We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite Scenic. No Action.”

Arenal Volcano riding tour
Ranked #7 of 39 things to do in Alajuela
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: With our healthy and well trained horses, we start this incredible guided tour, crossing rivers and through the trails in the rain forest, enjoying all the views of the San Carlos plains, and the amazing lava paths of the majestic Arenal Volcano. We can see also, monkeys, birds like toucans, turkeys, hawks, falcons etc.Departure time: 8:30 a.m. / 1:00 p.m.What to bring: Long pants, hiking boots, suns screen, mosquitoÂ’s repellent, camera, binoculars and rain gear.
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Quite Scenic. No Action.”
Reviewed February 2, 2012

Cloud forests and drive around lake are very scenic. But no volcanic action in at least last year. As you are forewarned, the ride is very slow. And long sections into & out of Santa Elena are unpaved.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank CDBAlbq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    12
    6
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed February 1, 2012

If you cant walk this is the best way to see the Volcano.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank orthocaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arad
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“so and so”
Reviewed January 10, 2012

i was goin to see arenal but was very little cloudy so i did not see anything.

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
Thank Bogdan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Arenal Volcano Tour”
Reviewed January 3, 2012

We took a tour and combined it with Tabacon Hot Springs. It included transportation and everything....so that part of it was excellent. The trip through the jungle was a bit slow and boring but I think our guide was watching for lightening because we were trying to decide if it was going to pour. It didn't we made it to the site and the mountain wasn't covered in clouds!!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank LovintheUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeFuniak Springs, Florida
2 reviews
“private trip with Manuel”
Reviewed December 26, 2011

Was so nice to see. Make sure you take jacket it can be cold. Try and stay for the dome to bulge then collapse. I didn't see it but was told very awesome if your are into geology.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank carlos52_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arenal Volcano riding tour also viewed

Alajuela, Province of Alajuela
Alajuela, Province of Alajuela
 
Alajuela, Province of Alajuela
Alajuela, Province of Alajuela
 

Been to Arenal Volcano riding tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing