We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Awesome service, little far away from SJO airport.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Buena Vista

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Buena Vista
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Awesome service, little far away from SJO airport.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Hotel Buena Vista is an excellent hotel with really awesome service. Their restaurant closes at 9 pm, but since my flight was arriving at 9:30 pm, they sent their menu card with the shuttle driver so I could order my dinner and have it ready as soon as I checked in. I have never experienced this kind of personal service. The hotel is clean, and the staff is very friendly. We had two rooms with balconies that overlooked their garden and had a mangnificient view of the city. Breakfast was nice (bread and fruits), but we had to order other entrees to really have a filling breakfast.

The only downside might be that the hotel is around 20 mins drive from SJO airport, but it didn't matter to us since we were using this as a base to drive to Poas volcano and La Paz Waterfall Gardens before driving to Arenal.

I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dukkar D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    188
    50
    16
    5
See reviews for
210
233
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The staff was extraordinarily kind and gracious after Budget gave away our car - making calls for us and finding us another car. The grounds are well maintained and lovely. Our room was spotless. We arrived after midnight, but they were expecting us and everything went smoothly. I only bought the standard plan, but wish I'd upgraded to either a room with a balcony or a villa - worth it.
Can't say enough about how helpful and accommodating the staff was. Decent parking on grounds and adequate signage to hotel. Would cheerfully stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
49 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

After we arrived into the San Jose airport they had a shuttle come in to pick us up. This place was booked through a travel agent. I can't say I would have thought to stay in Alejuela if I was planning my own trip.

All in all this place was good find. The beds are comfortable and the rooms are clean. The room we got I think was a newly remodeled one b/c it doesn't look like the pictures. Another perk - the travel agent arranged for us to have our rental car brought to the hotel which saved us about 2 hours of unnecessary detours. The costa rican company "Mapache" offers this kind of service that I don't think Alamo and enterprise do

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Komal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Hotel Buena Vista is a great hotel from which to explore the area surrounding San Jose (such as Volcan Poas, mountain towns, river rafting, etc.) . It's also about 15 minutes from San Jose airport and the hotel offers FREE mini van pickups and drop-offs. Views from the hotel are magnificent - you can see the entire valley of San Jose. We stayed in a "villa" which was spacious and well decorated. The owner is an incredibly nice American who has been coming to Costa Rica since the 60's. His father owned the hotel and retired. The staff is just the nicest you can find.
Downsides: small pool. San Jose doesn't have a lot to offer.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Clean, well managed. The staff always friendly and helpful. We stayed three times, using it as a base as we travelled around Costa Rica; we had the same room each time, and we could store our luggage for free between trips. There were good at sorting travel to and from the airport and other destinations.

We were recommended local attractions (coffee plantation tour - very good! After a few coffee and coffee liquor tastings too many we were a bit giggly all evening!) The pool is small but clean and warm, with a gorgeous view out across the countryside! We bemused the staff by swimming in the middle of tropical downpour - then rescued us with a couple of tequilas, "you might be needing these" as we walked through the streaming rain to the hatch at the bar...

The food was Costa Rican touristy - but good.

Very good place to stay!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed at the Buena Vista hotel for two nights, after a two-week trip in Costa Rica. The owner upgraded are room to one of the newly renovated and decorated rooms. The new room was beautiful! In the upcoming months, all rooms will be upgraded. The owner showed much interest in his guests and made the whole stay extremely pleasant, thanks to the high level of personal service and assistance. Highly advisable!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mirakelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We started/ended our trip in Costa Rica at this beautiful hotel. As soon as we checked in, we felt right at home. We stayed in a villa the first night. The place was amazing! From the owner, these were new additions to the property. We had a wonderful view of San Jose From the balcony and the very spacious room was a treat! On our return we stayed in a 2nd floor room (24) with a great balcony to have a cocktail on! The staff were able to make accommodations for us to continue on to the caribbean! ON our return to the hotel, they arranged a trip to Poas volcano, La Paz waterfall gardens, and Doka coffee plantation. Make sure to stop by the hotel bar and grab a BMW from Harlem!

The best thing about our stay was the hotel staff and owner!!! Thank you so much Lee, Harlem, Darwin, and Kenneth! You guys were a real treat and took care of our every need!

A very special thanks to Harlem. Thank you for the great cocktails and many laughs! We look forward to seeing you again...Pura Vida!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
0.8 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 30 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 stars 728 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tacacori EcoLodge
Tacacori EcoLodge
#5 of 30 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 stars 339 reviews
4.2 mi away
Villa San Ignacio
Villa San Ignacio
#9 of 30 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 stars 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#7 of 30 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 stars 590 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
8.3 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 9 in Heredia
5.0 of 5 stars 1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Buena Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Buena Vista

Property: Hotel Buena Vista
Address: Across from catholic church, Pilas, Alajuela, Alajuela 4050, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Alajuela
#7 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Buena Vista 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The comment ofter heard in this hotel is, "We feel like we are at home." This is exactly the impression the management and staff of the Buena Vista strive to create. We are high on the summit of a mountain with a climate of eternal spring yet only fifteen minutes drive from the International Airport below. We will pick you up there and show you the wonders of this exotic country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Buena Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buena Vista Hotel
Buena Vista Alajuela
Hotel Buena Vista Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing