We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Airport Hotel Rio Segundo
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Mi Tierra(Alajuela)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
1915 Hotel(Alajuela)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Central(Alajuela)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Mango(Alajuela)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (29)
Filter reviews
29 results
Traveler rating
10
9
3
6
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
10
9
3
6
1
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 29 reviews
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Based on the reviews I read before making an online reservation I was surprised to receive such poor customer service. We arrived at the hotel with a printed copy of our reservation stating the charge for 2 people for 1 night to be $48. And that the airport shuttle was free and included. We were told upon check in that there was a mistake and the charge was really $58 and the shuttle service had been discontinued.
After about 20 minutes trying to get them to honor their quote we gave up (wasn't sure I could get the credit card charge reversed if we just left) and went to our rather shabby room.
Later, on a walk we discovered the much nicer Hotel Millennium about 3 blocks away. It was $40.
At least the pizza was good. And we found a great cafe up the road - Cafe Don Mayo.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank P E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Rio S, Front Office Manager at Airport Hotel Rio Segundo, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Dear mr. phil,

We appreciate that you posted your review, it will help us alot to improve our service. We are very sorry that you experienced that here at Airport Hotel Rio Segundo. However sir we would like you to know that we have a new management now, new stuff nice and friendly, a well renovated rooms with aircon and we added new restaurant too. Just to make it clear sir you´ve experince that to the former owner of the hotel. I am encouraging you to come and visit us again and see the difference between the old hotel and the new one, we will give the room for only $48 for couple and complimentary bottle of wine or pizza. We apologize again and thank you !

Teamhotelriosegundo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We are a family of 4 traveling with 2 young kids (almost 3yo and almost 1yo). We stayed at the Rio Segundo hotel the first night we arrived in Costa Rica (night of May 22, 2013). We took a (orange) official taxi from SJO ($4) to the hotel. We told the hotel that we would arrive ~10pm and as soon as the taxi parked on the sidewalk, the manager (I think) came out and helped us with our luggage. He had minimal knowledge of English. We arranged for the room key and payment with the help of the pizza cook (it may have been his son), whose English was pretty good. The room faced the street, so it was a bit noisy but we were so tired that we slept okay. They made sure we had all that we needed for our night. Nice staff. The room was okay, nothing fancy but nothing too bad. The shower head and shower curtain rod had seen better days but it worked fine. There was warm (not hot) water which was sufficient to rinse off the sweat from the day. Price was okay ($88/night for 2 double beds). They didn't have a crib or baby bed, so we moved the 2 beds against each other and against a corner wall so that both kids were not going to roll off the beds. Bed and bed sheets were okay. Breakfast (tico plate: fruit, rice, beans, eggs and toast) was included and was good. I would recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Florence B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Rio S, Front Office Manager at Airport Hotel Rio Segundo, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

dear florence,

Thank you for your great comments. We are extremely happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We take our guests´ comments very seriously since they are the ones that provide us with the necessary feedback for us to see the areas that need improving. Our pleasure to serve you sir&maam.


Rene Rose Sinque

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

The rooms were surprisingly nice! There is an onsite pizzaria that makes delicious pizza. The personal pan pizza is actually large enough that you could split it with someone. The location isn't in downtown Alejulia, but close to the airport. There is a pharmacy and grocery right across the street to buy any last minute things you need before departing. Good, solid deal.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tsjitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Rio S, Front Office Manager at Airport Hotel Rio Segundo, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Thank you for your great comments. We are extremely happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We take our guests´ comments very seriously since they are the ones that provide us with the necessary feedback for us to see the areas that need improving. Our pleasure to serve you sir&maam.


Rene Rose

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Passed by this little place on our way to get fuel. We weren't sure if it was open, but we stopped anyways. SO glad we did.
Awesome little place with great pizza. The server and cook was very nice and spoke great English.
Didn't stay in the hotel, but it looked great enough.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank clscorz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

No frills. No microwave or frig. Small. We had the two bed room. It was clean and only needed one night before going to the airport. Wake-up call was on time (3AM) and shuttle was on time an hour later. Very nice and friendly staff. It was great the Pizzeria was attached. Pizza and salad were good. I did not know there was a pool but trip adviser would not let me un-pick the single bubble.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peggy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews