We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great last year, terrible this year” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
St Davids, Bermuda
Level Contributor
75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great last year, terrible this year”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Normally this is a nice spot to rest before an early flight out of San Jose but this year they decided to put us in a room directly opposite a party in the parking lot. We'd been up since 5am that morning making our way back to the city so at 4pm were unamused at the very loud music coming from just outside our room. When I called down to inquire how long this was to go on, they informed me it was not a party, just an ad company making a video and that it would be finished by 6pm. 6:30 I phoned again and was told yes it was a party and would be more like 10pm before the noise stopped. I then requested a room change which they were happy to do but neglected to tell me that they put us on the floor with all the guests of the party who rolled in between midnight and 2am being very loud and slamming doors. Having to get up at 5:30am for our flight, we were very unhappy about our experience. If anyone deserved the money back guarantee it was us.

Room Tip: If you see a party being set up outside your room...leave immediately!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bubblebuddies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maucrc, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Bubblebudies,

In the name of all our hotel staff we want to offer you our most sincerely apologies for the inconvenience cause to you during your stay. We appreciate your loyalty as a guest and we are terribly sorry for the troubles caused on your visit.

We really appreciate your comments as an opportunity to improve our service in every detail. I want to let you know that we are taking very seriously this review with our management team. Please feel free to contact us with more detail of your experience.

We want to thank you for your time sharing your comments via our Trip Advisor profile and for choosing us as part of your hotels selection in Costa Rica for the second time. We hope to have the opportunity in a very near future to change this last experience you had in your last visit.


Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,074 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    588
    363
    89
    11
    23
See reviews for
334
373
88
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is beautifully maintained with great amenities. It is conveniently located across the street from the rental car businesses and near the airport. The staff are very friendly and the service outstanding. We will stay here again next year when we come to visit Costa Rica.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KH59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maucrc, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Hello! KH59!

We appreciate you time visiting our Trip Advisor profie, your comments are a very important tool that give us the opportunity to improve our service in many ways.

The staff philosophy is that our hotel is our house, as you always keep your house as clean and comfortable as possible to your friends, we do the same to our guests. Thank you for your review regarding our convenient location and proximity to the airport.

It will be our pleasure to be part of your hotel selection in Costa Rica for the second time next year.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed at the Hampton Inn our last night in Costa Rica because of it's proximity to the airport. The hotel was nice, clean and the staff was very friendly. We walked over to the casino for some entertainment and then had dinner at Denny's. It was nice to have something we could walk to since we were just there for the night and didn't have a car. We had the continental breakfast in the morning which was good and then took the shuttle over to the airport in the morning which ran every 10-15 mins, it was very easy and convenient. Perfect for our purposes.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maucrc, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Sara M,

Warm greetings from Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton, Costa Rica.

Thank you for sharing your toughts with the travelers community true our Trip Advisor profile.
We are happy to hear from you and your experience at our hotel. We are glad to know that we filled your expenctations with nice clean rooms, good quality items for breaksfast and an efficient shuttle service to the airport 24 hours.

We know that when you were planning your trip you had different hotel options in our country and you trusted in our service. We thank you again for choosing us, it will be our pleasure to serve you future visits to Costa Rica.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed here after an evening arrival to the airport and the night before our early flight out. Super close and convenient location by the airport, they have a free shuttle. The staff was friendly and attentive. The rooms were clean (although one did have a slightly musty smell like it had not been used in some time) and quiet, we slept well. The continental breakfast was good- eggs, rice and beans, make your own waffles, yogurt, etc. Overall, really happy with our stay. Would recommend it if you have a late flight in or an early flight out.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthVan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maucrc, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Hello!
Thank you for giving us the opportunity to be part of you Costarican experience.

We appreciate your confidence choosing us as past of your hotel selection during your trip, we know how important your time is and that is the reason of why your feedback is a guide to to us.

We apologize for the situation related to your room and we will follow your comment in reference to this matter. We are glad to have had you with us and hope you will remember us and our convenient airport shuttle service and breakfast area.

We hope to have the opportunity to serve you in a near future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

It's just like a Hampton Inn in the US, but in better condition and with very good staff. No complaints other than the in room WiFi was close to non-functional.

It is very convenient for the airport, but really badly signposted. Just follow the signs for the Holiday Inn which is next door. The big problem is the price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chris_butler_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maucrc, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments via Trip Advisor.
We appreciate your toughts in reference to our facilities and staff. We will work on your review regarding our WiFi connection, internet service and singposts to make your next stay much more comfortable.

For us is a pleasure to be part of your hotels choise in Costa Rica. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you in the future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bailey, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed here the night of our arrival and the night before an early departure. The 2nd night I became very ill and it was scary to be sick in a foreign land and knowing I HAD to make my 7AM flight the next morning. The hotel staff - one person in particular (manager?) was incredibly helpful - she really went above and beyond - found an English speaking doctor to come to the hotel within about a half hour. One hour later I had been diagnosed, medicated, and in bed. Then, because most of our cash had been stolen the day before, she arranged for the doctor to be paid by the hotel and charged our credit card. Room was clean, beds very comfortable and breakfast much better than the usual free hotel breakfasts.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmmasMol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maucrc, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Costa Rica with the Trip Advisor community.

Our mail goal is to provide you with the best service, clean rooms, convenient location and facilities. We want you to make you feel more than a guest, we want to make you feel like a friend and part of our motivation is to go farder in every detail. We are happy to know that one of our co-workers made this possible calling the doctor and helping you in every moment and you never felt like in a foreing land, we hope that everything went fine flying back home.

We will share your review with all the staff and we stand by the opportunity to be part of your hotel selection in future trips to our country.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAY SHORE
Level Contributor
151 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We arrived in CR @ 8:30 PM, and by the time we had collected our luggage & gone through customs, it was just ideal to get on the Hampton Inn shuttle. We were in our quiet, immaculate room by 9;30 PM and had a great night's sleep on their comfortable bed. We woke up refreshed and ready to tackle the dicey drive to Los Suenos in daylight. The breakfast was excellent.
Suggestion: supply shower caps
PS charging $2 dollars for a can of coke is obscene!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WordlyTraveler44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maucrc, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Thank you for sharing your toughts via Trip Advisor!
We understand that after a flight and customs the only thing you want is to arrive to the hotel as soon as possible. That is the reason why our main goal is to provide you with an efficient shuttle service, clean rooms and comfortable bed during your visit.

We appreciate your comment regarding our breakfast, we hope you enjoyed our hot breakfast area as well as a friendly service. We will follow your recommendation related with the shower caps ans suite shop. Thank you again for your review, this give us the opportunity to give our best everyday.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
0.8 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
0.8 mi away
Berlor Airport Inn
Berlor Airport Inn
#15 of 30 in Alajuela
4.0 of 5 stars 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#2 of 30 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 stars 575 reviews
1.8 mi away
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jo...
#1 of 9 in San Antonio De Belen
4.5 of 5 stars 1,454 reviews
4.0 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 30 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 stars 701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
Address: Hwy 1 Airport Blvd, Alajuela 1017, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Alajuela
#3 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#4 Family Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An airport hotel with everything you need...welcome to the Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San José - Airport. If you're looking for a hotel in the Central Valley, home of San José, Costa Rica’s capital city, look no further. Our Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton™ is the most conveniently located hotel in the area, just five minutes away from the International Airport, one block away from rental car return centers, and with easy access the Inter-American Highway (which transports you to beautiful beaches, national parks, and free trade areas). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Cancelon, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton San Jose Airport Hotel Alajuela
Hampton Inn And Suites By Hilton San Jose Airport
Hampton Inn Alajuela
Alajuela Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn San Jose
San Jose Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton San Jose Airport Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing