We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis near busy airport”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Villa Dolce

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Villa Dolce
Ranked #33 of 60 Alajuela B&B and Inns
San Isidro de El General, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Oasis near busy airport”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

This lovely, gated oasis has more to offer than some larger hotels near the airport. Situated in a small neighbourhood 10 minutes from the airport, it is ideal if you want peace and quiet and simple luxury. The rooms are spacious, modern, impeccably clean, freshly painted, beautifully tiled with a hint of European flair. Of course, it stands to reason the owners are Italian and British. Nice bed, nice furniture and really nice towels. Quiet at night.
Randall the manager is a sweetheart and caters to your every need and the restaurant offers REAL Italian pizza. AND, the two dogs and adorable and friendly.
I live here in Costa Rica and sometimes need to stay near the airport waiting for relatives. I will make this my #1 overnight spot for sure. First experience and great experience.
We promise not to be as loud and obnoxious the next time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tolomuco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    88
    18
    8
    7
See reviews for
58
102
34
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ithaca, New York, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

This hotel is very convenient to the airport, secluded from the busy road, safe and friendly. We stayed there our first and last night. The rooms are clean and comfortable, home-cooked breakfast provided, lovely pool, drinks and light dinner available. BUT the best thing was the so helpful and considerate staff, who took care of several details we neglected and assisted us in lots of ways. We really felt cared for, and it was such a good way to begin and end our trip (which was FANTASTIC).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed here our first night in CR and found this place with ease. Gated and secure we felt welcome right away. The grounds are lovely and the pool is nice. Had some incredible pizza for dinner and tasty, light breakfast. The rooms are good and AC is not needed as they cool down at night. Very close to the airport and right off the road, yet private and quite. They are quick to answer emails and a pleasure to meet! thanks!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kszabone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramah, New Mexico
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed at Villa Dolce twice, after we got off our plane in San Jose, and before our next morning flight from there.
It was recommended to us by some friends living in the Osa Peninsula: they stay there too anytime they fly. And it was the right choice for our needs.
The place is easy to find, a 10 minutes drive from the International Airport, on Hwy # 1 going west, on the right side, a little off from it. It is a safe, gated property, cozy, well kept and clean.
Nicely cured gardens with a pool and a patio in the center are surrounded by the buildings with the roomy accommodations, and also the main-building with its pizzeria and breakfast tables. Pieces of art from different cultures adorn the property.
The owner, we found out, is from the same Italian region we are originally from too, in the province of Venice. We enjoyed a great chat with him and his Bit wife.
The staff is very kind and helpful, and you even get a discount to the already reasonable prices when paying with cash instead of the credit card. Anything you need, a car rental, a taxi, food or drinks, even a lawyer-contact if you had issues in CR, is kindly provided.
Definitely, in our opinion, the best place to stay and relax before and after you had your other "kix" in Costa Rica.

Room Tip: The rooms are all good, though some are more away than others from the Hwy traffic noises happening...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francesca Giova... P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

My wife and I spent our first two nights in Costa Rica here and very much enjoyed the experience. Unlike most "airport hotel" you are immediately engaged in local culture. The breakfasts that were included were an excellent start to the day. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We will stay here again on our next trip to Costa Rica.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Monterey_Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

We stayed just for one night at Villa Dolce before flying out of San Jose the next morning. This is one airport hotel that is so cosy you might actually want to stay for longer than you have to! It is only a 10-min drive from the airport, so nice and accessible, but is like a little oasis of well-kept gardens and units facing the pool in the centre of the property. You can definitely hear the traffic, but I am a heavy sleeper so it didn't bother me. I was just disappointed there were no more woodfired pizzas when we arrived because they sounded so good! Thank you for a wonderful finish to our Central American adventure.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mirijane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
94 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

I chose this hotel to be near the airport, as we were coming from Tamarindo area and needed a night's sleep before catching our flight. The people were super nice and the place is well-kept. There is a nice pool, it's well-landscaped and feels safe behind walls and a gate. We were upgraded for free to giant rooms, more like apartments. Ours had a full kitchen, 2 baths, 2 bedrooms and a large dining/living room. It was really great to have extra space so we could repack our bags for the flight home. We arranged ahead of time to have our dinner at the hotel. It's obligatory to tell them beforehand.

All this being said, I can't recommend this place for 2 reasons:
1. The INTENSE traffic noise. We arrived on a Friday night and the noise was constant. It died down a little as the evening went on, but I couldn't sleep from about 3:30 on. Saturday isn't a traffic morning and I can't imagine how loud it must be for rush hour mornings. The trucks using their engine brakes were particularly loud. All we needed was a good night's sleep and we didn't get it. It felt like we were sleeping in the middle of the highway.
2. It is very hard to find. Google maps has the wrong placement for this hotel. We tried to follow the directions from the website and ended up an exit away at the closest. We finally had to call and get directions from Randall. He speaks good English and got us there. It is on a barely marked exit off PanAm 1, over an unnamed bridge and located on an unnamed street, with no address number.

I hate to not recommend the place, the owners/workers were super nice and accommodating, but sleep is the primary reason we were there.

Room Tip: A room closer to reception means farther from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kryptogram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaDolce, Owner at Hotel Villa Dolce, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Very good day from sunny Costa Rica!

Thank you for taking the time to post this review.

I´m very sorry your stay with us was not of your complete satisfaction. We're so glad you enjoyed the friendliness and the level of customer service you received.

Hotel Villa Dolce is located just minutes away from the SJO airport, in the outskirts of the city of Alajuela. As we are not located in the countryside, people who are looking for complete silence, may need to stay much, much further away from the airport. This means a much longer drive to the airport and higher taxi fees.

Luckily, most guests who posted reviews enjoyed Villa Dolce and find it a very convenient option for an airport hotel. We are very close, still located in a rural part of Alajuela where guests can enjoy a nice swimming pool and large garden. We hope all the reviews on TripAdvisor speak for themselves.

As per the comment about Google map, we will try to contact them to modify, but Google has nothing to do with us... We are not responsible for information websites may post about us or our location. On our website, we have a detailed MAP page where clients can find a map and directions in writing. We are also available via email or phone for any questions. I am glad you are informing me of this, but we cannot be held responsible for information posted on third party websites not related to us in any way. We are almsot ready to upload our new website and there will be GoogleMap, etc. anyway.

Furthermore, I feel it is very easy to get to Villa Dolce, but clients need to keep in mind that Costa Rica´s roads are not well illuminated and there are NO street signs. I think you arrived late at night. We STRONGLY recommend clients do not rent cars at night (after 6 pm), as it is easy to get lost, on the way to Villa Dolce, or any other hotel. After a long flight, people tend to be also tired and stressed. Rented cars can be delivered free of charge the following morning, directly to the hotel.

I would have appreciated if you had told us about your discomfort with the noise level when you were here. Now there is nothing we can do about it apart from posting a Management Respones... We would have happily moved you to another room. We offered you the large villa, as clients are normally delighetd with the free upgrade. I am truly sorry this was not the case!

As I say, we hope all the reviews on TripAdvisor can speak for speak for themselves. We wish we could please all of our guests all the time, but appreciate this is not always possible. We ask our future guests to please report any problem during their stay there and then, so that we can try our very best to resolve the situation in order for them to enjoy a great stay.

Many blessings to all of you,
Jessica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Brillasol Airport
Hotel Brillasol Airport
#10 of 29 in Alajuela
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Robledal
Hotel Robledal
#8 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Villa San Ignacio
Villa San Ignacio
#9 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica
2.8 mi away
Vista Linda Montana
Vista Linda Montana
#3 of 60 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Dolce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Dolce

Property: Hotel Villa Dolce
Address: El Coyol de Alajuela, Alajuela 20101, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Dolce 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa Dolce is a "sweet villa" located at just 5 minutes from the San Jose Airport with direct connection to the new highway 27. The warm and friendly service we offer will make you feel right at home. Come and enjoy lovely rooms and villas with all comforts, a large pool, lush garden, and Italian pizzeria. At Villa Dolce you will find everything you need for a relaxing and comfortable stay in the Central Valley and when flying in and out of Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Villa Dolce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolce Hotel Alajuela
Hotel Villa Dolce Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing