We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last day in San Jose August 2012”
Review of Hotel Buena Vista

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Buena Vista
Ranked #4 of 27 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Last day in San Jose August 2012”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

What a great place to relax and get some rest before heading back to the States! After a week on the Osa, our family of four was tired and ready to go home, but rushing to the airport the day before would have been torturous. Buena Vista was the perfect place to rest, and get some energy for the long trip home. If we return, we'll request one of the new bungalows nestled down the hill. And, the staff was perfect to us! We really need to give a special thanks to Darwin, who served us at dinner our last night, and then drove us to the airport the next morning. He was very patient with our awful Spanish, he loved practicing his English, and we could easily tell how much he loved his home country and San Jose. Darwin, we hope you can get your trip to the States someday soon!

Room Tip: Request one of the new bungalows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rabdesigns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    220
    60
    17
    7
See reviews for
240
275
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

In June, my family of five stayed in one of the hotel's new villas overnight after we first arrived in Costa Rica. The villa was beautifully appointed and immaculate, the view of the valley was quite lovely, the breakfast was simple but satisfying and most of all, the staff was extremely friendly, kind and attentive to our needs. The only reason I didn't give five stars is that there was some confusion about pick-up at the airport when we arrived. We were told to look for someone with a sign for the hotel outside the arrivals gate but perhaps because it was very early in the morning, no one was there and it took awhile before the shuttle arrived. Other than this, however, our experience at the hotel was excellent and I recommend it as a good place to relax for the first or last night in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cambridge2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We had a flight back to the states early in the morning and we could have booked a room close to the airport along with all the business travelers in a "could-be-anywhere" hotel. But, we decided to enjoy the services of a "close to the airport" hotel in a hotel that is about 25 minutes up the hill in the coffee plantations. They offer free transportation to the airport, breakfast, lunch and dinner. They have a wonderful view of the city which can be seen from the hotel and the short stroll through the coffee plantation.
I highly recommend this hotel as a home base or first/last place before you head onto other locations. The staff is friendly and accommodating.
With that said, the hotel is not really within walking distance to any great restaurants or general “action”. It is in the hills with a great view in a relaxing setting!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the Villas because there were 6 of us. We had to stay in one room but it was bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tom s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

The staff was fabulous, very friendly and knowledgeable. Coco was our patient and friendly driver to the La Paz Waterfall park. He also shuttled us to and from the airport. The first night we stayed in the older rooms, but they happily changed our reservation to the remodeled rooms for the next 2 nights. Breakfast was awesome! The fruit, muffins and coffee with hot milk was very good. I loved the intimate feeling, the staff knew us by name. We will stay there again on our next trip to Costa Rica!

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a remodeled room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zuly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keller, Texas, United States
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Our tour group stayed the night for our first and final days of our two-week tour. The first night was problematic for some people in our group, but they seemed to be able to iron out the problems, eventually. Our room was the first one from the office and dining room, so we got a LOT of noise on a night we had to go to be early (and be at the airport at 5:30 a.m.), so that was a bit of a nuisance. But by and large, it is a nice place for a peaceful view of the mountains with a great cup of coffee and unwind before hitting the road. As with all the other hotels we experienced, the beds are less than stellar, but who cares?! You're in Costa Rica!

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms with the balcony overlooking the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KaylaP385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Hotel staff was very attentive. The hotel was clean and well maintained. They are a bit off the beaten path - up on a ridge in Alajuela - but have a shuttle service to and from the airport. It was a good way to start or end a holiday. You are, however, pretty much stranded once you're there. Their dinners were good. Breakfast is included.

Some other traveler comments here complained their shower nozzle made noise. Mine did too; so what. If that's all there is to complain about, you're just looking for something to complain about.

Room Tip: The "Coffee Trail" out back was fun. It's a short walk with signposts and flowers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug_Doodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We have just spent 3 nights at the Buena Vista hotel, which was excellent in every way. The hotel is set in a garden in the coffee plantation area in the hills above Alajuela. It is quiet, has lovely views across to San Jose and the temperature is perfect. The rooms and bathrooms are immaculate; everything, including the beds, is of a very high standard. We were upgraded to the junior suite with an enormous sun deck for the first night, which was a lovely start to our holiday, but our standard room was also excellent. Also, there was no noise from adjoining rooms.

The restaurant serves extremely good, reasonably priced, food. Breakfast is a beautifully presented plate of mixed fruits, toast and jam, fruit juice and coffee. It is possible to eat either in the dining room or outside by the adjacent pool area. The pool area is surrounded by flowers and looks through to the garden.

The hotel has a well stocked and keenly priced gift shop, which we used in preference to other shops that we saw in other locations.

The hotel's complimentary shuttles to and from the airport and connecting with the Interbus shuttle, worked smoothly. We also did the Poas Volcano/La Paz waterfall and gardens tour with the hotel, followed by an excellent lunch at a restaurant recommended by our driver/guide Coco.

The entire staff of the hotel, more of a team because it is very much a family concern with several members of families employed there, could not be more friendly and helpful. Our stay was perfect and I highly recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent but the rooms facing San Jose have a wonderful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelanieRF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
0.8 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 27 in Alajuela
845 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 27 in Alajuela
662 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
0.7 mi away
Tacacori EcoLodge
Tacacori EcoLodge
#8 of 27 in Alajuela
364 reviews
4.2 mi away
Villa San Ignacio
Villa San Ignacio
#9 of 27 in Alajuela
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Buena Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Buena Vista

Property: Hotel Buena Vista
Address: Across from catholic church, Pilas, Alajuela, Alajuela 4050, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Alajuela
#7 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Buena Vista 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The comment ofter heard in this hotel is, "We feel like we are at home." This is exactly the impression the management and staff of the Buena Vista strive to create. We are high on the summit of a mountain with a climate of eternal spring yet only fifteen minutes drive from the International Airport below. We will pick you up there and show you the wonders of this exotic country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Buena Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buena Vista Hotel
Buena Vista Alajuela
Hotel Buena Vista Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing