We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, Clean, and No Worries”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
Grapevine, United States
1 review
“Convenient, Clean, and No Worries”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Next to the airport, very clean with helpful staff. Many restaurants within safe walking distance - Security always visible. Excellent reservation system with no hassle check-in and out. Even late checkout was no problem. If you are renting a car, many name brands available across the street. Oh, also an excellent Casino next door if you are so inclined.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Charles F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Charles F, thanks for such an awesome review. We are delighted to learn that your stay with us was so great. It makes us very happy to know that everything was of your liking, specially the comfort of our rooms and our staff.
We take the comfort of our guests very seriously so we strive to provide them with everything they need so their stay with us can be an incredible experience and they can be sure that their total satisfaction will be guaranteed. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we thank you for choosing us.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    770
    454
    114
    17
    27
See reviews for
430
480
111
183
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The Villages, Florid
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Stayed here because it is extremely convenient to the San Jose airport and a couple of off-site car rentals. Driving in or out of the area is awful, but this location makes it less stressful. The total price (including 13% tax) of $152 for a standard room is not a bargain, but the amenities--ease of paying Costa Rican departure tax (although a few dollars more than at airport) the pool, fine breakfast, and location helps justify the room rate.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear James S, thank you for sharing your review. It is great that you liked our hotel so much and that you found our location so convenient. You could see that besides being less than a mile away from the airport, there are several car rentals across from the hotel´s parking lot, there are also some restaurants that even delivers the food right to your room if you don´t want to go out.

The main concern of our staff is the well being of our guests so by providing them with very comfortable accommodations, the best and most complete services available plus making them feel very welcome and surrounding them with the friendliest atmosphere we can make sure that their stay with us will be completely satisfying.

Thank you for choosing us, it has been a pleasure having you stay with us.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Over all the hotel was great and the shuttle was great to the airport. When checking in the guy was not as friendly as the rest of the staff during the stay. I like the the hotel and would use it again but hope that the man at the front desk is having a better day.

Room Tip: very close to the airport and some US restaurants with in walking distance. Rooms were great and ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fg2558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear fg2558, thank you for your review since it provides us with your feedback about your stay with us and the services we provide. We will like to apologize for the way the member of the staff treated you. It is not very often that shortcomings in the services our guests receive happens and you can rest assure that any problems we are made aware of are always dealt with as quickly as possible so they don´t happen again. We take the comfort and well being of our guests very seriously so we can guarantee that this will never happen again. Once again, we are very sorry about what happened and we will do the best to maintain the highest standards of services to all our guests.
On the other hand, we are very happy that you liked our hotel and the services provided by the rest of the staff because there is nothing we like more than to make our guests feel as comfortable and welcome as they can, that way they can feel as if they are right at home.
Thank you for staying with us, it was a real pleasure having you with us and we hope to see you back soon.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
66 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

We had the warmest reception in this hotel. Very close to airport, the rooms in this hotel are quite spacious. Also, the complimentary breakfast had a bit of variety to include local dishes. Internet connection in some rooms can be a problem. As is the norm in all Hampton Inn hotels, there is coffee available 24 hrs a day. One disappointing feature is the quality of "duvet". It was a bit lumpy. Since the weather was warm, we didn't have to use it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iyengars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear lyengars, thank you for such a wonderful review. It makes us feel great to know how good you felt with the way our staff made you feel and how much you liked our accommodations. It is very important for our staff to make our guests feel very welcome and to urround them with a super friendly and warm atmosphere so our guests know that they can depend on us for everything they need to make their stay a complete success.
We are very sorry to learn that you found your duvet lumpy, but you can be sure that your comments are going to be shared with our brands standard team so they can promptly resolve the issue.

Once again, it was a great pleasure to learn how much you liked the provided services, thank you for staying with us and the entire team looks forward to your next visit.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

I recently traveled to Costa Rica and the way my flights worked out, it was necessary for me to stay overnight in San Jose. The representative of my final destination resort recommended this hotel to me. It was perfect for an overnight stay! It is literally around the corner from the airport, which worked out well because my flight the next morning was very early. The breakfast has a lot of variety including typical Costa Rican, European and United States breakfast offerings. You can try gallo pinto, waffles, cereal, fresh fruits, eggs, French toast sticks, pastries, bagels and so on. For other meals, there is a 24-hr Denny's within walking distance. It's actually pretty good! There is also a little bodega in the hotel where you can purchase snacks and provisions.

Coffee is available 24 hours in the reception area. There is also whole fruit available as well (apples, oranges). My room was very clean and quiet. The staff was friendly and courteous. I did not use the exercise room or the pool, but they looked well kept.

They have free Wi-Fi, but I did not bring my computer and did not want to connect via my smartphone so I used the Internet in the business room. It has 2 computer stations that work very well. They also have free international calls, which was great for calling my family to let them know I arrived safely and not incurring any additional fees on my own phone.

One of the best perks of this hotel is that you can pay your departure tax here. Everyone has to pay a tax upon exiting the country. If you pay it at the hotel, you get your receipt and can avoid hours in line at the airport. I took advantage of this perk and was thankful when I left the country because the tax line that day looked horrendous. I was able to just go straight to my airline counter, check-in and be on my way.

I was on the 4th floor and did not have any problems sleeping even with proximity to the airport. So, if you have to stay overnight in San Jose due to a long layover or early morning connecting flight, I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FiveCityDweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear FiveCityDweller, thank you very much for sharing such an awesome and detailed review of your stay with us. It makes us extremely happy to learn of how satisfactory your stay with us was and how much you enjoyed it. Eventhough it is our job to provide our guests with everything they need and super comfortable accommodations, it is also our pleasure because we thrive on our guests´ happiness and well being. We want our guests to feel right at home, surrounded by a friendly and warm atmosphere with all the services they may want and need to make this one of the best hotel experiences possible.
It was great to learn how much you liked our complimentary breakfast because we carefully try to combine typical american dishes like pancakes or waffles with tropical fruits and national dishes such as the gallo pinto and fresh tortillas.
It was an honor and a complete pleasure having you stay here with us, we hope to see you again in the near future.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Stayed at the Hampton Inn our first and last night in San Jose. It is mere minutes from the airport and they have a free shuttle. The rooms are nice and clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful. If we make it back to San Jose we will be staying at the Hampton again. TIP: There are five rental car companies across the street from the Hampton -- Thrifty and Economy (I believe) and a handful of others.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Duane W, thank you for posting such a great review. It makes us very proud to learn that next time you visit the country you will definately be staying with us. Whenever our guests leave feeling so satisfied with our services, the entire staff feels that their mission was accomplished because we strive to provide you with the most comfortable accommodations and the best services possible. We are also very glad that our location was so convenient for you, not only because we are less than a mile away from the airport but also because there are some car rentals right across the parking lot and some restaurants that can even deliver your order to the hotel.
It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we hope to see you again back very soon.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We were very happy with our stay over at the Hampton before leaving in the morning. It was an easy trip to the airport. Confortable and right next to the airport. Good place to rest up waiting for your flight.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rfm117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Rfm117, we really appreciate the time you took to write this review. It is a great source of motivation for everyone at the hotel to know how great great your experience with us was. We notice how convenient our location was for you, since we are less than three minutes away from the airport; being so nearby gives our guests more time to rest before leaving to the airport. Here at the hotel, our main concern is to provide our guests with everything they need so their stay with us will be the most comfortable experience they can have..
Thank you for staying with us, it was a pleasure having you with us and we hope to see you back again soon.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
0.8 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
4.0 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 27 in Alajuela
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jo...
#1 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
1,728 reviews
3.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Caria...
#2 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
1,325 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#4 of 27 in Alajuela
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
Address: Hwy 1 Airport Blvd, Alajuela 20107, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Alajuela
#3 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#4 Family Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An airport hotel with everything you need...welcome to the Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San José - Airport. If you're looking for a hotel in the Central Valley, home of San José, Costa Rica’s capital city, look no further. Our Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton™ is the most conveniently located hotel in the area, just five minutes away from the International Airport, one block away from rental car return centers, and with easy access the Inter-American Highway (which transports you to beautiful beaches, national parks, and free trade areas). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites By Hilton San Jose Airport
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton San Jose Airport Hotel Alajuela
Hampton Inn Alajuela
Alajuela Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn San Jose
San Jose Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton San Jose Airport Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing