We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Different” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Condo Portofino

Condo Portofino
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Condo Portofino
BRACEBRIDGE
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Different”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

The other reviews were quite accurate but omitted were, noise from truck - engine brakes, hot water in shower only, used a bucket to bring hot water to the bathroom sink, the kitchen sink, the washing machine. Sonia seemed to be in charge and spoke very litte English hence a dispute over how much money we owed for the THIRD month of rental Jan, Feb Mar 2011. Would not rent again unless we had a car for which there was free parking, secured.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Warrenbaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
3
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
tjlgbarber
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2010

This was our first trip to Costa Rica and we were not sure what to expect. The people at Portofino meet us right at the airport and brought us the short distance to the hotel. They were very helpful in assisting us in any way that we needed. We do not speak Spanish so it was nice to be able to speak english with them.

I hope that we will be able to return to Costa Rica for another family trip and we will definitely stay at Portofino again!!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tjlgbarber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brännö
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2010

The owners of this hotel, Marjorie and Dave, were absolutely wonderful. First they took us in at reasonable prices and had a very good standard. Then they were so very helpful with everything - finding places, getting a good price on a rental car, etc.

It was a fantastic stay and I would recomend their hotel to anyone.

Cheers!
'The Swedes'

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jimpre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieM08
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2010

After a long trip we were picked up at the airport and within 10 minutes we were at the front gates of Portofino. It's a cute building with a Mediterranean feel. My husband, 9 year old daughter and I we escorted to one of the second floor apartments. Inside the Mediterranean color scheme continued. It was warm and welcoming. The bedrooms were a good size with closets in both. The bathroom was clean and we always had hot water. I love the open concept of the kitchen and dining area. The furniture looked new and was very comfortable. They even had a wash room with a washing machine, and it wasn't coin operated! My favorite part of the apartment was the skylight they had. It let in natural light most of the day. Although you could open the windows and get a wonderful breeze, we preferred the air conditioning. We're from the north; 80 to 90 degrees Fahrenheit is too hot for us no matter what kind of breeze is blowing.

The staff was wonderful. Those we talked to spoke English as well as Spanish of course. They offered suggestion on where to eat and shop and even offered bus tours to destinations throughout the country. On more than one occasion our guide/staff member negotiated a better price for souvenirs and dining.

The day before departing one of the staff members mentioned that we would have to pay a tax to exit the country. They explained where to go in the airport to do this and that it needed to be done prior to going through customs. We knew nothing about this tax and the information helped us save at least an hour of standing in line.

We loved the apartments and the staff went above and beyond expectations. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulieM08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Eskalima
Hotel Eskalima
#15 of 30 in Alajuela
4.0 of 5 stars 124 reviews
1.5 mi away
No photo provided
2.6 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#7 of 30 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 stars 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica
2.8 mi away
Hotel Robledal
Hotel Robledal
#8 of 30 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 stars 257 reviews
2.9 mi away
Berlor Airport Inn
Berlor Airport Inn
#14 of 30 in Alajuela
4.0 of 5 stars 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Condo Portofino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Condo Portofino

Property: Condo Portofino
Address: 200 mts. NW Rectificacion Guido, Alajuela none, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located 10 minutes from San Jose airport. Each accommodation is in a 2 to 3 bedroom 1-bath suite with a full kitchen. We offer free; parking, wireless internet, cable TV, A/C. We are with-in 10 min. walking distance of banking, shopping, and dining. Day-trips with-in an hour drive include: volcanoes, waterfalls, canopy tours, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Condo Portofino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Condo Portofino Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing