We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great one night stop over” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great one night stop over”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

The location is super close to the airport, staff extremely helpful, food choices are limited, but a awesome little to go breakfast if you leave before six a.m. Nice overnight stop on way to the pacific resorts.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ltropea13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maucrc, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Hello!
Warm greetings from the Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton family, Costa Rica.

We want to thank you for making us part of your hotel selection in our country. We appreciate your time visiting our Trip Advisor profile. It is always a pleasure to know about your comments regarding our breakfast to go, clean rooms and service.

We are glad to know that we were an strategic point during your visit to our country.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    663
    383
    94
    11
    25
See reviews for
361
403
97
162
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Tennessee
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Room is nice, new bedding. Staff is friendly. Advice: do not recommed using the hotel taxi service, rates are 40-200% more than local services. Took hotel taxi to Walmart - 3mil colonies; return trip with local taxi - 1 mil colonies; hotel taxi to dinner - 15 mil colonies; return trip with local taxi - 8700 mil colonies.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cecilia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maucrc, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thank you for the time visiting our TripAdvisor profile.
For us your feedback is very important, our main goal is to give you the best services and facilities always in every visit.

Regarding your comments of the taxi service, we are located in Plaza Aeropuerto. The taxi company work directly with the owners of the Plaza. We are not related with that company, however I will extend your thoughs.

Thank you again for sharing your review. We hope to have the opportunity to be part of your hotel selection in the future.


Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslum
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Very pleasant stay at the Hampton Inn and Suites San Jose Airport. Very friendly and welcoming staff, nice room, excellent breakfast. Very close to Juan Santamaria airport and in the area with all car rental agencies.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerok72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maucrc, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Hello!
Thank you choosing Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton, Costa Rica.
We appreciate your time visiting out TripAdvisor profile.

We are glad to know that our clean rooms, friendly staff and breakfast area filled your expectations. Our close location from Santamaria Airport and the car rental agencias can be very helpful and easy to access.

We stand by the opportunity to be your hotel in your next trip to our country.


Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
146 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

This hotel is extremely close to the airport, has a shuttle pick-up at the airport and was very clean, with spacious rooms. Perfect for our family of five and the great hot complimentary breakfast was just absolute icing on the cake. We would highly recommend this hotel, with the only proviso being that there is not much else close to the hotel but car rental places.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ace65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maucrc, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you very much for choosing us as your hotel during your visit to our country.

For us is very important the perception from our guests and your review give us an opportunity to improve our service. Our main goal is to give you and your family a confortable stay, clean rooms, a good breakfast and an efficient suttle service to the airport. And we are happy to know that you and your family had a great time at Hampton.

We appreciate your comments, and hope to have the opportunity to be your hotel in future trips to Costa Rica.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BLACKSTONE,MA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

this is a great strating point for a trip to costa rica, close to airport free shuttle. reasonable rates. full breakfast some car rentals in same parking lot. security is good and rooms are clean. staff is very friendly. close to dennys and walmart

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KITKAT60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maucrc, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for your comments.


It always a pleasure to receive good reviews from our guests.
We are more than happy to know that me made your stay easier with our service, clean rooms, shuttle and location.

Thank you for your time visiting our TripAdvisor profile. We look forward to the opportunity to be your hotel in your next trip to Costa Rica.


Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here in Early December before flying out to another location in the morning. We have stayed at some of the more Costa Rican (and cheaper!) hotels in San Jose in the past and found that the convenience of the Hampton Inn, not having to take a taxi ride into the city, etc outweighed the cost savings.

As others have said, the hotel is nice- just like a Hampton Inn in the US. The shuttle was right outside the door, check in was easy, and the room was clean. Beds were comfortable and the AC worked great. We worked out and the gym is very small but they have very modern elliptical fitness equipment and I was pretty surprised by that. There is a mini-fridge which is nice since and they have a little gift shop which sells the usual items found but also sells beer- it was nice to have a cold Imperial! Breakfast was very good- they were renovating the lobby and breakfast was back in a conference room but still good nonetheless.

We walked over to the casino for dinner and the little sports bar there has pretty decent food. Their happy hour is 2 for 1 drinks, but they didn't really give you that deal until you asked- fortunately I heard another table say something about it and they didn't charge us for the next round- so be careful with that.

Overall a good stay at the Hampton and would definately stay here again as we pass thru SJO.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Balvenie14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maucrc, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for choosing Hampton Inn & Suites as your hotel during your trip to Costa Rica.
We appreciate your time visiting our TripAdvisor profile.

We are glad to know that our facilities, clean rooms and fitness area made a confortable stay during your trip. Since your last visit we improved our lobby, dinning room and social areas.

We look forward to have the opportunity to be your hotel in your future visits to our country.


Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is located close SJO airport and as such it offers all you need before/after a flight - clean rooms, comfortable bed, free international calls, good breakfast, free tranportation to and from the airport, business center, free wireless WiFi and most important - friendly and kind staff willing to help in any situation or question. Very good value for your money. Highly recommended as a starting/end point for your trip in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roydadon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maucrc, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for your comments!

We really appreciate the opportunity of being part of your hotels selection during your visit to Costa Rica.

Our pririority is to offer you clean rooms, good service and a confortable stay. We are happy to know that our international free phone calls and shuttle service to the Santamaria Airport was convenient.

The staff is always in the best disposition to help and clear all your questions. Your feedback encourage us to give always the best service and facilities.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
0.8 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
4.0 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 30 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 30 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
1.8 mi away
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jo...
#1 of 9 in San Antonio De Belen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
0.8 mi away
Berlor Airport Inn
Berlor Airport Inn
#14 of 30 in Alajuela
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
Address: Hwy 1 Airport Blvd, Alajuela 20107, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Alajuela
#3 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#4 Family Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An airport hotel with everything you need...welcome to the Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San José - Airport. If you're looking for a hotel in the Central Valley, home of San José, Costa Rica’s capital city, look no further. Our Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton™ is the most conveniently located hotel in the area, just five minutes away from the International Airport, one block away from rental car return centers, and with easy access the Inter-American Highway (which transports you to beautiful beaches, national parks, and free trade areas). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton San Jose Airport Hotel Alajuela
Hampton Inn And Suites By Hilton San Jose Airport
Hampton Inn Alajuela
Alajuela Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn San Jose
San Jose Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton San Jose Airport Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing