We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, good location. Near Airport”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Catedral Casa Cornejo
Ranked #22 of 27 Hotels in Alajuela
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Stayed here one night, hotel is about 10mins away from SJO Airport and taxi cost about $6USD. It's a good place to stay if you have to be at the airport early. It's really more of a B&B than a hotel, seems to be a converted older house. The room was comfortable and clean. There is a computer with internet access available to guest in the hallway. Breakfast is included and consist of eggs, salchicha (hot dog), and gallo pinto - the quintessential Costa Rican rice and beans that is eaten during breakfast. Noise level is a bit high but the room a/c should muffle the noise from the hallway and stairs. The staff was very friendly and will call for a taxi when you are ready to leave. I'd suggest taking some time and walk around the town of Alajuela. The market is a couple of blocks to the west and provides some good eating opportunities.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fmartin74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 104 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2012

The room served its purpose. It was clean but there were ants. I understand this is a common problem so I wasn't do bothered. But when we went to get some spray from front desk they didn't have anything to help. The shower was clogged so we had to have quick showers.
The breakfast was good, cooked fresh and very tasty.
The staff were also very helpful. They kindly informed us of the parking rules in the area so we wouldn't get a ticket.

I wouldn't suggest staying with a family as the streets in the area are very loud over the weekend.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peach201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Cheap rooms, very clean and quiet, nice bed, hot water and aircon.
Stuff very helpfull and nice.
Just next to the Cathedral, main area to have some dinner, some drinks, ice creams, great for a walk around the main buildings and to go for few drinks.
Thanks to the stuff!
David

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dkoutecky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Pros: great value, simple but clean room, in the middle of alajuela right next to the church. friendly staff and good service. exactly right for a night. free use of computer and internet. had laundry service.

Cons: not much of a view from room 6, small bathroom, there is free parking but the place though around the corner is impossible to locate...

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cortecera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

We stayed here on our first night and last night in Costa Rica. The staff that greeted us each time did not speak much English, but was very friendly and we communicated with little trouble. Each time we stayed we left early the next morning. Technically the breakfast starts at 7am, but each time they prepared a breakfast at 6:30 am especially for us, which was greatly greatly appreciated.

Taxis had no trouble finding the hotel since it is so close to the Catedral.

The rooms were clean, but the first room we stayed in had what felt like a very small bed. Our room the second time had a king-sized bed (room #10), so if you require the extra room, you may want to try to reserve that one. The insulation between rooms is a little lacking, so we could hear a large group of people coming in at night--but they quieted down quickly. It has more of a B&B feel for the rooms, like it was a house that was converted, rather than a hotel.

We did not sight-see in the area, so cannot comment on this, but we were able to catch a late meal nearby.

We would happily stay here again and recommend others to do so too.

Room Tip: #10 had a larger bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Miche60605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

My wife and I stayed here the night before we left Costa Rica (the international airport is in Alajuela, not San Jose). The rooms are clean, comfortable and cozy. The location is great, right next to the plaza and you'll have your choice of restaurants and convenient access to banks and everything else you might need to get ready for traveling in Costa Rica. When you are leaving, it is only a short taxi ride to the airport. The food at the hotel restaurant is tasty and very afordable.
The staff here is amazing. They are exceptionally helpful and friendly.
The next time I am heading to Costa Rica, I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amh5795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2011

Cannot say enough great things about the proprietor of this establishment...Gus I think is his name. Extremely kind and friendly, speaks perfect English. Our flight was arriving late at night so our plan was to get a hotel close to the airport. Alajuela seemed nice, and since we'd be leaving first thing we opted for the cheapest place we could find, which was Alajuela Backpackers. But they got our reservation screwed up and gave away our room. Our cab driver (we were supposed to have a car rental, but that got screwed up by our late arrival too) took us here and we couldn't have been happier--room was great, breakfast was amazing, and when we told Gus our story he immediately got on the phone and got us a car--a good one too, at a good price, from a rental place just a few blocks away. Though we didn't plan to spend any time there, we actually found Alajuela kind of charming. Highly recommend the Hotel Catedral!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jk_actually
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
2.2 mi away
Berlor Airport Inn
Berlor Airport Inn
#16 of 27 in Alajuela
274 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Eskalima
Hotel Eskalima
#15 of 27 in Alajuela
139 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#19 of 27 in Alajuela
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
1915 Hotel
1915 Hotel
#14 of 27 in Alajuela
106 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mi Tierra
Hotel Mi Tierra
#20 of 27 in Alajuela
157 reviews
2.9 mi away
El Rodeo Estancia Boutique Hotel & Steakhouse
El Rodeo Estancia Boutique Hotel...
#6 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Catedral Casa Cornejo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Catedral Casa Cornejo

Address: Calle 1era y Avenida 1era, Alajuela 99999999, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range: $47 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Catedral Casa Cornejo 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Catedral Casa Cornejo is a small family owned and managed boutique hotel located in the heart of the city of Alajuela, Located less than 5 minutes away from Juan Santamaría International Airport. The Hotel provides the tourist with a nice comfortable lodging option with personalized service, comfortable beds, AC, Cable TV, minibar, laundry service, WIFI, and Restaurant. Breakfast is included in the rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Catedral Casa Cornejo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Catedral Casa Cornejo Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing