We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay for 1 night when you have an early flight”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Very close to SJO airport with an easy shuttle back and forth. This isn't really a destination, but more of a 1 night place to stay if you arrive late or leave early through SJO airport. The WiFi is fast enough, breakfast was OK (but free so what can you really expect). All of the TV stations were in Spanish (but once again what do you expect in a Spanish speaking country?).

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Jake L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Dear Jake L, thank you for posting your comments.

We are very glad to see how convenient you found the location of our hotel and was able to experience our very comfortable accommodations and great complimentary services. We really do thrive on our guests happiness and satisfaction that is why we do everything we can to comply with all they request and need so they can have a more than successful stay with us.

We are happy to inform you that we do offer cable t.v. with english speaking chanels as well as french, italian and even chinese. Usually there is a chanel guide right on top of the bed side table. If it was not in your room we apologize for it and we would happily send you one if you had let us know. Once again, please accept our apology.

Thank you so much for staying with us, it was a pleasure having you.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,467)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

796 - 802 of 1,467 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2014

This is a very America-style accommodation a stone's throw from the airport in Alajuela. It was clean and comfortable and perfect for us, given that we had an early morning flight. It was also very convenient to Toyota rental car, just across the street. The shuttle to the airport worked without a hitch. This is an excellent choice for a last night in Costa Rica if you have an early flight.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JEBlack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Dear JEBlack, we really appreciate your delightful review. It is always our pleasure to make our guests feel that they got everything and much more from what they were expecting from us as a hotel.

We are very proud to say that yes, we do offer not only the highest quality of services and accommodations but also we have a very friendly and attentive personnel and that our location is so very convenient (we are not only less than a mile away from the airport, but also right in front of one of the country´s main and most important highway and just a parking lot away from several car rentals). We really do thrive on our guests´ happiness and satisfaction and we are thrilled to find out that our goal was definitely achieved with you.

Thank you for choosing us, the entire staff will look forward to your next visit.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We came up to Alajuela after a week in the Caribe Sur, and stayed 3 nights in the Hampton before flying out. The room we had was very nice, and the breakfasts were excellent! The bed was quite comfortable. Breakfasts always included eggs, and rice & beans, along with Costa Rican fruits and pastries, and always some meat as well. We found this to be a great place to base a couple day trips for our last 2 days in Costa Rica, and very convenient to the airport when it was time to go. I would put this up against any Hampton I've stayed at in the states, quality-wise.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank old_school_dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Dear old_school_dave, thank you for such wonderful review.

You have made us very proud by writing that you would put us against any other hotel (of this chain) that you have ever stayed at in the States due to our great quality. Everytime our guests leave so satisfied and happy as you did, it gives us a very rewarding feeling because we are always going above and beyond to provide them with everything they might need so they can have a perfect, relaxing and comfortable stay.
We are very glad that you liked our breakfast so much, specially mixing our typical regional dishes and fruits with more traditional "American" staples.

Thank you for staying with us, we hope to see you back soon.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

We had to stay near the San Jose airport before leaving on an early morning flight. The staff were great, the room was clean and the little take away breakfast given to us as we left the hotel at 3:30 a.m. was delightful.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank sr328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Dear sr328, thank you for sharing such nice comments about your stay with us.

The most important thing for us here at the hotel is to always make our guests feel more than welcome, completely satisfied and relaxed with everything we offer them and last but not least, make their stay the best and most comfortable stay ever. We really do care very much about our guests´well being, comfort and happiness that is why we are always striving to anticipate to all of their needs so when the times come, they would not have to ask for them but we would have already provided them, such as with the "to go" breakfast.

It was a pleasure being of your service, thank you so much for choosing us.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Nice North American style hotel close to the airport with a free shuttle & breakfast (6-10) or a bagged breakfast snack if you leave earlier. It's right beside the Denny's where all of the 'shared vans' seem to pick-up & drop-off from. It's also beside a Casino & many car rental offices which makes it convenient to pick-up or drop-off your rental.
The bed was comfortable (firm), the air conditioning was quiet & efficient and the shower had great pressure.
It's also on a flight path for hundreds of parrots. The trees were full of them in the late afternoon.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RedRose55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Dear RedRose55, It is just great to learn how much you enjoyed staying with us and how conveniently located you found the hotel. Not only are we right next to the airport, but one of the country´s main highways runs right in front of the hotel, we are just a parking lot away from several car rentals, a couple of restaurants and a casino making us a great place to have as a base before you start your adventures.

We are delighted to know that you found our accommodations super comfortable and the services that we offer convenient and helpful in order for you to have a relaxing and hassle free stay. We really do thrive on our guests happiness and satisfaction and we are more than glad that we were able to achieve it with you.

Thank you for staying with us, it was a pleasure to have you.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

I'm a fussy guy. If I'm paying for more than a bed, then I expect to get more than a bed. This Hampton Inn delivered. The beds were large, clean, firm and comfortable. The bath sparkling clean, with all the hot water I needed after 10 days on the road in Central America. WiFi service was a bit spotty at times for some in my party, primarily for those using Apple and Barnes &Nobles devices, but adequate to our needs.

Breakfast was plentiful and included a wide array of standard American items and a few local items (Moros y Christianos, bean tamals in banana leaves). The coffee in the lobby was always plentiful and hot, the staff courteous and friendly.

The small business center was all I needed to check-in online and print my boarding passes, though they weren't accepted at the ariport.

The pool (which we did not use) appeared clean, as was the entire property.

A service available from a third-party in the lobby permits you to pay your Costa Rica departure tax ($29 US at the time of my visit) at the hotel, for a $3 per person fee. Unfortunately, that's only one of the three lines you'll encounter at the airport. You'll still have to have your departure document validated by your airline before passing through security. You may find a long line at the airport, but I found it moved surprisingly quickly.

Airport transfers are free and easy using the Hampton Inn/Holiday Inn Express shuttle which runs every 15-20 minutes. It's a very short hop to and from the airport.

Those concerned about noise will appreciate the fact that the hotel is set back some distance from the main road and is further buffered from road noise by the Holiday Inn Express which sits between the Hampton and the roadway. Our room was very quiet.

Although there is no restataurant on the premises, a local chain (RostiPollo) is located just down the road a few steps. While we only stopped to pick up some fantastic desserts, the food we saw while waiting looked fresh and plentiful. Prices seemed reasaonable by Costa Rican travel standards. (Expect US pricing everywhere.)

We found that we did not need local currency, either in San Jose or during our stay on the Pacific Coast. If you prefer to use local currency, however, the exchange rate offered by the hotel was the best we encountered IF you are exchanging dollars for colones. (536/1). The rate at the airport was the worst, by the way: 465/1. Most merchants used 500/1. Of course, if you're exchanging funds as you leave the country, it may be the worst rate you'll find.

It's rare that I come across a hotel that delivers exactly what it promises or about which I find nothing to complain, but this is one. I have no reservations in recommending it to anyone seeking an American standard hotel. In fact, it beat all of the American hotels in this price range at which I've stayed here in the U.S. over the past few years.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teguzco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Dear Teguzc, thank you for writing such a detailed review about your stay with us. We are delighted that you said that you are a fussy guy because that way, it gives us alot of self assurance as a hotel that always puts our guests´ satisfaction before anything else.

The pickier our guests are, the more challenged we are to deliver all that we promised them: very comfortable and clean accommodations, the best and most convenient services and the friendliest and most attentive staff to serve them, that way they will always know that no matter how high their expectations are, we will always be able to deliver.

We are also very pleased to learn how much you liked our complimentary breakfast because we are always varying it as much as we can so our guests can always be surprised and never get bored with our variety of dishes, including typical Costarican food and more traditional American dishes that we are sure are going to satisfied all of our guests´ fancies. Since our hotel was conveniently built so close to the airport, special materials were used for its construction. This materials isolates any incoming sound no matter how loud it might be to guarantee a pleasant and sound free rest for our guests. If our guests are not satisfied with the restaurant choices right across the parking lot, our shuttle will gladly take them free of any charge to very nearby mall (located less than 5 minutes away) that offers a wide variety of restaurant options such as mexican, chinese, italian, argentinian. ect. So as you could see, we take all of our guests´ requests and needs very seriously and we try to comply with them as much as we can.

It has been a peasure being of your service, thank you for choosing us and we will look forward to your next visit.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

After several visits to this property I find they are consistent with their service, friendliness of their staff who are always willing to go the extra mile. If there's a issue they are quick to respond in a timely manner. They have become my extended family!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Dear Charles M, thank you very much for writing such an amazing review.

There is nothing that makes us more proud than when we learn that our guests such as yourself get to see us as an extended family and see the hotel as a home away from home. It is also very rewarding to find out that our guests keep coming back to stay with us time and time again because it shows us that we are indeed doing everything right and how we are supposed to do it.

We reaally want to please our guests as much as we can because their satisfaction is the most important thing for us, not only as human beings but as a hotel concerned in providing our guests with the most comfortable and restful stay possible.

It is always a pleasure to have you with us and the entire team will look forward to your next visit.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
0.8 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
7.3 mi away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#11 of 78 in San Jose
1,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 27 in Alajuela
689 reviews
4 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 27 in Alajuela
890 reviews
1.8 mi away
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jo...
#1 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
1,826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport

Address: Hwy 1 Airport Blvd, Alajuela 20107, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Alajuela
#3 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#4 Family Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range: $109 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An airport hotel with everything you need...welcome to the Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San José - Airport. If you're looking for a hotel in the Central Valley, home of San José, Costa Rica’s capital city, look no further. Our Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton™ is the most conveniently located hotel in the area, just five minutes away from the International Airport, one block away from rental car return centers, and with easy access the Inter-American Highway (which transports you to beautiful beaches, national parks, and free trade areas). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites By Hilton San Jose Airport
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton San Jose Airport Hotel Alajuela
Hampton Inn Alajuela
Alajuela Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn San Jose
San Jose Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton San Jose Airport Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing