We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would Stay Here Again!”
Review of Hotel Buena Vista

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Buena Vista
Ranked #5 of 27 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
Surprise, Arizona
1 review
“Would Stay Here Again!”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

My experience with Hotel Buena Vista went beyond my expectations. The accommodations, service, food, and staff were all excellent. The staff made it a point to make us feel welcomed and special. They went beyond their "job description" and had no problem doing extras or something special to meet our needs. One of the best hotel staffs I've ever come across.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    374
    216
    60
    17
    7
See reviews for
238
271
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Paul,MN
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

We were able to book our room two days ahead online. The entrance has a security gate and guard house. The hotel from the exterior is beautiful with very nice landscaping. Sufficient parking spaces for our rental car. Check in went smoothly and the staff was very helpful getting us situated. Our room was spacious for the four of us. Two queen beds and one single bed. The hotel was
built in 1998 and doesn't show signs of wear. Our room was clean and had a small balcony overlooking the pool area. We also had a limited view of San Jose in the
valley below. There are rooms available with a better view of the city but we were happy. As you walk through the pool area there are several chairs lined up on the lawn to take in the scenery of the city below. The coffee trail is well done with signs explaining the different plants. We all enjoyed our dinner selections at the restaurant on site. They offer a wide variety of dishes at a reasonable price. The complimentary breakfast was a nice selection of breads, a plate of cheese and fruit.
The hotel is a short distance to the Doka coffee plantation and a scenic drive to Poas volcano and the La Paz water garden.
They allowed us to store our luggage while we traveled for the day.
I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ponsib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooksville, Florida
1 review
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Friends and I had the delightful experience of staying at the Hotel Buena Vista before our return flight to the USA. Everything about the hotel was impressive, from the architecture to the landscaping to the beautifully appointed rooms. All the people we dealt with were friendly,helpful and eager to make our stay a pleasant one.We met a gentleman the evening of our arrival who helped us with the menu selection. The next day we discovered that he was the owner. You would never have guessed that from his understated manner. We also found out that his employees think very highly of him. That says a lot to me. We had two meals while we were there - dinner and breakfast.Both were excellent. I thoroughly enjoyed the delectable fruit dish served with cinnamon rolls, banana bread and toast along with coffee and juice. How's that for a complimentary breakfast? We very much appreciated the shuttle ride to the airport.My only regret is that we didn't have more time to enjoy the serenity and beauty of this jewel in the mountains.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill, Florida
1 review
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We were only able to stay one night at Hotel Buena Vista, as it was at the end of our visit to Playa Zancudo and we needed to be near the airport for an early flight home. But this was a "gem" to find in the mountain landscape of Alajuela! We found it to be a quiet retreat with a charming atmosphere. The grounds are beautiful with gorgeous flowers and a "Coffee Walk" that highlights its' production in Costa Rica. Service was attentive and personable. Mr. Pratt made a special effort to meet and greet his guests and see to it that we were comfortable. Desk attendants helped us confirm that our flight was on time and get in touch with family members by using the computer facilities. We celebrated a birthday dinner in the restaurant and enjoyed a lovely meal. The complimentary breakfast before we left in the morning was a scruptious portion of fresh fruit and bread, breakfast breads and cinnamon rolls served to us, not a buffet. Nicely done, Hotel Buena Vista!

Room Tip: The rooms facing the valley have an excellent view even on the first floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FLtraveler142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boone, Iowa
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We arrived after 00:30 and was greeted by the security guard. He was friendly & helpful. We ordered breakfast, nothing to exciting. And then explored the grounds which were beautiful. The owner did visit with us as we are waiting for a driver to take us to the car rental place @ 9:00. It was a nice place. It seemed that we were just another customer to the front desk & restaurant staff but our driver was nice.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ritajane04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 20, 2014

We stayed here for two nights at the end of our visit to Costa Rica. The villas were really gorgeous and offered wonderful views. The grounds are amazing. The pool is small (and there's no shallow end for kiddos), but the plants and flowers everywhere create an idyllic atmosphere.

We did a day tour to Poas Volcano and La Paz Waterfall gardens with one of the hotel guides. I thought the price of the tour would include the price of admission to these two attractions but it did not. So it made for a much more expensive day than we had planned. But we had a great guide - Coco. He took us to the best lunch spot on the way back to the hotel and was such a friendly guy. And the drive to/from the attractions is flat out stunning.

The restaurant was ok. Nothing extravagant. But the portions are huge and they have quite a variety of offerings so you'll find something you like. We had a super early flight in the a.m. and the hotel did pack us a breakfast to go, which was a nice treat at 4 o'clock in the morning.

I'd definitely stay here again. It's the perfect spot to start or end your trip to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SPowell2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviewed March 20, 2014

We had been in CR for a week and staying on the pacific coast, but had an early flight out and needed something in close proximity to the airport. We found Hotel Buena vista to be clean, very nice and the staff went above and beyond to make sure we enjoyed our last couple days. We took the drive (an easy drive) up to Poas volcano as well. Our flight was at 6:00 am so the hotel arranged for their shuttle to pick us up early, and even made us breakfast to take with us on the way to the airport. Honestly, I couldn't have asked for more. Bonus...if you have rented a vehicle in SJO they will usually allow you to return the car and then shuttle you to the hotel for an early flight.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
0.8 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 27 in Alajuela
833 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#4 of 27 in Alajuela
658 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Tacacori EcoLodge
Tacacori EcoLodge
#8 of 27 in Alajuela
363 reviews
3.8 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
10.4 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 7 in Heredia
1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Buena Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Buena Vista

Property: Hotel Buena Vista
Address: Across from catholic church, Pilas, Alajuela, Alajuela 4050, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Alajuela
#7 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Buena Vista 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The comment ofter heard in this hotel is, "We feel like we are at home." This is exactly the impression the management and staff of the Buena Vista strive to create. We are high on the summit of a mountain with a climate of eternal spring yet only fifteen minutes drive from the International Airport below. We will pick you up there and show you the wonders of this exotic country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Buena Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buena Vista Hotel
Buena Vista Alajuela
Hotel Buena Vista Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing