We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice boutique hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Buena Vista

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Buena Vista
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Very nice boutique hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

Hotel was beautiful and very clean with very helpful staff. Views looking towards San Jose were amazing. Everyone that worked at the hotel were very friendly. Good choice if you need to be close to San Jose area.

Rooms were good with very comfortable beds. Hotel grounds were very nice. Had a short coffee trail that made for a good walk. Breakfast fruit plate which was included was very good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lchjeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    357
    208
    56
    17
    6
See reviews for
228
260
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

I could go on and on about this hotel but I am going to try to keep it as short as possible. Simply said, my family and I planned to stay in this hotel for one night and we ended up staying for 10! We spent our entire trip here!

The staff at Buena vista hotel are so friendly and always have a smile on their faces. They are more than accommodating and do whatever they can to ensure that your stay will be amazing. By the end of our trip, we left knowing that we made friends for life, and some who we began to call familia. My family does not speak Spanish and this was not a hurdle for us whatsoever. Most staff speak both Spanish and English.

The layout of the hotel is so beautiful and there is a coffee trail in the back as well as a pool and an area to just lay out and take in the amazing view. There is also plenty of fresh fruit that grows in the back that is free for you to pick whenever you like. The hotel is located on a mountain which is about 10 minutes from the city, Alajuela, 15 minutes from the airport and about 30 minutes from the Capital, San Jose. There is also free shuttle service back and forth from the hotel to the airport. Although the hotel is in the mountain, the hotel has plenty of great activities and destinations that can be arranged for you.

From the manager to cleaning staff, cooks, and front desk clerks, and drivers, everyone is equally pleasant and friendly...and everyone is willing to help in any way!

When we return to Costa Rica, we will absolutely make sure to stay at this hotel. I recommend the hotel to all, even if you only decide to stay for one night. It's a great place to stay when first arriving and/or right before leaving Costa Rica.

I guarantee that you will leave with a great experience and wanting to come back.

Good luck, and have an amazing time in Costa Rica!

-Erica

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tvonchale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Rica
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

We chose Hotel Buena Vista upon a recommendation from friends. We were certainly not disappointed. The property is a lovely oasis in the city. Huge bougainvillea edge the courtyard of this colonial style hotel. Beautiful views of San Jose and surrounding areas are on the other side. Take a walk on the coffee trail for an education and to enjoy the views. The rooms are very spacious and comfortable--just like home. The staff was VERY accommodating, helpful and friendly (but not too knowledgeable of the immediate area). We enjoyed great conversations with them during our meals and at the small bar. The food is good, but not fancy. Once again, just like home. The continental breakfast (included) was really a fantastic way to start the day. The chicken cordon bleu and the beef stroganoff were delicious for dinner. The people-watching is also top notch (and lots of fun)!

The location of this hotel is OPTIMAL. We chose this hotel specifically because of its proximity to the airport in San Jose (but you don't feel like you're anywhere near the airport). Free shuttle service is available upon request from this hotel. It's a 20-30 minute ride from the front door of the hotel to the airport check in. We enjoyed it so much at the beginning of our trip that we decided to also end our trip here. This place can be difficult to find.There are more than a few "Hotel Buena Vista / Buena Vista Hotel." So, whether you are driving, or being driven, make sure that you can ask for directions. We found it helpful to stress that THIS Hotel Buena Vista is in Alajuela (and have the phone number with you).

Don't waste your money staying anywhere else if you're flying into or out of San Jose.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front, with the gorgeous balconies, are wonderful. They can be a little noisy with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank see-cr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Hills, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

Stayed here the first night and last night of our 10 day trip. We arrived at 11:30 pm and the city lights view from our room were breathtaking! Woke up and walked the grounds which are beautifully manicured with a trail of coffee beans and all. Did I mention how comfortable the beds were.... The complimentary breakfast was delicious also, fresh fruit with an assortment of Danish/breads. We would stay here again if flying into San Jose, it's a perfect hotel for a good nights sleep close enough to the airport but far enough away as we'll....enjoy!

Room Tip: Upstairs for the views!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelean F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

We booked this reservation last minute because we didn't know our plans in advance. What a nice place! The manager upgraded us from the standard room to the deluxe, remodeled room because there was a lot of vacancy. It was absolutely beautifully decorated and it gave us ideas for our bathroom remodeling project. The grounds of the hotel are stunning, with a beautiful view of the city below. We walked the coffee trail and swam in the pool. Breakfast was delicious and the staff was very friendly and courteous. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monjen123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandston, Virginia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

i cannot say enough good things about our experience here. We stayed two nights, when we first arrived and then in the middle of our 16 days in CR. Hotel Buena Vista became our home base for transport, money exchange, good easy meals, doing laundry, and figuring out issues with our rental car. These friendly folks excel in getting it done, whatever you need. The rooms are lovely. the staff so kindly indulged my efforts to speak Spanish. if you would like to be taken care of in the Alejuela area, this is your place. The free airport pickup and transfers are just the beginning.....

Room Tip: ask for one of the newly renovated ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swampgal123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciudad Colon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

I stayed at the hotel Buena Vista in October 2012 with my wife. The property is beautiful with a lot of options for guests stay. We had a private villa separate from the main hotel. First class all the way. Comfortable beds, nice bathroom, and a wonderful balcony overlooking the local coffee fields. The hotel offered several outings whether it was the volcano for the day or to the beach. I would definitely recommend this hotel if you are gonna be around the san jose area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beachcruzer10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
0.8 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Villa San Ignacio
Villa San Ignacio
#9 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
3.8 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
0.6 mi away
Tacacori EcoLodge
Tacacori EcoLodge
#8 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Buena Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Buena Vista

Property: Hotel Buena Vista
Address: Across from catholic church, Pilas, Alajuela, Alajuela 4050, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Alajuela
#7 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Buena Vista 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The comment ofter heard in this hotel is, "We feel like we are at home." This is exactly the impression the management and staff of the Buena Vista strive to create. We are high on the summit of a mountain with a climate of eternal spring yet only fifteen minutes drive from the International Airport below. We will pick you up there and show you the wonders of this exotic country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Buena Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buena Vista Hotel
Buena Vista Alajuela
Hotel Buena Vista Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing