We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for your money! Kind staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is located close SJO airport and as such it offers all you need before/after a flight - clean rooms, comfortable bed, free international calls, good breakfast, free tranportation to and from the airport, business center, free wireless WiFi and most important - friendly and kind staff willing to help in any situation or question. Very good value for your money. Highly recommended as a starting/end point for your trip in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roydadon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maucrc, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Thank you for your comments!

We really appreciate the opportunity of being part of your hotels selection during your visit to Costa Rica.

Our pririority is to offer you clean rooms, good service and a confortable stay. We are happy to know that our international free phone calls and shuttle service to the Santamaria Airport was convenient.

The staff is always in the best disposition to help and clear all your questions. Your feedback encourage us to give always the best service and facilities.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,434)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

984 - 990 of 1,434 reviews

Reviewed December 25, 2012

Convenient and comfortable stay. Prompt pickup by shuttle. Quick check-in. Hilton Gold premiums in room. Bed was comfortable. Room was clean. Breakfast was good and in a pleasant lounge. All in all an very positive experience. Would definitely stay here again. Two suggestions: stronger wi-fi signal (kept going out) and, on your web site, indicate where the hotel shuttle will stop - it was a bit disturbing to have to walk a gauntlet of taxi drivers and we weren't sure where to stand for the hotel shuttle. Luckily we found someone to direct us and the shuttle arrived just then, but it was a little scary.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank knitsafghans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maucrc, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Thank you for sharing your thoughs true our Trip Advisor profile.
We appreciate your loyalty and for us your feedback is very important to be constantly improving our service.

I am glad to know that from the shuttle to the room you had a good experience in every aspect of your stay at Hampton Inn. As a very important comment we will work on the wi-fi signal, about where to find our shuttle service it is difficult to give an specific meeting poin because the police officers regulate the transit at the arrivals gate. That is the reason why our shuttle arrives every 10-15 minutes to the airport.

For us is a pleasure to be part of your hotel selection in Costa Rica. We stand by the opportunity to serve you in the future.

Best regads,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

This is a good venue for a stay before or after a long international flight. As noted in other reviews, the rooms are clean and comfortable and located close to the international airport, with a free airport shuttle.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Daniel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maucrc, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Hello Daniel L!

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to know that our clean rooms and locations
were practical and convenient during your stay. Our main goal is to give you always the best service.

Thank you again for your comment.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

We stayed for only one night here, but when our flight was delayed for five hours out of DFW, the staff waited with my wife, who was already there and waiting for me and my two sons to arrive and made a special shuttle trip to get us. After 9 hours in an airport and another three hours on a plane, that kindness was not wasted on us.

The hotel is tidy and provides a big breakfast of eggs, cereals, sausage, waffles, fruit and some if the best coffee on the planet. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maucrc, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Thank you for you time visiting our TripAvisor profile.

Here at Hampton we understand the needs of our guests and we encourage our team to give the best service in every detail. Thank you for your comments related with our breakfast area, part of our commitment is to provide you and your family with quality items and fresh local products.

We are looking forward to the opportuniy to serve your next visit to Costa Rica.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We flew in at 9PM and stayed at Hampton's overnight before taking off in a car to three destinations. I'be stayed here once before and it's as clean and efficient as I remember it. Everything is spotless and the staff very friendly. The morning breakfast which is included has lots of choices and is perfect for a quick morning bite, I think the eating area has been redone it looks new. The bed and pillows were a bit hard for our liking but that was the sole negative. None the less I'd stay here for a night again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Summit4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maucrc, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2012

Dear Summit 4321,

Greetings from Hampton Inn & Suites staff.

Thank you for your visit to our TripAdvisor profile. Your feedback is very important for the entire staff, this give us the opportunity to improve in every detail.

We are happy to know you found convenient our location and facilities. Thank you again for your review. We look forward to be your hotel in next visit to Costa Rica.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We stayed two nights, arrival and night before departure home.
What we liked:
Frequent free shuttle service to and from airport-every 10-15 minutes. Hotel 5 minutes from the airport.
Generous breakfast complete with hot food items and fresh fruit. Staff kept buffet service area very clean.
Breakfast bag to go for those with early flights, beginning at 530am.
Nice to have refrigerator and microwave in the rooms
Comfy beds, nice linens
Free wifi in the guest rooms and free use of computers in business center
What we didn't like
No restaurant on site. Two nearby options within walking distance leave alot to be desired. We chose Denny's and paid over $30 for 2 chicken sandwiches and two diet cokes. Mediocre food, high prices. The chicken restaurant close by looked like modified fast food but we didn't dine there.
Need better communication regarding Costa Rica departure tax. There is a kiosk inside the hotel selling this for $32 per person, but if you purchase at the airport it is $28. The $4 service fee per person seems a bit much. Very easy and fast to purchase at the airport, even with a line. They prefer US$, but will accept colones.
Would we stay again? Absolutely. Unless there is a reason to stay in San Jose it is much easier to find your way out of town from this area.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ernieLoomisCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maucrc, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2012

Dear ernieLoomisCa,

Warm greetings from Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Costa Rica!

We want to thank you for your visit to our TripAdvisors profile. We are happy to know that we were a nice part of your trip in Costa Rica. Our main goal is to provide you with clean rooms, complemented with a friendly service and facilites. It always important to receive feedback from our guests, that give us the chance to improve everyday.

We hope to have the opportuty to help you in your future stays in Costa Rica.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We needed a place to stay after getting in late in San Jose and taking an internal flight from Sansa early the next morning. Inexpensive, clean, great complimentary breakfast, and very quick and frequent airport shuttle. Couldn't have been better for what we needed it to be.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MayCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
0.8 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
7.3 mi away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#12 of 77 in San Jose
1,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jo...
#1 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
1,792 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 27 in Alajuela
673 reviews
4.0 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 27 in Alajuela
870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport

Address: Hwy 1 Airport Blvd, Alajuela 20107, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Alajuela
#3 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#4 Family Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range: $102 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An airport hotel with everything you need...welcome to the Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San José - Airport. If you're looking for a hotel in the Central Valley, home of San José, Costa Rica’s capital city, look no further. Our Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton™ is the most conveniently located hotel in the area, just five minutes away from the International Airport, one block away from rental car return centers, and with easy access the Inter-American Highway (which transports you to beautiful beaches, national parks, and free trade areas). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites By Hilton San Jose Airport
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton San Jose Airport Hotel Alajuela
Hampton Inn Alajuela
Alajuela Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn San Jose
San Jose Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton San Jose Airport Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing