We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendliest staff on earth”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed here for the last 4 nights of a 2 week journey through Costa Rica. The staff was so friendly and courteous. They greeted us by name after a while. Anything we needed we got. Place is clean and very comfortable. Nice hot breakfast to boot! We were just looking for a place near the airport and didn't imagine such a nice place. Ask the staff for restaurant recommendations nearby. There is only a Denny's on the premises. They have free shuttle to and from the other restaurants.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Melinda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel C, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Dear . Melinda T

Thank you very much for staying with us at the Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton – San Jose Airport in Costa Rica and for the time you took to review our Trip Advisor profile. We are pleased to learn that you found our beds, rooms and staff friendliness satisfactory throughout your stay. In addition, we are really happy to know that you enjoyed our free shuttle to the International Airport. We are aware that every guest has a choice when traveling and we thank you for choosing our hotel.

Looking forward to your next stay,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,492)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

932 - 938 of 1,492 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2013

I like Hampton Inns. They are the single most predictable hotel brand regardless of where you are in the world. The San Jose Hampton Inn is no exception. Clean, polite, professional, competitive pricing, etc. And a great continental breakfast. The cons to my experience on this stay: the bed at this Hampton Inn was a little hard for my taste and the free wifi was on the slow side.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel C, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Dear. Mike F

Thank you very much for visiting our Trip Advisor profile and for commenting on your experience at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton, Costa Rica.

On behalf of management, we want to thank you for choosing our facilities during your stay in Costa Rica. We are happy to know that you had a good stay. Our staff always strives to offer you comfort and convenience. They are great at answering guests' questions, and if they do not know the answer, they look it up for you.

We thank you again for sharing your thoughts and look forward to serving your future travel needs.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

stayed here our last night in costa rica. it is definitely a typical american style hotel, not that that's a bad thing. the hotel is very clean and the staff went above and beyond. when we checked in, the workers at the counter were learning how to make balloon animals from the internet. they made my son a turtle and a sword, which he loved. their breakfast was very good. i always love the waffles at hampton inn. it was nice that they offer free international calls and free shuttle service to the airport. we went ahead and took advantage of paying our departure tax at the hotel to avoid any delays at the airport. I would definitely recommend this hampton inn.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank landfalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel C, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Dear. landfalia

Thank you very much for visiting our Trip Advisor profile and for commenting on your experience at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton, Costa Rica.

On behalf of management, we want to thank you for choosing our facilities during your stay in Costa Rica. We are happy to know that you had a good stay. Our staff always strives to offer you comfort and convenience. They are great at answering guests' questions, and if they do not know the answer, they look it up for you.

We are so glad your son and you liked animals balloon also the breakfast and waffles as well our free international calls and free shuttle service to the airport.

We thank you again for sharing your thoughts and look forward to serving your future travel needs.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

The rooms are average, clean and comfortable, but the staff was VERY helpful and gave great advice. We were very well taken care of. We felt safe and had a good nights sleep. The location is near the airport and the staff made sure we made it to the airport on time!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Suzi2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel C, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Dear. TripAdvisor Member

Thank you very much for visiting our Trip Advisor profile and for leaving us your comments about your experience at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton, Costa Rica.

On behalf of our staff, we want to thank you for choosing our facilities while you were in the country. We are happy to know that everything was convenient for your overnight stay.
We realize that every guest has a choice when traveling and thank you for choosing our Hampton Inn & Suites hotel.

We look forward to serving your future travel needs.
Sincerely,
____________________________

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Stranded in Costa Rica after a flight delay in Lima, we were grateful for the comfort and welcome at this hotel. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful after a frustrating day at the airport. Unfortunately we left before breakfast was served, but there were hot drinks and fruit available in the lobby.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Lee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel C, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Dear. Lee D

Thank you very much for visiting our Trip Advisor profile and for leaving us your comments about your experience at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton, Costa Rica.

On behalf of our staff, we want to thank you for choosing our facilities while you were in the country. We are happy to know that everything was convenient for your overnight stay.
We realize that every guest has a choice when traveling and thank you for choosing our Hampton Inn & Suites hotel.

We look forward to serving your future travel needs.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

very nice hotel and up to US standards for a 4 star hotel. Everything was clean, worked as it should and the staff was very helpful and efficient. I have stayed in this hotel several times and always had the same good experience.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Benjamin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel C, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Dear Mr. Benjamin H

Thank you very much for visiting our Trip Advisor profile and for leaving us your comments about your experience at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton, Costa Rica.

On behalf of our staff, we want to thank you for choosing our facilities while you were in the country. We are happy to know that everything was convenient for your overnight stay.
We realize that every guest has a choice when traveling and thank you for choosing our Hampton Inn & Suites hotel.

We look forward to serving your future travel needs.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

5 min from SJO and the shuttle bus was prompt even at 4:45 am. It's clean and breakfast was pretty good. As usual the kitchen workers were great but the front desk folks need to smile more and treat all the guests fairly whether they are white American/European or not. I could tell the demeanor and tone of voice changed when they were helping other cacasians and myself. I didn't have any issues but certainly could tell that they are not used to serve non-white, non-Spanish speaking people who don't come in a bunch with a tour bus.

We asked at the front desk while I was going out if they could call a restaurant for dinner and make a reservation because my cell phone didn't work in Costa Rica. They told me to go up stair to my room and make the call myself. I was going out for day trip early morning and the restaurant was obviously not open at 7:30am and I wasn't sure whether the calls were going to be charged with high fee. I just said forget it. I wasn't going to ruin my last day of our vacation for small thing.

Also we asked 2 times if we can get a doggie bag for breakfast on the day we check out since we need to take the shuttle to SJO at 5am. They said oh sure we'll either have them ready at the desk or can get you some if all are taken. The morning came, we came down to the front desk only to find out that, "so sorry. It's available starting at 5:30." Alright. No big deal. The shuttle bus came and we got on. There were about 8 people from other hotel whom were picked up prior to Hampton and they all had their hotel breakfast bag with coffee (cup had the hotel logo).

Also while were in the room, only spot (yes, one spot) that got any Wi-Fi signal was right in front of the bathroom door. if you move a feet away, you get poor signal. We got so much better Wi-Fi even in the jungle lodge in Arenal. This is unacceptable for a Hilton brand hotel that charged me over $120 per night and I am a Diamond Hilton HHonor member.

Go to either Holiday Inn Express (next door) or Tico own B&B unless you get a free room using Hhonor points or something.

Room Tip: you get a wonderful view of a parking lot no matter where you stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chookgoo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel C, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Dear. chookgoo7

Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know your thoughts and for using Trip Advisor survey. Our goal is to offer high value for your money by offering quality accommodations, friendly service and a clean and safe environment, on a consistent basis.

In our on line survey you were not satisfied with some of our services. When this happens, we need the help from people like you to let us know where we are not meeting our objectives. If somehow you can give me little more information or specific details, be assured that we are going to take the necessary steps to improve them, so you can help us to be a better place to stay for all of our visitors.

We wish to thank you again for providing feedback and for choosing our hotel. We apologize for any inconvenience that we may have caused you, and we hope that you give us a chance to serve you again in the future.


Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
0.8 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
1.8 mi away
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jo...
#1 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
1,854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#11 of 78 in San Jose
1,533 reviews
3.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Caria...
#2 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
1,426 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#19 of 27 in Alajuela
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport

Address: Hwy 1 Airport Blvd, Alajuela 20107, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Alajuela
#3 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#4 Family Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range: $105 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An airport hotel with everything you need...welcome to the Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San José - Airport. If you're looking for a hotel in the Central Valley, home of San José, Costa Rica’s capital city, look no further. Our Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton™ is the most conveniently located hotel in the area, just five minutes away from the International Airport, one block away from rental car return centers, and with easy access the Inter-American Highway (which transports you to beautiful beaches, national parks, and free trade areas). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites By Hilton San Jose Airport
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton San Jose Airport Hotel Alajuela
Hampton Inn Alajuela
Alajuela Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn San Jose
San Jose Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton San Jose Airport Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing