We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic service!”
Review of Hotel Villa Dolce

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Villa Dolce
Ranked #33 of 61 Alajuela B&B and Inns
Prescott, Arizona
1 review
“Fantastic service!”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

I have stayed here several times on trips to Costa Rica, and each time the service has been fantastic. The flight I take usually gets into San Jose around 7pm, and after a full day of flights and layovers, taking the hotel's airport shuttle recommendation makes the final leg of the journey a breeze. Randall or other staff (only a few people) makes checking in and settling down for the evening (or getting some dinner or cervesas from local establishments) just as easy. The rooms are quaint and clean, and the property is lush and green with a small central swimming pool. My stays here the night before an early flight out of San Jose have been just as accommodating. Renting cars is also made easy here, as at least two rental agencies (and I think more) will bring the rental to the hotel, and will pick it up here at the end of the trip. Hotel Villa Dolce is a great welcome to Costa Rica!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjg363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    88
    18
    8
    7
See reviews for
58
102
34
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We traveled here Dec 2012 and found Randall (the owner) to be very accommodating. Even before we arrived Randall had started to answer questions we had (by email) about costa rica, and had even referred us to a great car rental company (that has great reviews and was much cheaper than the other companies in town).
We arrive late at night (about 12:30 am) which is why we selected this hotel due to it being 5 min away from the airport and Randall stayed up to wait for us.
When we arrived to the room we were pleasantly surprised at it's size (t was huge)! It was like an apartment (with a small kitchen even).
In the morning, we had the breakfast that the hotel provided which was also great!
Overall great experience!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Picked this spot because of its location near the airport, reasonable rates, pool, and pets policy. Great that I can stay here with my dog! Terrific rooms - we had the villa. Nice big beds. We didn't eat at the restaurant but heard other customers talking about how good the pizza was. Staff was great to work with and glad to help with anything that was needed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaraD656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
1 review
Reviewed May 17, 2013

I recently traveled to Costa Rica for business trip and pleasure and I would have to say that it was a great atmosphere, their staff and owner treat you like family and make you feel very welcoming. Next time i am around Costa Rica i will stay at Villa Dolce and i would recommend this great Hotel to anyone traveling form around the world CEARTAINLY A GREAT HOTEL! VB

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vblandon24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Worth, Florida
Level Contributor
199 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

This hotel was recommended to my wife and me as we were trying to avoid San Jose due to President Obama's impending trip and were afraid of traffic and blocked streets. We were a little apprehensive at first to stay in Alajuela as the neighborhoods we had seen were not that great, but were assured that the hotel and area was safe. Randall greeted us when we arrived and was very helpful in providing directions to a good restaurant, a tour of Poas Volcano & La Paz and arranging transport to the airport about 5 miles away. All in all a very pleasant 2 nights stay. The villa was very cute, the grounds and pool were relaxing to look at and the value was great. Would recommend this hotel and would stay here if in Costa Rica again. It was very easy to get to the airport, even with Obama's motorcade passing perpendicular to us on the way to our flight. At least we avoided the traffic from the capital.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LARPAT55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed at Villa Dolce three times during our two week trip to Costa Rica and were glad that we chose this hotel. It was a treat to stay in such a lush little oasis.

We stayed in three different rooms: two villas and a double room. Some people have mentioned road noise, but we weren't bothered by that in any of the rooms. We also found the rooms spotlessly clean and always had hot water.

The one bed villa (#4) was our favourite room. LOTS of space for two, a huge bed and a useful kitchen with a gas hob, microwave, fridge/freezer and enough utensils, etc to make a simple meal. If you have a vehicle, there's plenty of secured parking and if you don't there are a few sodas and supermarkets within walking distance as well as a bus stop right outside the hotel.

Breakfast was good and the pizza was delicious. The dinner menu has a choice of 5 or 6 pizzas, plus salads and dessert of the day. They also sell drinks all day.

The owners and staff make this place even more special - they helped us make travel arrangements, stored our luggage, safely returned my camera, gave us useful advice and were always helpful and friendly. Maria also has some very funny stories!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JC_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
highlands ranch co
1 review
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We spent one night in the hotel Dolce Villa and had a lovely experience. The sitting area was nice and we had a great pizza for dinner. I loved the painted art painted in the lobby area and thought that the room was decorated nicely. Only draw back was the shower did not have very hot water. I would return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Brillasol Airport
Hotel Brillasol Airport
#10 of 29 in Alajuela
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Robledal
Hotel Robledal
#7 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Villa San Ignacio
Villa San Ignacio
#9 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica
2.8 mi away
Vista Linda Montana
Vista Linda Montana
#2 of 61 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Dolce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Dolce

Property: Hotel Villa Dolce
Address: El Coyol de Alajuela, Alajuela 20101, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Villa Dolce 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa Dolce is a "sweet villa" located at just 5 minutes from the San Jose Airport with direct connection to the new highway 27. The warm and friendly service we offer will make you feel right at home. Come and enjoy lovely rooms and villas with all comforts, a large pool, lush garden, and Italian pizzeria. At Villa Dolce you will find everything you need for a relaxing and comfortable stay in the Central Valley and when flying in and out of Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Villa Dolce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolce Hotel Alajuela
Hotel Villa Dolce Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing