We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded my expectations - an incredible week of rest and healing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Asclepios Wellness & Healing Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed August 10, 2010

My Mother and I stayed here the first week of August. We searched the internet for the right "wellness retreat" and found that this met our requirements. Small, intimate, organic food, ionized pool, triple filtered drinking water, inclusive treatments.

The service was amazing and we felt like part of a family during our stay. The owner, Marisia Jimenez had a very well thought out vision for the retreat which has actualized into an incredible reality. She will go out of her way to help you and provide the right diet and treatments during your stay. The rooms are simple yet luxurious and very comfortable.

I would highly recommend Asclepios for anyone looking to get away to rest, relax, heal, detox or learn to eat better etc.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fionahendricks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 121 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2010

The PERSONNEL Knew What They Were doing and were very professional . The Accommodations and food were excellent. The organization and administration of the week was excellent. We Were Impressed the most with the Attention to detail and the sensativity of the program and the staff to the clientele .

Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
3  Thank ford29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2010

My stay at Asclepios Healing & Wellness Retreat was phenomenal. The facility was brand new, beautifully designed and executed and so very comfortable. The food was phenomenal. It was individually tailored to my needs and wants. The services received were excellent. The Director had chosen very qualified personnel to perform the different services and was very open to meeting my needs and changing services when necessary. I was well rested and so satisfied when I left. I would recommend to anyone who needs to get "quiet time", get away from stress and other distractions and immerse themselves in luxurious accommodations, food and services. It's definitely on my list to revisit every couple of years!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susanna1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank RodolfoCarrillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AsclepiosWellnessCR, Gerente at Asclepios Wellness & Healing Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank EricCR2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AsclepiosWellnessCR, Gerente at Asclepios Wellness & Healing Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank cariari16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
3.2 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 27 in Alajuela
872 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa San Ignacio
Villa San Ignacio
#9 of 27 in Alajuela
131 reviews
13.8 mi away
The Retreat Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation Resort
1.9 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 27 in Alajuela
675 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#1 of 1 in Pilas
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asclepios Wellness & Healing Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asclepios Wellness & Healing Retreat

Address: El Cacao | 750 mts Norte del Hotel Las Orquídeas, camino a San Pedro de Poas, Alajuela, Alajuela, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Alajuela
Price Range: $165 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Asclepios Wellness & Healing Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Asclepios (honoring the Greek God of Health) is located in Alajuela, Costa Rica and offers its guests 12 rooms which evoke the most important medical traditions of the world, together with a regulated ionized swimming pool, amphitheatre, fitness center, exercise pavilion, sauna, hammam, nature paths, 6 treatment lodges, a relaxation room and a Conference room.We are located on the edge of a tropical forest with views of the surrounding sugar cane and coffee plantations, mountains and volcanoes.We work with a team of selected holistic practitioners and highly skilled spa therapists. We have put together a great understanding and passion for physical, emotional and spiritual health resulting in great wellbeing.Asclepios also seeks to educate in environmental appreciation and conservation. It is built in siding and brick, two sustainable materials. We use thermal solar collectors and take advantage of natural ventilation and natural lighting. Wild life has been preserved and our primary and secondary forests have been untouched. Our quest is to restore the person’s whole being to its natural state of balance, by correcting such diverse factors as improper diet, sedentary lifestyle, lack of a correct oxygenation, negative thought patterns and their emotional impact, and the lack of rest or restorative sleep, among others.We do this by five Special Wellness Programs that include Detoxification and Revitalization Programs, Stress and Weight Management and the Spa Experience Program.A la carte: Naturopathy, Meditation, Pranayamas, Acupuntura, Floral Therapy, Vichy and Scottish Showers; Kneipp, Shiatsu, Shirodhara, Yoga, Reiki, Tai chi…And, as health also includes your palate: bioenergetic gastronomy, where you can rediscover the original flavors of vegetables, fruits and fish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Asclepios Wellness & Healing Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asclepios Wellness & Healing Retreat Hotel Alajuela
Asclepios Wellness And Healing Retreat
Asclepios Wellness & Healing Retreat Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing