We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just not for us”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Airport Hotel Rio Segundo
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Please keep in mind that the owners of this establishment were nothing but courteous and as helpful as possible (from what I could tell anyway!). We arrived late in Costa Rica (midnight) and the hotel boasts a shuttle and the web site is all in English. There was no shuttle and when we tok a cab to the hotel that night, the hotel was completely closed! We knocked on the door and they came, sleepily, to the door to let us in for our reservation that night (which we had made months earlier) and our cab driver (bless his heart!) spoke English well enough to help us check in and to help the owner even run our credit card through her machine (and to tell us about breakfast in the a.m. etc... needless to say, he got a big tip!). Every worker at this hotel (actually a hostel) speaks ZERO English. This may not be problematic for all but it was a challenge for us (I speak VERY little Spanish - just a few words here & there) so just take caution if you are like us. Also we had NO hot (let alone WARM) water for our showers this morning (which they may have been able to fix but I couldn't communicate with any of the to explain/describe the situation). We cancelled our stay for our return to the airport next week - we'll be staying at the Hampton Inn or Holiday Inn Express at the San Jose airport instead.

Room Tip: There was no fitness center or swimming pool
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel N, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Airport Hotel Rio Segundo, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Thank you for letting us to know this. We're very SORRY for the mess you'd encountered in our hotel. We are trying our very best to fullfill your satisfaction. And hoping that you'll visit our hotel again. We hope to see you soon. Thank You.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (29)
There are newer reviews for Airport Hotel Rio Segundo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 29 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2013

We were delayed at SJO because the government inspectors for animals don't work on Saturdays and Sundays, hence, we needed to delay our trip for two days. The good people at Interjet found us a place to stay with our miniature chihuahua near the airport. Rosa from the hotel was super! She does it all: reception, cleaning, cooking great breakfasts in the morning....I doubt she sleeps, but the hotel has a great ambassador. I hope they respect how much she does for them. The room has a great comfortable bed, cable, wifi, etc. The bathroom we had had a shower head that dispensed a little warm water sometimes......welcome to Costa Rica, hot water is a premium feature, that some visitors may not understand. All in all, Rosa and the staff went beyond the norm to ensure our stay was satisfactory. Close to the airport. I highly recommend the hotel and the pizzaria to anyone traveling to SJO.

Room Tip: Because we had our chihuahua we were given a room at the far end, so he would not bother other hotel...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank biteoftheiguana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Comfortable bed, room basic but homely, nicely Located within easy walking distance of the City Center. Ideal for a short stay or sleep before your flight.
I was 2 years ago and i liked more this year. The staff is very nice.
The food now is delicious Because the restaurants prepare sushi and pizza
Nothing to dislike.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

I stayed in Hotel Rio Segundo with my wife in November of 2013. We had been staying in places costing $100 per night for the whole trip since it was our honeymoon. I guess that we just got spoiled because it was a real shock to stay in this place. Below are the pros and cons that we experienced:

Pros:
-Great Pizza and Sushi restaurants downstairs - good food and good customer service
-The owner/manager speaks good english
-Close to the airport
-The room was clean

Cons:
-Our bed had these little biting ants that bit us all night long. I also think that there were other mystery bed bugs. I have bites everywhere.
-The water was turned off for our last day
-The words on the hotel sign were so miniscule that our taxi driver had to pass by 4 times to find it
-That part of town does not feel very safe (even though it probably is)


Overall:

If you are budget minded, then this place is fine. If you are expecting motel 6 quality or better, then upgrade to a nicer hotel. Also... the bugs are the most serious drawback.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kurt k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I LOVE this place. I travel to Costa Rica very often with my family and have stayed in MANY different hotels. By far, this is the best hotel I've stayed in. Great quality for the price. The rooms are very clean and modern. The staff is incredibly friendly and very accommodating to your needs. I also appreciate that there is always someone on site that knows English. The location is GREAT. You can easily get to many different tourist spots. Incredibly family friendly!!! I highly recommend this place to anyone traveling to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iri0202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Rio S, Front Office Manager at Airport Hotel Rio Segundo, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Dear Iri0202

THANK YOU for sharing your opinion and experience in our hotel, we appriciate it so much and a pleasure for us to serve you again maám / sir.

Rene Rose Sinque

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Love this place its awesome. Great location and good quality. The website is very helpful and descriptive. Good rooms, cleanliness, service, and style. Friendly staff. Pura vida! Thank you for my stay(:

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cara406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Rio S, Front Office Manager at Airport Hotel Rio Segundo, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Dear Cara406,

THANK YOU for sharing your opinion and experince in our hotel, we appreciate it so much and a pleasure for us to serve you again maám / sir.


Rene Rose Sinque

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Based on the reviews I read before making an online reservation I was surprised to receive such poor customer service. We arrived at the hotel with a printed copy of our reservation stating the charge for 2 people for 1 night to be $48. And that the airport shuttle was free and included. We were told upon check in that there was a mistake and the charge was really $58 and the shuttle service had been discontinued.
After about 20 minutes trying to get them to honor their quote we gave up (wasn't sure I could get the credit card charge reversed if we just left) and went to our rather shabby room.
Later, on a walk we discovered the much nicer Hotel Millennium about 3 blocks away. It was $40.
At least the pizza was good. And we found a great cafe up the road - Cafe Don Mayo.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank P E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Rio S, Front Office Manager at Airport Hotel Rio Segundo, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Dear mr. phil,

We appreciate that you posted your review, it will help us alot to improve our service. We are very sorry that you experienced that here at Airport Hotel Rio Segundo. However sir we would like you to know that we have a new management now, new stuff nice and friendly, a well renovated rooms with aircon and we added new restaurant too. Just to make it clear sir you´ve experince that to the former owner of the hotel. I am encouraging you to come and visit us again and see the difference between the old hotel and the new one, we will give the room for only $48 for couple and complimentary bottle of wine or pizza. We apologize again and thank you !

Teamhotelriosegundo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
0.3 mi away
1915 Hotel
1915 Hotel
#13 of 27 in Alajuela
104 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Catedral Casa Cornejo
0.2 mi away
Hotel Paradise Alajuela
Hotel Paradise Alajuela
#31 of 61 in Alajuela
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bamboo Aparthotel
Bamboo Aparthotel
#8 of 42 in Alajuela
12 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vina Romantica
Vina Romantica
#42 of 61 in Alajuela
67 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Santamaria
Hotel Santamaria
#18 of 61 in Alajuela
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airport Hotel Rio Segundo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Hotel Rio Segundo

Address: East From Juan Santamaria International Airport 1 km | on the road to Heredia, Rio Segundo, Alajuela, Alajuela, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Alajuela
Price Range: $58 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Airport Hotel Rio Segundo 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Airport Hotel in Costa Rica.Airport Hotel Rio Segundo is half mile away from Juan Santamaria International Airport, Therefore it allows our guest to reach easily the airport for an early departure.The hotel offers drop off shuttle to the airport, Italian and Japanese restaurant in site, a NICE AND CLEAN rooms with air-condito and Free WI-fI. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Airport Hotel Rio Segundo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airport Hotel Rio Segundo Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing