We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, friendly and inviting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Clean, friendly and inviting”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We have a great stay here for our last night in Costa Rica. There is some noise from the airport, but it didn't bother us too much. The place was very clean, and the staff were friendly. I don't think there was a restaurant on site, but there are many restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank judys331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear judys331, thanks alot for sharing your comments.

It always makes our day to learn when our guests leave feeling so happy and satisfied about their experience with us. We are a hotel that thrives on our guests comfort and satisfaction so we are always a step ahead in making them feel right at home, not only by being very friendly and attentive but also by providing them with all they might need for their total comfort and rest. Yes, there are two restaurants right across from our parking lot and also our shuttle can take ur guests free of any charge to a mall nearby (less than 5 minutes away) which has several different types of restaurants such as mexican, japanese, argentinian, italian, ect. And afterwards, our shuttle can go back to the mall to pick our guests up and return them to the hotel.

Our hotel was built with special materials that isolate any incoming sounds (because of its location less than a mile away from the airport)so we can guarantee our guests that they will always have a peaceful and restful sleep because their well being is so important for us.

It was a pleasure having you stay with us, thank you so much for choosing us.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    770
    454
    114
    17
    27
See reviews for
430
480
111
183
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Linn, OR
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014

We chose to stay here on our last night in CR, close to the airport, airport shuttle, and just next door to the car rental drop off.

4 days prior to our arrival we decided to add another night. We called Hotels.com, who we originally made the reservation through. They added the extra night and then transferred us to the hotel's front desk to confirm our reservation of 2 rooms for 2 nights (a total of 4 nights). The person at the hotel seemed a bit confused, but did repeat what was requested and so we kept our fingers crossed and hoped for the best.

There was some confusion (as we anticipated) when we arrived, 5 people, 2 rooms but only 2 king beds vs one room with 2 queens. The rooms with king beds did have a sofa bed and the hotel offered to move 3 of us to a different room the next night with 2 queen beds. Great! We could work with this. We wrote down the names of the two people who's names the rooms were reserved under and then the rest of the people staying in rooms names. Passports were gathered from all 5 of us and passport numbers written on the back of our reservation sheet that the hotel keeps.

Rooms were nice, clean, beds comfortable. WiFi was only available in the hallway. When we were in our rooms, there was no reception. We adjusted: grabbed our chairs, a spot on the floor in the hallway, some snacks and pretended we were in the dorms hanging out in the hallway with our social media devices!

Upon checking out we discovered that we were charged 3 nights from the hotel, and 2 nights were already paid for via the Hotels.com reservation. Why were we being charged for a total of 5 nights????? The shuttle was waiting, 3 of us had eaten something bad and were having trouble keeping things down, we decided we would take care of this once back home.

Once home, we called the hotel, after being given the run around for a bit, we were told that WE did not "check in properly". Only ONE person checked in for both rooms vs one person for each room. So...we got 2 rooms even though only ONE person checked in, and therefore we are being charged for an extra night?

When we checked in we gave them the two names that the rooms were registered under, WROTE the two names down and then showed them our passports. When this was told to the person we were speaking to, the remark was "Oh yes, I see your names written down, but you didn't check in properly. The account is closed now, I can't do anything about it."

We asked to speak with a manager and we were told there was no manager there at the moment. If we wanted to, we should contact corporate headquarters and complain to them. We have obliged, and contacted "corporate" and are awaiting an answer.

Not the way to end an otherwise very wonderful time in CR.

Room Tip: Apparently if you want WiFi in your room, do not stay on the 4th floor. If you are placed on the 4th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kali2010wl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear kali2010wl

Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know your thoughts and for using Tripadvisor. Our goal is to offer high value for your money by offering quality accommodations, friendly service and a clean and safe environment, on a consistent basis, that way, we can assure our guests´ complete satisfaction.

I will really appreciate if somehow you can give me little more information or specific details of your stay so we are going to contact you privately so you can tell me exactly what happened and under what name was the reservation and charge made. I want to assure you that we are going to take the necessary steps to improve prblems like this one eventhough they seldomly happen, I´ll be very thankful if you reply to our private message because I know that I need the help from people like you to let us know where we are not meeting our objectives.

I wish to thank you again for providing feedback and for choosing our hotel. We apologize for any inconvenience that we may have caused you and we will do everything we can to make it up to you for this mishap, and I hope that you give us a chance to serve you again in the future.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 11, 2014

we have stayed in Hampton inn only for one night. it was not cheap but for the $155 we had an access to the hotel swimming pool, free hot drinks and fruit from reception area, wifi and a lovely and very comfortable room on 4th flool. staff welcomed us with smiles, they vere helpful and very genuine just like all the people in Costa rica. the stay in this hotel was our little luxury at the end of our 3 week back packing trip around the country. in the morning we vere able to have a morish breakfast, there was so much choice!
we had and issue with our rental car and staff at the reception were so kind and dealt with the insurance people, only thanks to Stephen at the reception we received our deposit for the car back. big big thank you and PURA VIDA!!! from Tina(Slovakia) and Matt (England)

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tinulicek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Tinulicek, thank you for such a lovely review.

Besides making us very happy by sharing your experience with us, you have made us very proud by letting us know what valuable personnel we have who always go the extra mile to ensure our guests´comfort and satisfaction. People like Stephen epitomize not only our staff´s profile but also the hotel itself, taking care of our guests, going to great lengths to solve any problem they might have not only involving things related to the hotel but also helping them with other things (such as with the car deposit).

We are delighted that you both enjoyed our complimentary breakfast so much because we are always putting in much thought to try to make it very varied and tasteful to appeal to as many tastes as we can.

Thank you for makng us your hotel of choice, the entire team looks forward to your next visit.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harleysville, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 8, 2014

I was very impressed with the Hampton Inn - Airport, San Jose, Costa Rica. The hotel is very convenient to the airport. They have 24/7 shuttle service and they can provide pre-payment of the airport departure tax. I stay at Hamptons all of the country and I felt "right at home" in San Jose. The front desk folks were polite and engaging. Very nice property

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Randy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Randy W, we really thank you for your delightful comments because just knowing that you are part of our extended worldwide family makes us very proud.

It is always a pleasure to learn how our guests appreciate our great accommodations and very convenient services which are always going to make their stay with us much more comfortable and satisfying for a most pleasurable hotel experience ever. We are completely committed in complying with all of our guests´ needs and requests so that they can know that they can always count on us for their satisfaction. Thank you for making us your number one hotel of choice.

The entire staff looks forward to your next stay.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

This hotel is very conveniently located, close to the airport and several car rental companies. They offer a 24/7 airport shuttle service, as well as free breakfast! They even have a small business center with 3 computers and a printer, free for guests to use. I was able to check-in and print boarding passes the night before we left with no problem! The hotel is clean, comfortable, and well managed. We would definitely stay here again if we came back to Costa Rica!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Patricia R, thank you for posting such a nice review.

We really do hope that you come back to the country and stay with us again because as always, it is a pleasure for us to be able to make you feel comfortable and well rested. We are extremely glad to find out how much you liked our hotel and enjoyed your stay, how convenient you found our location (less than a mile away from the airport and just a parking lot away from several car rentals, a casino and a couple of restaurants) and services.

We want to make sure that our guests are always more than satisfied, in the most comfortable and clean accommodations possible and with great and convenient services such as our complimentary breakfast, our shuttle service the 24 hours of the day and that our guests can pay the airport tax right here at the hotel makng their stay completely hassle free.

Thank you for choosing us, once again, we realy hope that you visit us again in the near future.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

Nice clean hotel. Good staff, reliable airport van. Pool was enjoyed by our kids. Value seems fair, and amenities include being able to prepay your departure tax and avoid line at airport.

WARNING: Avoid Denny's- gross overpriced food that will give you a Grand Slam of a stomach ache. RoastyPollo is a better choice.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TieDyeMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear TieDyeMan, thank you for posting your comments.

It makes us very happy to learn how much you liked our hotel and how convenient you found the services we offer such as our free shuttle to and from the airport (24 hours of the day every 15 minutes), the payment of the tax airport right here at the hotel, our complimentary breakfast ,ect. Because we really want our guests to relax and to rest all they can wether they are returning home or just coming in and just have a very hassle free stay where they won´t have to worry about anything.

We are glad that your children enjoyed the pool, we hope that the orchids were blooming when you and your family stayed with us.

It was a pleasure having you and your family stay with us, we will look forward to your next stay.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 3, 2014

This hotel always helps me adjust to the adventure or allows me to step back and appreciate what I have experienced. I have been staying at this hotel for over 13 years! I remember many things about the excellent staff and wonderful coffee. There is never a moment I hesitate to stay here when the trip allows. It is always a great transition point.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Andes H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Andes H, thank you so much for such heartwarming comments.

Thank you for making us your hotel of choice for the last 13 years, we are really proud that you have always chosen us and it is very rewarding to know how much you like and appreciate our hotel. It is great to know that you can always count on us for your comfort and well being because for us it is more than a job, it is a pleasure.

Once again, thank you for choosing us and for becoming a part of our extended family, and you can be sure that this is always going to be your home away from home.

It is always a pleasure being of your service and the entire team looks forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
0.8 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
4.0 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 27 in Alajuela
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jo...
#1 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
1,729 reviews
3.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Caria...
#2 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
1,325 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 27 in Alajuela
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
Address: Hwy 1 Airport Blvd, Alajuela 20107, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Alajuela
#3 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#4 Family Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An airport hotel with everything you need...welcome to the Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San José - Airport. If you're looking for a hotel in the Central Valley, home of San José, Costa Rica’s capital city, look no further. Our Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton™ is the most conveniently located hotel in the area, just five minutes away from the International Airport, one block away from rental car return centers, and with easy access the Inter-American Highway (which transports you to beautiful beaches, national parks, and free trade areas). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites By Hilton San Jose Airport
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton San Jose Airport Hotel Alajuela
Hampton Inn Alajuela
Alajuela Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn San Jose
San Jose Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton San Jose Airport Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing