We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Catedral Casa Cornejo
Nearby Hotels
$133
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$116
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$139
Courtyard
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel La Rosa de America(Alajuela)
$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$199
$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$79
$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$66
$62
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$84
$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Brilla Sol Airport(Alajuela)(Great Value!)
$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (108)
Filter reviews
108 results
Traveler rating
21
30
27
24
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
21
30
27
24
6
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 108 reviews
Reviewed August 23, 2013

This place was clean and close to the airport, but those are the only things this place has going for it.
The walls are so thin, I felt like I was sleeping on the street and the traffic goes all night long!! And the lovely car alarms going all night and morning were great too. I went down for breakfast and it was done by 8 am!

Checkin was not easy, we speak some Spanish and that was of no help.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ejm619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

The hotel is fine if you need to stay near the hotel. There is not a dedicated parking facility attached but it is close enough if you have rented a car. Only big problem is that the street outside is VERY loud!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beccasills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

This hotel is an excellent choice if you need to stay in San Jose. Alajuela is much more pleasant than central San Jose and this hotel is fantastic. The rooms are spotlessly clean and well maintained. The showers are good and the toilets very clean. The breakfasts are very good and the wifi works really well. The restaurant is really good value and I recommend it strongly. There is a picturesque cathedral across the road which serves as a good landmark as it has an easy to spot cupola near the hotel. There is a lot of cultural activity in the nearby park- there are restaurants, supermarkets, pharmacies, ice cream shops, a travel agency, a Pizza Hut and anything else you could possibly want nearby. The best thing about this hotel is the incredibly helpful staff. Alajuela is far more pleasant than San Jose and it was a pleasant surprise to find an airport hotel in a district that was interesting in itself. Alajuela is a famously safe area with a strong police presence. The staff at this hotel were really really helpful and do everything to help you. We had to change tickets due to a sudden change in plans and the staff did everything they could to make it easy. Delia, Susanna. Karina, Ricardo, Harold and Vanessa were absolutely wonderful and made this an extremely pleasant place to stay. We booked this hotel because of good reviews on Tripadvisor. The favourable reviews are all true.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank senorsolomon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

This is a GREAT alternative to San Jose, both coming and leaving Costa Rica, and it's closer to the Airport! As the Guide Books say, Alajuela is very safe to walk around compared to San Jose. This hotel is run and owned by the sweetest Costa Rican sisters, Carmen and Delia. My ensuite room was very clean with very quiet A/C, a small fridge, TV with quite a few English channels, like CNN, HBO, NBC etc., and good WiFI (room 6). A 2 minute walk to the Central Park and all that surrounds it: Mega Super, Scotia Bank, McDonalds, Radio Shack. I was very comfortable and used it as "basecamp" to visit Poas Volcano, Zoo Ave., La Paz Waterfall Gardens, before I headed North to Arenal Volcano.

Room Tip: I loved room 6, only one floor up and my WiFi had a strong signal.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cbboulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I have traveled the world off and on, over the last 60 years, staying in all kind of hotels, but this hotel has it all, with its ¨location¨ - which is also important in the hotel business. Also its large, bright, clean, air condition rooms. In 5 minutes you can walk around this large central park, music and dancing on Sundays afternoons. There are, the park, museum, banks, McDonalds, Burger King, Pizza etc., all within this five minute walk.
With all these activities so close to the hotel, yet everything quiets down around 10pm and becomes terrific for sleeping.
The ladies who operate this hotel are really fantastic! So very kind and extremely helpful, makes you really feel at home.
And yes, if I should come this way again to Alajuela I would com right here first without even looking at other hotels in the area, this is like a second home for me, as well as for you, give it a ¨try¨ - it’s terrific!
Thank you ladies and all your staff for giving me a lovely ¨home¨ for two weeks.

Robert A. Brown
Canada

PS: The Catedral across the street is most comforting.

Room Tip: Room #10 is quiet and my home in Costa Rica!
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobertBCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews