We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alajuela
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Costa Rica Airport Lodge
Ranked #41 of 63 Alajuela B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 22, 2012

I have been traveling to Costa Rica for the past 7 years. On my first trip I was lucky enough to come across Hotel El Cacique, and the family who operate it from their home. Jonny and his family have always treated me like a part of their family. I can't say enough how good it feels to visit the city or fly into the airport here and know in 2 min I am safe and at home where I can rest.
And you can't beat the price, to be 2 min from the airport and the bus station, free wifi and cool people who make you feel like your at home.
It's a no brainer...

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BuenaNota-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnnyHotelElCacique, Owner at Costa Rica Airport Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Thanks big time for all those nights you have stayed with us! We have shared music, drinks, jokes, laughter! Cheers to the good times Bro! You have become part of my family!

- Johnny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 58 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2012

I stayed at the hotel for three days recently and I was pleasantly surprised at the level of hospitality I received. The owner, John, makes you feel like you are staying in his home.
The room was clean, the linens were clean. There was a blanket (surprisingly rare in Costa Rica, I've found) and plenty of towels.
If I could some up my stay at the hotel, it would be with this: my credit card must have fallen out of my pocket while I was there, and the cleaning staff found it under my bed. I never even knew it was missing. When I arrived back at the hotel after running some errands, John gave me the card. As I'm sure all travelers know, he saved me a great deal of hassle through this gesture of integrity.

Room Tip: Bring earplugs, airplanes are loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dale A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2012

Do you want a $3 taxi ride to the airport? Do you want the lowest price place to stay in the Alajuela airport? Yes and Yes, Hotel El Cacique offers both. Clean, places near to eat, anything you need can be attained. John is super cool. Surfers this is your spot while in transit.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2012

For the last 6 years (has it really been that long) I've stayed at El Cacique Hotel when I was coming to and leaving Costa Rica. It is reasonably priced, clean and secure, and close to the airport. Close enough to the Alajuela International Airport and the Sansa Terminal that if there is gridlock on the highways you can always walk. A taxi only costs $2. If you want to see the sights in San Jose, like the Museo de Oro or the Museo de Jade or Mercado Central all you have to do is walk one block and catch the TUASA Bus to the San Jose terminal for about $1. From there it is only about one block to the Pedestrian Mall (which is a section of Avenida Central close to vehicle traffic) and an interesting walk to the museums. John is very friendly and knowledgable about Costa Rica and speaks excellent English. When John's parents are visiting you can pratice your Spanish with them and they can practice their English with you. Always interesting. A good value and a safe place.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

When I first arrived in Costa Rica I was by myself and had not booked anything for the first night so I was basically winging it. I walked out of the front of the airport and asked the first guy I saw where a good cheap place to stay would be that I could get to easily. He told me about hotel cacique and offered to drive me there for 1000 colones (2 dollars). I am glad I got the drive because I would have been lost but now I know that it is essentially across the street, so I always walk now. Johnny and Ringo(the dog) welcomed me with a smile and a tail wag and I instantly felt at ease in a country I knew nothing about. The room were much nicer then I expected and johnny was very helpful with what busses I should take and where I could eat. You get what you pay for, a very close place to stay, I nice clean room, a private bathroom, and cable TV for the night. I have been back to costa rica several times and Hotel Cacique is always where I go when I am coming or going. Kick back and enjoy the pura vida that hotel cacique and costa rica provides you!! Can't wait to be back!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank matt l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

We travel to CR at least once a year, sometimes 2-3 and whenever we have an early flight to catch or we get in late, this is the spot we choose to stay. If you're willing to cross the highway at 5 AM you can literally walk across the street to the airport.. soooo convenient its awesome. We've done it many times and always super glad we're so close.
The owner Johnny is such a nice and warm hearted person, he makes the experience that much more great. Last time we were there we got in around 11 PM or so and headed straight there.. we had a rental car and he even moved his car out of the gated carport so we could park our rental in a locked area. That made the decision real easy for us! We were then blown away again by his extremely nice father who sat up with us all night telling stories and assisting us with our poor spanish in his broken English.. what a great evening.

Always a great experience every time I stay. The proximity to the airport and the truly friendly atmosphere make it a no brainer!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JBROBoulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

In all fairness we didn't stay. We arrived at the hotel late at night. I have been in some rough areas before but this looked bad. When we pulled up it was on some dark side street with no lights at all. It was steel bars and steel mesh grating with what looked like somebody spray painted hotel over top. I looked at the cab driver and said keep moving. I was not comfortable at all.

Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
2  Thank office1503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
0.6 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Berlor Airport Inn
Berlor Airport Inn
#16 of 27 in Alajuela
265 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Brillasol Airport
Hotel Brillasol Airport
#11 of 27 in Alajuela
309 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel II Millenium
Hotel II Millenium
#16 of 63 in Alajuela
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa Rica Airport Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Rica Airport Lodge

Address: Peaje Alajuela, 1, Alajuela 20109, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Alajuela
Price Range: $30 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the closest & most affordable lodge to the Costa Rica Int. Airport! Locally known as El Cacique Lodge, Since 2004 we have been known for our great location, clean cozy rooms with private bathroom, (fan,cable tv & wi fi), friendly service & the best rates in our area! We are just a short walk to all rent a cars offices, domestic flights, shuttle & tour buses, banks, stores, pharmacy, etc. We are your home base when you arrive, in between & before you leave paradise! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Costa Rica Airport Lodge Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing