We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good overnighter for next day flight”
Review of Casa Marin B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alajuela
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Marin B&B
Ranked #5 of 63 Alajuela B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 28, 2014

A very nice place to stay when arriving or leaving CR. Close to the airport and central Alajuela. Jody was very nice host and she even took us to restaurant on our last night giving us a tour of the town and her observations of living in CR as an expat. The breakfast in the morning was excellent. She took us on the morning of our flight to fill up our gas tank in our rental at the closest gas station. Highly recommend for a place to stay in the San Jose/airport area.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toddscan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (114)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 114 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2014

Like many other reviewers, we stayed at Casa Marin for one night before our flight home. We had spent almost two weeks in Costa Rica on our honeymon.

We needed something simple, cheap and quiet and this met all those, plus the added bonus of the friendly and helpful Jody.

Jody had already said she would be able to take us to the airport in the morning, so I arranged for the car rental company to pick our car up from the B&B. Jody knows the company I used and was able to give them a call when I got there.

Although we had time to pop into Alajuela, which was about a 10-minute drive and is a pretty nice town. If you want to go out and do stuff you're going to need a car, as Casa Marin is in a pretty sparse residential area. Although Jody will probably help you arrange travel if you need it. It's not the easiest thing to find either, the sat nav needed a couple of goes.

Breakfast was tasty, the room was spotless and we left happy and refreshed for our flight. Just what we needed.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We planned a trip in Costa Rica to both coasts and the central mountains. We wanted to fly to Manuel Antonio NP and take a tour to Tortuguera NP and then drive through the mountains. We used Casa Marin as our base. They picked us up at the airport when we arrived, dropped us off the next morning for our flight to Manuel Antonio, picked us up again when we came back to stay another night before joining the tour to Tortuguera and welcomed us a third time when we showed up with our rental car. The fourth night was our last night in CR and they took us to the airport for our flight home the next day. All that was just the logistics of the trip and it was flawless. The best part was getting to know them and enjoying sharing stories of our trip and our lives. Jody and Wilson are great people to know and it was a pleasure to spend the several evenings with them. Jody's directions were also better than the GPS, so that is another reason to stay with them. She also served the best breakfasts we had in Costa Rica.

Room Tip: There are two big rooms by the pool downstairs. We stayed in Dolphin. The other one looks just as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kurt_in_CLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

We stayed at Casa Marin for one night at the end of our trip. Casa Marin itself was simply beautiful. We stayed in 3 different places in lodging costing in the low $100s; Casa Marin was both the least expensive and by far the nicest place we stayed. Whoever did their tile and finish work really knew what they were doing. The rooms are large, beautifully outfitted, beds are comfortable, sinks are custom hand-painted, the pool and landscaping is beautiful. It really feels luxurious there. The two rooms are each in their own separate small building, ensuring privacy. The location is very convenient, near the airport and also near some other small shops and restaurants.
We had an unusual experience there-- we had quite a trip getting to Casa Marin, and by the time we got there my husband was very ill; he had actually briefly passed out in the van on the way. Jody was incredibly accommodating, getting us situated, going to the store to buy crackers and gatorade for us, making me lunch (I hadn't eaten all day). It was so comforting to sit and talk to her over lunch, she's worked as a nurse and made me feel a lot better about what had happened, and I felt like we were in really good hands. The next morning she sent us off to the airport with a bag breakfast and a hug. I am sure you will have a less exciting trip to CR than we did, but it's nice to know, in the event something does happen, Jody will be there for you. We obviously didn't have the time or energy to do much 'fun' stuff while we were there, but I'm sure Jody will bring the same energy and care to helping you plan dinners, tours, etc. I can't recommend this Casa more highly.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenfr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Casa Marin at the end of our 25 days trip in Costa Rica for one night. It was a perfect ending of our trip. Jody was an awesome host. Excellent communications prior to our stay via email. Gave us the perfect directions on how to get to her house. After checking in she offered to help us in finding a car wash for our rental. We followed her to the car wash, then to the gas station, then to Budget rental for us to return our rental car, all during rush hour. She waited for us patiently and then drove us to a nearby restaurant for dinner. She even sat with us at the restaurant and did our ordering in Spanish :) We chatted and exchange stories and by the time we got back to the house few hours later we felt that we have known here forever.
We stayed at the Dolphin room, very clean and spacious and tastefully furnished and decorated. Too bad that we only stayed for one night, we would love to swim in their very inviting pool and maybe spend more time visiting with Jody.
Our flight was for 8 the following morning. Jody made us coffee @ 5 then made us a care package for breakfast and drove us to the airport at 5:40. She showed us where to line up to pay the exit tax. After checking in we opened our care package and were thrilled to see warm quiche, cheese pastry, fruit bread, yoghurt and boxed juices. The food lasted us all the way to Seattle, since we are not big eaters.
Thanks a million Jody for taking such a good care of us during our brief stay at your casa. You are such a warm and nurturing person. We are looking forward to our next stay, next year hopefully.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coco-nut59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Casa Marin was the perfect place to stay the night before we left Costa Rica! Jody picked us up at the bus station and took us to dinner at a friendly restaurant in Alajuela - this took a lot of guess work out of our tiring last night in the country.

Casa Marin itself was a great place to stay! The room was spacious and comfortable. But the best part of our stay came in the morning. We sat by the pool and read while Jody brought out a delicious home-cooked breakfast: yogurt, freshly baked mango bread, eggs, tea and coffee. While we ate, little birds zipped just over the pool for a drink of water! When we were ready, Jody drove us to the airport.

Really, it couldn't have been a more pleasant and easy last night and morning! If you're flying into Costa Rica, or about to fly out, this is a fantastic place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

This being my second trip to Costa Rica, I met Jody the first time when she picked my sister and me up at our hotel. (We didn't know about her B&B then). She and her driver drove us to LaFortuna for our stay at the Treehouses hotel. Very kind and helpful. This trip we brought some of our family (there were 8 of us) and definitely wanted to stay there. On the last day before we flew out, we drove from Manuel Antonio to the B&B. Relying on the GPS, we ended up at the end of a street some distance away. A kind gentleman that owned the Yoga center where we were parked called Jody and she came to us and led us to the B&B. After 7 days of non-stop adventures, it was so nice to just relax. This place is just amazing! It is like a little bit of paradise in the middle of a bustling city. We didn't want to go out, so Jody ordered pizzas for our group. We had 3 teenagers so that went over big. We visited with Jody for a long while that evening. The next morning she led us to the airport at 4:00 am and showed us where to park our 2 rental cars. We had such a wonderful time in Costa Rica and this was the perfect ending. If and when we return, this is where we will be staying. We can't recommend it enough. You will not be disappointed! We thought it was better than any hotel we have stayed in. Thanks Jody and Wilson for everything!

Room Tip: Both cabinas are great. Steps to the pool, clean and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nannjud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
0.0 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 27 in Alajuela
881 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 27 in Alajuela
679 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tacacori EcoLodge
Tacacori EcoLodge
#8 of 27 in Alajuela
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Pacande
Hotel Pacande
#2 of 63 in Alajuela
188 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pura Vida Hotel
Pura Vida Hotel
#1 of 63 in Alajuela
775 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Marin B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Marin B&B

Address: Calle La Loma | Less than 10 min from San Jose Costa Rica airport, Alajuela, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Alajuela
Price Range: $20 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Marin B&B is located less than 10 minutes from the San Jose, SJO, airport. We are in Alajuela and are central to the volcanos, coffee plantations, waterfalls, botantical gardens and other tourist favorites. Casa Marin B&B is located in a tranquil, rural area of Alajuela, yet convenient to restaurants and shopping. We offer two poolside cabinas, one especially for couples, the other for a family of six. Casa Marin B&B is only an hour and a half from the Pacific Beach, two hours from La Fortuna and Volcano Arenal. We want the best possible vacation for our guests and are knowledgeable about hotels and tours in many areas of the country. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Marin B&B Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing