We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple and efficient but still nice and comfortable place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
Bay Shore, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Simple and efficient but still nice and comfortable place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I try this one because of it is located near the airport. Clean rooms, nice people and service. The price is a little high for a B&B type hotel. There is a couple of restaurants near by. Don't expect to see a fancy restaurant inside. I'll book this hotel again next time I visit San Jose.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GMOL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maucrc, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear GMOL,

Warm greetings from Costa Rica!

It is great to hear that you had a first class stay with us!
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. For us is very important to offer your clean rooms and a friendly service in every visit.

We look foward to be part of your next trip to our country!

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,073 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    588
    362
    89
    11
    23
See reviews for
334
373
88
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
240 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

My wife and I arrived to get some of the SIBU chocolatewith no intention of staying. We met with Gustavo who made us feel welcome and like we had stayed there before, like we were returning guests. My wife bought all of the choclate but needed more so Gustavo promised he would work on getting us more. We felt so welcomed and it was sincere, we stayed and were happy that we did. We got a studio, free wifi and a good breakfast with the rate. Room was large, shower was great and they have face towels. Bed a very comfortable with great sheets.
Every staff person we met in the halls or wherever we were greeted with the typical Tican kindness and cheerful greeting. Who ever trained the staff did a great job. What you can't train is sincerety and enthusiasm, which we got from every staff person. Never mind the hotel brand name, how much you pay or how many stars the hotels has, it somes down to the service and the staff. This hotel has it. Best stay in two weeks in Costa Rica, no doubt. Like the other posts state, it is far away from other things but the staff will organize a way to get you there.
We stayed because of Gustavo and Henry at reception. They went above and beyond to make our stay enjoyable, so much so we cancelled our second night downtown to return our last night.

The night staff did not seem to be as friendly, or engaging. At checkout we couldn't even find the reception guy but we were good to go anyway. Over all a great stay.
Good job Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bulldogtwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maucrc, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear bulldogtwo:

Hola!
First of all we are happy to know that we helped you to get the SIBU chocolate bars!
Gustavo our receptionist was very concern from the very start and he told the A.G.M. to help you with this special request.

Also we are glad to know that you were looking for chocolates and at the end you stayed with us. Its our main goal to offer you comfortable clean rooms and a good service in all our facilities. Thank you again for your comments.

I gave your greetins and feedback to Gustavo, Henry and all our staff. In the name of every department in the hotel we thank you and we wish the opportunity to serve you in a future trip to Costa Rica.

Best regads,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle, washington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

My husband and I stayed here the night before our early morning flight. The staff was very friendly and great customer service.

FYI...aside from a casino, a Rosti Pollo, and Denny's, there is nowhere to go within walking distance. So you need a car or taxi if you plan to do any sight seeing. The hotel will help arrange this.

The shuttles run 24 hours and arrive every 15 minutes or so. This was really convenient and made it simple to get to the airport the next day.

You get free breakfast, which included a good variety of items to choose from (eggs, bacon, "make your own waffles", fruit, cereal, coffee, tea ...)

And get this....you get free international calling from your room. Yes, that's right......free international calling!!! This really came in handy for us because while we were there, a small earthquake occured. We were easily able to call family/friends back home to advise we were alright.

The rooms were very comfortable and clean. Wifi worked well in the room. It is exactly what you would expect a Hampton Inn to be.

Overall, this is the perfect hotel for your stay either once arriving or departing out of San Jose.

Room Tip: Pick the 3rd floor and a room away from the elevator for reduced noise. We were in room 320 which wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bossychihuahua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maucrc, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear bossychihuahua:

Hello! Greetings from Hampton Inn & Suites Costa Rica!

Thank you for taking time to visit our Tripadvisor profile and sharing your comments. I am glad to know that our location, shuttle service and complementary breakfast made much more easier your next day flight.

Also I am happy to know that you were able to communicate with your family and friends after the small earthquake true our free international calls facility . All the staff was in the best disposition to help during the emergency.

We appreciate your comments because they give us the opportunity to improve our service every day.


Thank you again for giving us the opportunity to share with your last night in Costa Rica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Short business stay, good hotel overall, no room service due to size, but very comfortable, right across the airport, only drawback is you need a cab to go find a local place to eat and need one to get back obviously, so you have to hire one to either drop you off and come back for you, or ask them to wait for you. You need to also get a cab to cross into the airport. Nice if you are in and out, but if you are heading to San Jose, then this is not the place to stay, as it is quite a way from the city. Overall, good place. Breakfast is included and all good. Smoking allowed, good thing for us that smoke.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tiredreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maucrc, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Hello tiredreamer!

Thank you very much for leaving your comments about your experience at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Costa Rica and for visiting our profile.

We are happy to know that our location was convenient for your trip as well as our breakfast area and facilities.

The staff will always do the best to ensure you have a comfortable perfect stay. In addition let me inform you that have no longer smoking rooms available, since September 2012 because of the new Costa Rican legislation for smoke free public areas.

We are looking forward to your next stay, we would love to have you here again.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

After two weeks of traveling all over Costa Rica, we stayed here the night before our early morning flight. The staff were incredibly friendly and helped explain how the early morning shuttle (runs every 15 minutes or so) ran, and how the departure tax worked. To make this even easier, and for a small fee, they will coordinate the Costa Rica departure tax for you right at the hotel, saving you precious time and confusion once you arrive at the airport. This was priceless and allowed us to sleep another 30 minutes, while avoiding any headaches at the airport.

The rooms were very comfortable and clean, and the on-site business center with internet access was a nice bonus to be able to check online for a few things once we arrived.

The location is very close to the airport, and like anything around the airport--the roads and routes are a bit odd. Regardless, this wasn't an issue.

Overall, this is the perfect hotel for your stay either once arriving or departing.

--Justin S

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maucrc, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Justin S,

Warm greetings from the Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton family, Costa Rica!

It is always a pleasure to hear good comments from our guests. We are happy to know that we were part of your great experience in our country. I am going to share your comments with all the staff.

Thank you again for your time visiting our Trip Advisor profile. We are looking forward to your next stay, we would love to have you here again.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland, Maryland
Level Contributor
222 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

If you get in very late or leave early this is a great option. Hotel is a typical Hampton Motel with decent breakfast and good Internet connection. No restaurant but there is a Denny's and Rostipollo (rotisserie chicken) franchises across the parking lot. However if you use this hotel as your base for meetings in San Jose, travel times into town in the morning and late afternoon could be over an hour long and US$30 each way.

Room Tip: Ask for miny suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MonGourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maucrc, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Mon Gourmet,

Thank you very much for visiting our Trip advisor profile and for leaving your comments about your experience at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton, Costa Rica.

I am glad to know that your stay at Hampton Inn Costa Rica was pleasent. We are happy to know that you found a good service in our breakfast and internet facilities. It is our main goal to make you feel as comfortable as possible.

This kind of reviews encourage us to work harder everyday.


Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rusk, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Great room, all amenities one would expect in the USA. Caters to Americans and serves a very good breakfast, Has shuttle to airport 24 hours a day and runs every 15 minutes or so. On-site departure tax location costs an additional 4 dollars but may be worth it in high season. We didn't avail ourselves of the service since we were leaving before the office opened (it opens at 7 a.m.). Be sure to get a free "to-go snack" when you check out. It has water, a piece of fruit and a Otis Spunkmeyer muffin. Also, be sure to eat it all before you get to the plane, since they search you in the Jetway and take your water away from you. This has nothing to do with the hotel, it's just a warning to fellow travelers.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maucrc, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Dear Doug I !
Warm greetings from Costa Rica.

Thank you very much for leaving your comments about your experience at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Costa Rica and for visiting our profile.

We are happy to know that our location was convenient for your trip and that you enjoyed our breakfast and shuttle service. It is always a pleasure giving you the best.


We are looking forward to your next stay, we would love to have you here again.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
0.8 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
0.8 mi away
Berlor Airport Inn
Berlor Airport Inn
#15 of 30 in Alajuela
4.0 of 5 stars 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#2 of 30 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 stars 575 reviews
1.8 mi away
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jo...
#1 of 9 in San Antonio De Belen
4.5 of 5 stars 1,454 reviews
4.0 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 30 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 stars 701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
Address: Hwy 1 Airport Blvd, Alajuela 1017, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Alajuela
#3 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#4 Family Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An airport hotel with everything you need...welcome to the Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San José - Airport. If you're looking for a hotel in the Central Valley, home of San José, Costa Rica’s capital city, look no further. Our Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton™ is the most conveniently located hotel in the area, just five minutes away from the International Airport, one block away from rental car return centers, and with easy access the Inter-American Highway (which transports you to beautiful beaches, national parks, and free trade areas). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Despegar.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton San Jose Airport Hotel Alajuela
Hampton Inn And Suites By Hilton San Jose Airport
Hampton Inn Alajuela
Alajuela Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn San Jose
San Jose Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton San Jose Airport Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing