We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel near the airport - very friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good hotel near the airport - very friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

I stayed at the Hampton Inn & Suites for a total of four nights, 3 at the start of my trip and one at the end. When I arrived the airline had lost my baggage with all my clothes and wash kit. The hotel provided all the essentials so I could at least shower and clean my teeth when I arrived.

The hotel is quiet and the staff are all happy, friendly and helpful.

Breakfast - good, but some days the hot part could have been a bit better quality.

Onlt downside is that there are very limited services near by, no local shops in walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank divingmikeCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maucrc, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Dear divingmikeCambridge,

We really appreciate you took the time to share with the world your experience during your visit to Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton, Costa Rica. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed the comfort of our rooms and service.

We are going to give additional attention to your comments about breakfast area. This kind of information help us always to improve our service.

Thank you again for your comments. We are looking forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

The Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,099 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    606
    368
    91
    11
    23
See reviews for
346
380
89
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

This was a welcome rest after touring the country for 10 days. We were welcomed at the front desk with no problems. The staff was friendly and personable and asked about our visit to the country. The room was comfortable and clean. Good quality continental breakfast in the morning with lots of variety. Reasonable rates and free shuttle to the airport every 15 minutes. A perfect place to land before going home the next morning.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaloAltobaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maucrc, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Hello! PaloAltobaby!

Thank you very much for leaving your comments about your experience at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Costa Rica. We are happy to know that our location was convienient for your trip and that you enjoyed our quality and services. I am going to extend your commets to our staff members.

We are looking forward to your next stay, we would love to have you here again.

Sincerely,

The Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton – Costa Rica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We arrived in San Jose after flying for almost 24 hours. Check in was speedy (thank you) room was more than adequate, very comfortable, big and plenty of space. Room had a desk too.

All staff were friendly, free breakfast was more than adequate

Thank you.

Room Tip: No noise detected in our room, however, too tired to notice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank inca186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maucrc, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Dear inca186338.

I am happy to hear that we exceeded your expectations providing you a good and efficient service.
Thank you for your comments about our rooms quality and standards.

We are looking forward to your next stay.

The Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

If you are arriving late or leaving early from San Jose airport in Costa Rica, this hotel is almost right across the street and very convenient. The shuttle runs 24 hours a day every 10 or 15 minutes. There is delicious coffee and fruit available at all times in the lobby. The rooms are pretty much like any other Hampton Inn in the States. The front desk was very welcoming when we arrived. We paid about $160 with taxes for a room with two double beds, which is a little pricey, but the location is prime. You can't get closer to the airport and the hotel is also very close to many car rental places.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MangoMama11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maucrc, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Hello! MangoMama11!

It is always a pleasure to hear comments from our guests.
I am happy to know that we made you feel as comfortable as possible during your visit to Costa Rica. I am going to give your comments to our lobby and breakfast staff members.

Thank you for your comments. We are looking forward to your next visit.

Hampton Inn, Costa Rica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Like most travelers, we stayed at the Hampton Inn the night before leaving Costa Rica. The hotel staff was very helpful and friendly. I was impressed with the room size. We had a double queen bed room and there was plenty of space for all the luggage. There was even a large desk to setup a laptop and read emails.

The room included A/C, flat screen TV, small refrigerator, a microwave, and the other usual items. We left too early to get the breakfast but they have coffee, tea, and fruit 24/7. The coffee was very good and I was happy to enjoy three Granadillas before leaving Costa Rica. Check them out if you've never had one -- they had the usual apple and oranges, too.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JSuar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maucrc, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Dear Ms JSuar.

Thank you very much for visiting our Trip advisor profile and for leaving your comments about your experience at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton, Costa Rica.

I am glad to know that your stay at Hampton Inn Costa Rica was pleasent. We are happy to know that you found our staff friendly and helpful. It is our main goal to make you feel as comfortable as possible.

Thank you for your comments about breakfast area. This kind our reviews encourage us to work harder everyday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We stayed here on our first night in Costa Rica. The airport transportation is good. We stayed our first night and then took a tour to Tortuguero. They allowed us to leave some of our luggage until we returned, which was extremely helpful. We stayed a second night after our tour. Very normal Hampton Inn, nothing fancy but with all the comforts of a regular, American Hampton Inn. They claim to have free long-distance calling, but we never could get it to work. It wasn't a big deal, just a little bit of a bummer. Overall, nice, clean hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sky13-99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Dear Sky13-99,

Thank you very much for visiting our Trip advisor profile and for leaving your comments about your experience at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton, Costa Rica.

I am really happy to know that we could help you with your bags while you were enjoying the beauty of our country, in reference to the free International phone calls it is a shame you did not have the option of using this service, I do not know what could had happened however we will check it out.

We realize that every guest has a choice when traveling and we thank you for making Hampton Inn & Suites your choice.

We look forward to the opportunity to serve your future travel needs.

Sincerely,

The Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant, Michigan
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed here on our last night to be near the airport. We had spent the previous 9 days on the coast and although I loved it there it was so nice to get to a Hampton Inn. It happened to be the 4th of July when we checked in, and they played a little game where you could win prizes. It was one of the nicest Hampton Inns I've been to, and the staff was very helpful. Our room was large, and the bed was great. It was very clean, and we did make a few free international calls. We asked at the desk where we could get a good Costa Rican dinner, and they gave some good suggestions, then called the free shuttle to take us there. They also told us to call when we finished and they would pick us up. I would definately stay here again. We left too early to try their breakfast, but did get the sack breakfast, which was fruit, a muffin, and some kind of breakfast bar. The only negative was that there weren't really any shops or attractions nearby, or within walking distance, but it was a great place to just relax and get ready to leave.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank toni07grantmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Dear toni07grantmi,

Thank you very much for leaving your comments about your experience at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Costa Rica and for visiting our profile.

We are happy to know that our location was convenient for your trip and that you enjoyed our shuttle and the unlimited international phone call service.

The staff will always do the best to ensure you have a comfortable perfect stay. They are great answering any question you may have, and if they do not know the answer they will look it up for you.

We are looking forward to your next stay, we would love to have you here again.

Sincerely,

The Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton – Costa Rica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
0.8 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
0.8 mi away
Berlor Airport Inn
Berlor Airport Inn
#13 of 30 in Alajuela
4.0 of 5 stars 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#4 of 30 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 stars 582 reviews
1.8 mi away
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jo...
#1 of 9 in San Antonio De Belen
4.5 of 5 stars 1,480 reviews
4.0 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 30 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 stars 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
Address: Hwy 1 Airport Blvd, Alajuela 20107, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Alajuela
#3 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#4 Family Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An airport hotel with everything you need...welcome to the Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San José - Airport. If you're looking for a hotel in the Central Valley, home of San José, Costa Rica’s capital city, look no further. Our Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton™ is the most conveniently located hotel in the area, just five minutes away from the International Airport, one block away from rental car return centers, and with easy access the Inter-American Highway (which transports you to beautiful beaches, national parks, and free trade areas). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton San Jose Airport Hotel Alajuela
Hampton Inn And Suites By Hilton San Jose Airport
Hampton Inn Alajuela
Alajuela Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn San Jose
San Jose Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton San Jose Airport Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing