We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great place near the airport” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
“Great place near the airport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed here on the first and last night of our trip on a family vacation. Staff were helpful, pleasant and efficient. Breakfast was very good as well. Nice touch to have coffee and tea waiting along with a bowl of apples upon our arrival. Rooms were fine - internet service could be a bit better - also the free international calls is a plus! Shuttle to the airport in the morning was easy and without hassle. Overall a very positive experience and would stay there again.

P S Fitness center could use a little improvement

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fitness12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel C, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us at the Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton – San Jose Airport in Costa Rica and for the time you took to review our Trip Advisor profile. We are pleased to learn that you found our beds, rooms and staff friendliness satisfactory throughout your stay. In addition, we are really happy to know that you enjoyed our free shuttle to the International Airport. We are aware that every guest has a choice when traveling and we thank you for choosing our hotel.

Looking forward to your next stay,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    613
    373
    91
    11
    23
See reviews for
348
385
91
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We are well familiar with Hampton Hilton hotels but this one excelled compared to many others.
Was this one different? It had free coffee with a range of coffees, free fruit, free cookies, free internet, free local calls, free international calls and a free 24 hour shuttle service to the airport. It also has a small outside swimming pool which is most refreshing after flights in.
The added bonus was the staff were so pleasant – all of them!
The room was clean and adequate for our brief one night stopover. As the room included a fridge and microwave it would be ok as a base for a couple of days. It's location so close to the airport is really good and airport noise was not an issue.
As a one -night-stop at the start or conclusion of a trip this hotel can be recommended.

Room Tip: As the lift sounds are quite frequent and a bit noisy - move away from the elevators. Rooms at the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DrDWR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel C, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear. DrDWR

Thank you very much for staying with us at the Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton – San Jose Airport in Costa Rica and for the time you took to review our Trip Advisor profile. We are pleased to learn that you found our beds, rooms and staff friendliness satisfactory throughout your stay. In addition, we are really happy to know that you enjoyed our free shuttle to the International Airport. We are aware that every guest has a choice when traveling and we thank you for choosing our hotel.

Looking forward to your next stay,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, ct
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Stayed here 1 night with family upon arrival in San Jose (note: the airport is not in San Jose proper but in Alajuela; if you are looking at hotels, be aware that the city is not that close and that there can be a lot of traffic). They arranged connecting rooms. The hotel is as good as one could imagine a Hampton Inn being. This is not a Grand Hyatt, but everything is nice, new, and clean. Even the breakfast is ok. Staff very helpful. Shuttle waiting already when we exited baggage claim. Convenient to what appears to be all possible rental car companies. Took advantage of pre-paying the departure tax there when beginning 2-week vacation. For a stay before or after a flight, look no further.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank HAPPAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel C, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear. HAPPAH

Thank you very much for visiting our Trip Advisor profile and for leaving us your comments about your experience at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton, Costa Rica.

On behalf of our staff, we want to thank you for choosing our facilities while you were in the country. We are happy to know that everything was convenient for your overnight stay.
We realize that every guest has a choice when traveling and thank you for choosing our Hampton Inn & Suites hotel.
We look forward to serving your future travel needs.

Sincerely,
________________________
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Its too pricey. The staff are thieves. The local tico guests are even ruder than the staff which tell you everything. The only thing good about the place is its location to the airport...find somewhere else. That's my advice.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shamantiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maucrc, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear former guest,

We constantly strive to offer our guests value and good service, which is why we are really sorry to hear that you found our hotel overpriced and that during your stay we weren't able to meet your expectations. We are surprised to hear your comment about our staff and appreciate if you could send us further details. Please, contact us at dcubero@gmhis.net.

Best regards,

Daniel Cubero.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

It's okay but there are much newer options at the same or even lower pricepoint. If everything else is full go ahead and give it a try. Rooms are a bit dated, plain and worn around the edges. Great location near the airport but nothing else in particular to recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank costaricaguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed here on our first night & last night & both times were pretty good. No complaints. It's location is pretty good. There is a Denny's nearby & but we wanted traditional food and walked to a little resturaunt nearby that was really good.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DeeOl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I stayed at the Hampton for 1 night when leaving Costa Rica due to an early flight. I picked the hotel because they have a 24 hour shuttle, which runs 24 hours back and forth between the hotel and airport. When I arrived, I found that my bank had frozen my account and, as I spent hours calling them trying to get it figured out, the staff was so friendly to me and really showed they cared. One thing I was surprised about but delighted to find was that they make sack breakfasts for the customers who have to leave before breakfast to catch their flights, it was a very nice treat!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CNICHo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
0.8 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
4.0 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 30 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 stars 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Berlor Airport Inn
Berlor Airport Inn
#13 of 30 in Alajuela
4.0 of 5 stars 221 reviews
1.8 mi away
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jo...
#1 of 9 in San Antonio De Belen
4.5 of 5 stars 1,508 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#4 of 30 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 stars 588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
Address: Hwy 1 Airport Blvd, Alajuela 20107, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Alajuela
#3 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#4 Family Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An airport hotel with everything you need...welcome to the Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San José - Airport. If you're looking for a hotel in the Central Valley, home of San José, Costa Rica’s capital city, look no further. Our Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton™ is the most conveniently located hotel in the area, just five minutes away from the International Airport, one block away from rental car return centers, and with easy access the Inter-American Highway (which transports you to beautiful beaches, national parks, and free trade areas). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton San Jose Airport Hotel Alajuela
Hampton Inn And Suites By Hilton San Jose Airport
Hampton Inn Alajuela
Alajuela Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn San Jose
San Jose Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton San Jose Airport Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing