We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredible food experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Denny's

Denny's
Ranked #12 of 177 Restaurants in Alajuela
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Los restaurantes Denny's ofrecen un ambiente casual y un menú variado servido 24 horas al día. Denny’s es conocido por sus desayunos servidos a toda hora, incluyendo el popular Original Grand Slam Breakfast®. El menú de Denny’s también incluye una variedad de platillos especiales, opciones con pollo, carne, pescado y mariscos, hamburguesas, ensaladas y postres.
Alajuela, Alajuela, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Incredible food experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

I tried the turkey as Thanksgiving dinner and it was amazing, the food delicious, the plate so big, and excellent service. The price is a bit high but it is OK according to what you received.

Helpful?
Thank MarcelaSoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    127
    144
    41
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Ana, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Always know what to expect at Denny's”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Denny's is always safe no matter what town or country you are in.
Can't really screw up too much on Eggs and bacon. The salads looked good and the staff was pleasant. Restaurant was clean.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marsha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
235 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Typical Denny's”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

If you like grease at twice the price... go to Denny's... at twice the price try the two in Costa Rica... I went because a friend was hungry.... Will not go again...

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank islandjerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sallisaw, OK
Level Contributor
182 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Who'd a thunk it????”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Eating at a Denny's in Costa Rica!!!! Isn't there a bit of twisted humor here???? It struck me as hilarious to find this establishment in Alajuela. Don't get me wrong; I like Denny's for a late breakfast (I think 4 am or 11 am both qualify as late). You can get most of your favorites, as long as you remember that some basic items are produced locally. Sausages and beef are not what you find in the States, but it's still good. You can get your eggs, and pancakes and waffles, and skillet dishes, and shakes and sweet deserts and all. It's Denny's!! I agree with ernie that it's bit expensive, more so than a tight budget might allow. But, for a tired traveller preparing to return home, it might just be the touch of comfort required after a week or two in country.

Service isn't quite as quick, but the coffee is wa-a-a-y better. Seating is quick and easy. It's not bad if you're not in a hurry. It's Denny's food after all, so you won't find any gourmet magazine reviewers here. It seemed to be the only eatery in the local area, aside from a fast food chicken sandwich house. There may be other eateries close by, but you sure can't see them from here.

I think it's worth the experience. But then, I'm a bit off the beaten path. I figure that if you find something seems a little to weird to be believed, then you ought to check it out. And that's Denny's in Costa Rica. A little to weird to be believed.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chafraho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loomis ca
Level Contributor
429 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 297 helpful votes
“Way overpriced, mediocre food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

We don't have high expectations of a Denny's, but we expect pricing to be on par with US$ or a tad lower.
We ordered two chicken sandwiches and two diet cokes. Greasy food and the bill came to over $30!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank ernieLoomisCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Denny's also viewed

Alajuela, Province of Alajuela
Alajuela, Province of Alajuela
 
Alajuela, Province of Alajuela
Alajuela, Province of Alajuela
 

Been to Denny's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing