We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect place to arrive and leave the country”
Review of Hotel Eskalima

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Eskalima
Ranked #15 of 27 Hotels in Alajuela
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The perfect place to arrive and leave the country”
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Nice and clean big rooms with all services, good breakfast, good prices, and very close to airport and the people are really ready and worry for you !it s a perfect place to start and finish your visit to the country

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patrickherrer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    54
    34
    11
    2
See reviews for
25
64
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
trinity
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

The Hotel Eskalima keeps us coming back year after year as our starting and ending points for our journey to the Osa Peninsula. We always marvel at the quiet, peaceful atmosphere inside, while the bustle of Alajuela throbs just outside. The rooms are super quiet and plenty comfy. The best part, though, of Eskalima are the young staff who have been there at every one of our stays. Milena, Andres, and Marisol are the sweetest, most attentive young adults I have ever had the pleasure of doing business with. Actually, when you're at Eskalima, it's less like a business and more like a visit to your family! Congratulations to boss, Guido Guevara for hiring a heavenly staff. We adore them. Don't overlook this sweet oasis. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nancyjtrinity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wylie, Texas, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 20, 2013

The hotel Eskalima was a great place for us to stay. If you want the Hilton quality then probably stay at the Hilton instead. If you want a nice, clean place to stay that has very friendly people serving you then this hotel is a great value!

The staff was extremely nice and bent over backwards to help us with our needs. Very good place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmer,AK
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Perfect little hotel before your flight out of Costa Rica. I choose this hotel based on price and proximity to the airport. They offer a continental breakfast at 7, but our flight was a 6:30 AM. They told us no problem they'd have toast, orange juice, and coffee ready for us at 3:30 A.M. and a taxi ready a 4 A.M. We stayed in the standard double room, which had air conditioning, a mini-refrigerator, lock box, and hot water. The room was very quiet as well. The gal at the front desk was super helpful in giving us directions to getting to San Jose via bus and getting back via bus. The bus station is super close to the hotel too! I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissPerkyAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Had to catch a 6 am flight out of SJO. Wanted to be close to the airport & didn't want to spend a fortune. This place was perfect. Rooms are very clean and modern. The staff went out of their way to help us out. The night manager gave us breakfast at 3:30 am (it wasn't a full breakfast - but, coffee, juice and toast). We really appreciated that. It is walking distance to restaurants and shops in Alajuela. It's a small, simple hotel - we recommend it for a one night stay when you're coming in or out of SJO.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telchac Puerto, Yucatan, Mexico
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We picked this hotel because it was close to the airport and were not expecting much for the price. We were pleasantly surprised. It has recently been renovated...the rooms were small but nicely decorated & very clean with A/C.. We thought it was going to be noisy given it's location smack dad in the middle of downtown Alajuela but it was surprisingly quiet (we did have a room more towards the back so perhaps the front rooms may not be as quiet). The staff is the "shining star" here though. They all went out of their way to make our short stay a pleasant one, giving suggestions of where to eat & sights to see. Our flight was an early one and we were leaving before the scheduled included breakfast but they made sure we at least got coffee, juice & toast before we left. They also arranged a shuttle to the airport for a small charge and it was right on time. Great value for the price!

Room Tip: The rooms in the rear of the hotel are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naomi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Trip Advisor reviews said good basic hotel close to airport for your last night in Costa Rica... they were right.. it's not far from the airport but you can do better!

We paid the same amount of money to stay here on the last night of our vacation as we did at the Hampton Inn & Suites the first night of our vacation.. and they were miles ahead of this hotel.

Hotel Eskalima is literally a basic hotel. Bathrooms are so small that you can not dress in them, even if you want to shower.. the fridge did not work.. and although I did check the mattress etc.. for cleanliness (which was good) the duvet cover was showing signs of past stains (although I'm certain it was clean it still gave you doubt). The included breakfast was no better than basic and tasteless, however the very young staff were friendly and were as accommodating as they could be.

The area is very sketchy to say the least.. we arrived around 5pm and although the hotel has a nice park across the street it was full of what can only be described as local female entertainment (for a PG rating). This we enjoyed full view of while eating breakfast the following morning!
My son of 15 yrs and myself did not feel safe at all in the area and wished that trip advisor reviewers of past had noted this as we would of stayed at the Hampton Inn again if we had known. The hotel staff advised us to not venture out after 8pm and the hotel doors were always locked, regardless of time of day. They did offer parking next door.. no idea if it was secure or not, but we didn't leave anything in the car so there was no issue there.
This is the only time that we felt unsafe in this beautiful country after 10 days of visiting Costa Rica.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rider_Debbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
2.2 mi away
El Churrasco Hotel Restaurante
11.1 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 27 in Alajuela
658 reviews
7.6 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 27 in Alajuela
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 7 in Heredia
1,249 reviews
5.7 mi away
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bajos del Toro
658 reviews
7.5 mi away
Tacacori EcoLodge
Tacacori EcoLodge
#8 of 27 in Alajuela
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eskalima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eskalima

Property: Hotel Eskalima
Address: Mts de Pizza Hut 50 | 50 mts Este de Pizza Hut Calle Ancha, Alajuela 20101, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Alajuela
#11 Family Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Eskalima 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Eskalima is a family hotel finely decorated and created for each of our guests feel the warmth as in their own home.We have 17 rooms, with private bathroom, hot water, cable TV, air conditioning and telephone.We are strategically located in the city of Alajuela, just 5 minutes from Juan Santamaria International Airport and close to shopping and bus stops.From our hotel you can easily move to all tourist attractions in the area as the Poas Volcano, a bird zoo, Crafts etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Eskalima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Eskalima Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing