appearence the started even screaming as if we were gosts comming from an other world!
As all the rooms have view on the garden, the communal area is also in this garden and as the garden is surrounded by 4 walls (2 where the rooms are) everyone can enjoy everything hapening in the garden very clearly. For us this was not fun, as we had planned to get up early!
Second remark: this hotel has been the one and only place in Costa Rica where they charged us an other extra10% when paying with our Credit Card....

Room Tip: If you know there is a big group in the hotel....try to find an other one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Inehop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eufaula, AL
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Great hotel in what looked like an iffy neighborhood. Not to worry very secure. Staff was super helpful, rooms clean. Would definitely stay here again if I had to catch an early morning flight or had just come in very late.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shrinkwrapped3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

While pulling up to this hotel i was terrified. It was 12am and we were tired after driving 4 hours so we decided to check it out. The location is not in a safe area at all. We booked the room for 2 for $70. We ended up having a 3rd person and instead of first discussing the extra card he ran my credit card without letting me know if the price increase. We get into the room and put the suitcases in front of the door to feel more safe. At least if someone breaks in the suitecase will fall and we will hear it. A few of the pillows had dried blood on them and the bed were like sleeping on rocks. I imagine a jail cell feels safer and more inviting. Do not stay here! Fine anywhere else!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RRonay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaDolce, Owner at Hotel Villa Dolce, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear Sir, Madam,

Thanks for the review and the email you sent us.

Villa Dolce is a family managed hotel and we do not have 24 hours OPEN reception service. The owners of the hotel wait and welcome their guests arriving late personally. You told us you would be arriving at midnight and you arrive at almost at 2 am. Mr Franco waited for you, he offered you drinks and advised about the Wi Fi. You wrote that the person was rude, but maybe that he was tired is a more of an accurate description at 2 am?

I trust this review is primarily related to the charge for the extra person. You booked for 2 adults, you arrived and checked in as 2 adults at 2 am and in the morning we realised there were 3 adults in the room. Every hotel in Costa Rica has an extra charge for the 3rd person. We did advise there would be an extra charge, as listed on our website. It is not true that we did not tell you, as you paid at reception and had to sign for the credit card slip. I am sorry you did not appreciate this, but a 3rd person cannot stay for free.

The mattresses are the best on the market, all orthopaedic. If clients are used to a much softer mattress, this is up to personal taste and not the quality of our mattresses. We have people asking us where they can buy the same mattresses because the guarantee a healthy and good night sleep.

Hotel Villa Dolce is a safe place. We never had any issues with criminal activity or breaking into the rooms or the cars parked outside, and we have operated the hotel since 1996. We have a nice garden and the owners live on site. It is safe, hence I am not sure why you felt unsafe. I can only assume you were tired after driving until 2 am in Costa Rica where roads are not well illuminated, etc.

We take pride in the cleanliness of the hotel, and many reviews reflect this, but we will review all pillows and sheets to make sure we maintain the high standard that we strive for.

I am sorry you had to pay for the 3rd person and that you did not enjoy your stay. It is always sad to hear.

Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Robledal
Hotel Robledal
#7 of 27 in Alajuela
306 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 27 in Alajuela
661 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Brillasol Airport
Hotel Brillasol Airport
#10 of 27 in Alajuela
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Villa San Ignacio
Villa San Ignacio
#9 of 27 in Alajuela
123 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Trapp Family Country Inn
3.8 mi away
Hotel Pacande
Hotel Pacande
#3 of 58 in Alajuela
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Dolce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Dolce

Property: Hotel Villa Dolce
Address: El Coyol de Alajuela, Alajuela 20101, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Villa Dolce 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa Dolce is a "sweet villa" located at just 5 minutes from the San Jose Airport with direct connection to the new highway 27. The warm and friendly service we offer will make you feel right at home. Come and enjoy lovely rooms and villas with all comforts, a large pool, lush garden, and Italian pizzeria. At Villa Dolce you will find everything you need for a relaxing and comfortable stay in the Central Valley and when flying in and out of Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Villa Dolce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolce Hotel Alajuela
Hotel Villa Dolce Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing