We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Hotel close to Airport”
Review of Hotel Eskalima

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Eskalima
Ranked #13 of 26 Hotels in Alajuela
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Average Hotel close to Airport”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Trip Advisor reviews said good basic hotel close to airport for your last night in Costa Rica... they were right.. it's not far from the airport but you can do better!

We paid the same amount of money to stay here on the last night of our vacation as we did at the Hampton Inn & Suites the first night of our vacation.. and they were miles ahead of this hotel.

Hotel Eskalima is literally a basic hotel. Bathrooms are so small that you can not dress in them, even if you want to shower.. the fridge did not work.. and although I did check the mattress etc.. for cleanliness (which was good) the duvet cover was showing signs of past stains (although I'm certain it was clean it still gave you doubt). The included breakfast was no better than basic and tasteless, however the very young staff were friendly and were as accommodating as they could be.

The area is very sketchy to say the least.. we arrived around 5pm and although the hotel has a nice park across the street it was full of what can only be described as local female entertainment (for a PG rating). This we enjoyed full view of while eating breakfast the following morning!
My son of 15 yrs and myself did not feel safe at all in the area and wished that trip advisor reviewers of past had noted this as we would of stayed at the Hampton Inn again if we had known. The hotel staff advised us to not venture out after 8pm and the hotel doors were always locked, regardless of time of day. They did offer parking next door.. no idea if it was secure or not, but we didn't leave anything in the car so there was no issue there.
This is the only time that we felt unsafe in this beautiful country after 10 days of visiting Costa Rica.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rider_Debbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    54
    34
    11
    2
See reviews for
25
65
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
toulon
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Joining the other travellers for saying that this hotel offers bare necessity, don't expect charm and cosy. Quite easy location to join both the airport or the roads to Arenal. Not sure what you do with your car if you have one when you get there, i don't think there's a parking. Overall the staff was nice and helpfull, and you have a choice of breakfast from continental to local. Wi-Fi and TV and hot water ( and that's a luxury ).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katsuede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso Texas
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Flew into CR,...rented a car.... and drove over to the downtown at 5 pm on a friday. Nice Clean VERY SMALL room, but breakfast was good and the girls on duty couldnt have tried to be more helpful. Stayed two nights and saw the soccer game. There is huge downtown noise, but the AC works even if the hot/cold shower was a bit spotty. The hotel's wifi wasn't up and working and there are no pools or amenities, good place to stop and get your bearings, easy jump off to Poas Volcano. Alajuela is next to the airport so departure, arrival is close and easy. Breakfast is tipica or continental and very adequate

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpearsTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Hotel Eskalima is a 'functional' hotel if you need a place to stay for your first or last night. You don't pay too much (60 dollars) and it's good enough. The rooms are ok and clean enough. There is wifi an, ac and the staff is nice. Breakfast is average, although it takes a while before you get it. A big plus is that it's 5 minutes from the airport.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EviUtrecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Perfect hotel the day after and before you have to go to the alrport of san jose. The day after arriving Europcar would drop off our car there. Very handy. The boss gave us some very good tips and suggestions.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poeleke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miller Lake, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Hotel sent a taxi to shuttle us from the airport which was very helpful. They also accommodated our request to check in early as our flight from Toronto arrived mid morning. Our room was not large but very clean and the cable tv even had an English station or two! The beds were comfortable and the air conditioning very welcome. If you have mobility issues be sure to ask for a room on the main floor rather than doing the stairs.
Breakfast included 3 choices. Good location either on arrival or departure day, as it is relatively close to the airport.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Gemsays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieppe, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

The hotel is a short drive from the airport, perfect if you're arriving late. The hotel didn't send the shuttle but we found a cab that drove us for 8-dollars. The rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable. There was air conditioning. Breakfast was good and the staff were helpful. We had some time to kill the next day and enjoyed walking around the city streets. There's a large market nearby with alot of fruit, vegetable and meat vendors.

Room Tip: If you get the suite with two rooms, keep in mind that you have to walk through the second bedroom t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissBeams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
2.2 mi away
El Churrasco Hotel Restaurante
11.1 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#4 of 26 in Alajuela
662 reviews
7.6 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 26 in Alajuela
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Hotel Catedral Casa Cornejo
5.4 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 7 in Heredia
1,266 reviews
12.3 mi away
Hotel Brillasol Airport
Hotel Brillasol Airport
#9 of 26 in Alajuela
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eskalima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eskalima

Property: Hotel Eskalima
Address: Mts de Pizza Hut 50 | 50 mts Este de Pizza Hut Calle Ancha, Alajuela 20101, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Alajuela
#10 Family Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Eskalima 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Eskalima is a family hotel finely decorated and created for each of our guests feel the warmth as in their own home.We have 17 rooms, with private bathroom, hot water, cable TV, air conditioning and telephone.We are strategically located in the city of Alajuela, just 5 minutes from Juan Santamaria International Airport and close to shopping and bus stops.From our hotel you can easily move to all tourist attractions in the area as the Poas Volcano, a bird zoo, Crafts etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Eskalima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Eskalima Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing