We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What A Great Hotel and Staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We spent the first night of our recent trip to Costa Rica at this hotel and it was better than many Hampton Inns I have stayed at in the states. First, when I arrived to find my luggage lock had jammed and I could not open my suitcase, the staff found a saw and a pair of pliers to help me cut it off. And this was after 8 pm when their maintenance guy had already left for the day. How great is that! Plus, my wife and I were celebrating our anniversary with this trip and we were met with complimentary wine and chocolates. Very sweet. Staff spoke English well and the rooms were very nice with no issues and the breakfast was better than most Hampton Inns. (The pineapple in particular in CR is amazing!) The place is also literally a 3 minute drive from the airport and they offer a free shuttle. So for late night arrival flights or early morning departures, it can't be beat!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4ontheroadMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear 4ontheroadM, first of all, let us congratulate you and your wife on your anniversary. It is very nice that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and that you found your room so clean and comfortable. Our staff is always trying to do everything in their power to make our guests feel very welcome and to help them in any way that they might need so it is very motivating when our guests take notice. We are also very glad that you liked our breakfast because we do try to cater to almost every taste and it makes us very happy that you and your wife did like it. Also, you notice of how convenient our location is, being less than 1 mile away from the airport, having some good restaurants and car rentals just across the parking lot; as a whole, the hotel strives to make our guests´ stay as smooth and relaxing as possible.
Our most sincere thanks for staying with us, and the entire team looks forward to welcoming you back. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,457)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

875 - 881 of 1,457 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

We had to pass one night due a home emergency... it was a terrific night! Very friendly staff we found, comfort beds, clean room.... hot breakfast was great, the Gallopinto and pupusas were excellent (just like home), cereals, fruits, yogurt, wafles were ok... I'd stay again in another home emergency...

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YannerAraya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear YannerAray, first of all, let me tell you that we are very sorry about your home emergency. On the other hand, we are super happy that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. We are very glad that you liked our complimentary breakfast so much and that you found our rooms so comfortable. Our staff really does work very hard in order to provide our guests with the highest quality of accommodations and services. To make all of our guests feel extra welcome, surrounded by friendliness and the certainty that they are indeed very welcome.
Thank you for choosing us and we hope that you come back again in the near future. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Stayed here for one night before our flight home the next morning. An excellent hotel at the San Jose Airport, the room was spacious and clean, beds were very comfortable, the staff was friendly and provided a take-away breakfast package for early flights that was so convenient . There were some resturants nearby you could walk to. A 10 minutes shutlle took us to the airport. Good for one night awaiting your flight and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reet02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear reet02, thank you for posting such a nice review. It is our main priority that our guests get the highest quality of services and accommodations available in order to ensure them an excellent and restful stay. We strive to maintain the strictest standards for providing them with an unforgettable hotel experience, that way, everytime they need a hotel, they can be sure that with us they will find everything they need in a hotel besides from being less than 5 minutes away from the airport which is a very convenient feature. Also, across the parking lot, there are some great restaurants ( Denny´s is open the 24 hours) and several car rentals. In all, we try to make everything easier for our guests, for them to have everything they need in just one place, and at the same time, provide them with comfortable and cozy rooms so they can get all the rest they need. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you back again soon. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

The only difference between this and the dozens of Hampton Inn's I have stayed at in the US was the friendlier staff and nicer breakfast area. Treat yourself to a meal across the street at Denny's before heading back into the jungle!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrianSix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Dear BrianSix, we appreciate you posting your review. It makes us feel very happy that you found our staff to be friendly and welcoming because besides providing our guests with a very comfortable room and all the services they might need, tthose are the things that make this hotel what it really is. We are always striving to provide our guests with everything they need whether it´s a toothbrush or reservations at a restaurant, we are there to make their stay with us the best hotel experience ever.
That way our guests will know that they can always count on us for everything they need. Thank you for staying with us, and the entire team hopes to see you again soon.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel over a dozen times in the past three years. It is always like coming home when we arrive. The employees are knowledgeable of the surrounding area and always help us with whatever we need. The breakfast is delicious and the rooms are so comfortable and peaceful. For those late afternoon and evening arrivals, this is the place to stay! In fact, we have actually stayed an additional night because it is a top notch hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Anita P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear Anita P, we are very happy to learn that you don´t feel as if you´re staying in a hotel whenever you stay with us. That is because we work very hard to try to make all our guests feel as if they are right at home, surrounded by a cozy and friendly atmosphere besides having a super comfortable room with every services that they need and more.
We also feel extremely proud when guests recognize how our staff is always going above and beyond in order to make their stay the best hotel experience ever. It is also very nice to know that you consider our breakfast delicious.
It has been great to have you as a guest and the entire team hopes to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed October 4, 2013

This hotel is a must stay especially if you are arriving late at night or have a early morning flight it is so close and they offer so many free extras. also they have a service where you can pay your departure tax so you don't have to wait in the long line at the airport.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear TripAdvisor Member, we appreciate that you took your time to write this review. We are very happy that you enjoy your stay with us, besides being so satisfied with the hotel´s location and the services we offer because our goal is to provide all our guests with the best services and accommodatios possible. Since we are less than 1 mile away from the airport, our guests are able to get extra time to rest before leaving to take their flight besides from being able to pay the departing tax right inside the hotel instead of having to stand in line to pay it at the airport.
Also, for those guests whose flights departs very early in the morning, we offer them our exclusive on the go breakfast so they can have something to eat when they get to the airport.
Thank you very much for choosing us and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Superb accommodations close to San Jose Int'l Airport. Arrived here on a fluke and discovered what will be my regular lodging on future trips to San Jose. Friendly, gracious staff who all speak English to perfection.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank William H W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Dear William H W, thank you for writing this wonderful review. We are very proud to learn of how pleased and satisfied you were with your stay. We always strive to provide our guests with the best services and accommodations available in order to make them feel as if they were right at home. Also, our staff goes above and beyond to make our guests feel welcome and surrounded by a friendly atmosphere.
Thank you for letting us be your hotel of choice from now on and the entire team looks forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
0.8 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
7.3 mi away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#12 of 78 in San Jose
1,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 27 in Alajuela
679 reviews
4.0 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 27 in Alajuela
881 reviews
3.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Caria...
#2 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
1,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport

Address: Hwy 1 Airport Blvd, Alajuela 20107, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Alajuela
#3 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#4 Family Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range: $103 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An airport hotel with everything you need...welcome to the Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San José - Airport. If you're looking for a hotel in the Central Valley, home of San José, Costa Rica’s capital city, look no further. Our Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton™ is the most conveniently located hotel in the area, just five minutes away from the International Airport, one block away from rental car return centers, and with easy access the Inter-American Highway (which transports you to beautiful beaches, national parks, and free trade areas). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites By Hilton San Jose Airport
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton San Jose Airport Hotel Alajuela
Hampton Inn Alajuela
Alajuela Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn San Jose
San Jose Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton San Jose Airport Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing