We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful hidden gem!”
Review of Tacacori EcoLodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tacacori EcoLodge
Ranked #8 of 27 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed February 20, 2014

When flying into San Jose or just visiting this is the perfect place to stay, skip the chains or higher priced alternatives. This is 4 separate bungalows tucked away and surrounded by beautiful well kept gardens. You have privacy and only the sounds of nature. We did the hello - goodbye package staying 2 nights at the start of our trip and one at the end. We were very happy we stayed the two nights at the start because it gave us the chance to see Poas Volcano and the La Paz Waterfall gardens with Nadine (one of the owners) as our guide. These were great spots to visit. The rooms are clean with plenty of room and the included breakfast is great as you watch the wildlife and say hello to Lorita their rescued parrot. Patrick and Nadine are great hosts and extremely helpful with local knowledge. The gift shop is worth a careful look, they are beautiful handmade things made by local people. This is the best spot near the San Jose airport.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DebTraveler57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (367)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 367 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

We arrived here late at night after a long day of travelling (they arranged the airport transfer for us) and although it's near the airport, this place is an oasis of calm and jungle quiet. Owned by a lovely French couple, there are four separate and private bungalows built in luscious gardens. The shower is excellent and the breakfast delicious. My only criticism is that the bed is really hard, but that's a small niggle. They made our small children welcome and were even able to provide a baby cot. If you're looking for a place in Alajuela, you can't go wrong with Tacacori.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brisvegasgirlParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in January at the beginning of our Costa Rican adventure. After maneuvering through Friday night 5pm traffic, we found our way up the hill to Tacacori with no problems. GPS helped, but there are also signs guiding the way. We were assigned Casita Bambu. It was very clean and spacious and perfect for the 2 of us. After a long day of traveling, it was also helpful that Patrick and Nadine keep a stock of beer and wine for sale so we were able to relax with a drink for a bit before walking to Xandari for dinner. NOTE - if you are going to walk to Xandari be careful since it's a windy mountain road with no shoulders and a headlamp is helpful.
Breakfast both days was a lovely plate of local, tropical fruit followed by toast with jam and eggs cooked to order. Coffee, tea and fruit juice were also served. Breakfast is served overlooking their lush gardens and the resident bird and dogs were out to provide company.
Patrick & Nadine gave us some very helpful tips on where to go, shortcuts, where to park, etc. during our two days. We toured the Doka Coffee Estate (very good tour) and also the Poas Volcano (which unfortunately was fogged in). We also went to the farmer's market in Alajuela (largest one in Costa Rica) which was fun. The notebook in our casita had some restaurant recommendations - we dined at Xandari (very good with great views of the valley), Jalapenos (tex-mex in town) and Carnes y Parillas (delicious local steak house very reasonable prices).
Tacacori is its own little oasis and we enjoyed our stay there. Once the sun goes down the frogs start their symphony. The casitas don't have a/c (don't need it) so if you are sensitive to noise, I'd recommend earplugs and/or using a white noise app on your phone. This came in handy one of our nights due to a dog off in the distance barking for hours. The bed was a bit firm but not terrible. The bathroom was spacious with a great shower. I would definitely recommend staying here. I know most people stay here as a stopover to the airport, but the area is definitely worth checking out for a day or two. We enjoyed having a local experience and being the only non-Costa Ricans wherever we went.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We stayed here on our last night in Costa Rica and just loved it. Very cozy and private, yet only 15 minutes from the airport. Which I know sounds crazy but is true.

Our cabin was perfectly clean and comfortable with a great shower with good, hot water. We enjoyed the tea service on our terrace as we soaked in the last few hours of good Costa Rica weather before we returned home to a cold winter.

Breakfast was fruit, toast and eggs served on the hosts' beautiful deck overlooking their amazing, lush landscaping.

Do not stay in a chain hotel next to the airport. Take this opportunity to enjoy the beauty of Costa Rica as you start or end your trip.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JayRae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

As many did, we chose to stay here because of its proximity to the airport (in our case, for the flight out). Though Alajuela is a fairly busy city, this joint is up on a hill and enclosed, so it feels much more secluded than it actually is. The gardens are beautiful here, and the rooms are well-furnished. The hosts were also charming, with wonderful dogs. Driving into the property can be a bit of a challenge; blink and you miss the entrance gate! Also, we had dinner at Xandari resort. Though the materials list this as walkable, it's down a very steep hill and is better to drive to.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Branden55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Great garden, friendly and kind owners, good breakfast with great view of the garden and colibris, butterflies and bigger birds sitting in the branches. The cabins are great as well, nicely designed and spacious. It was a great start into our costa rica vacation.

The only thing I didn't like about the place was that the entrance is right in the corner of a road. That is very easy to miss and it feels really dangerous getting out of the driveway on the road because visibility to the left and right is very limited.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank muzikshower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Pros:
Location, clean, great service, beautiful grounds, private

Cons:
Our room felt a bit humid due to heavy downpours of the rainy season but it was minor for what this place offers.

Tacacori is Fantastic! This is not how I would typically describe a hotel 15mins from any international airport but this place truly is that. As first timers to Costa Rica (CR), Tacacori was the perfect start for our trip because we wanted to feel and experience the natural beauty that Costa Rica is known for and this place did deliver just that. Our first destination was Manuel Antonio but since our flight came in after dark and it just plain crazy to attempt that drive at night, we needed a place close to SJO Airport to stay overnight before heading out on the 3hr drive the next day. San Jose had more options but we read reviews of how it was dirty and much longer drive from SJO airport so we opted against that. Getting to Tacacori was a bit of an adventure (a road closure, maps with no street names, no GPS) and despite the hotel's recommendation not to drive after dark; we were able to find it with a little bit of luck. Upon waking up the next morning and sliding the curtains of the patio door you cant help but get that WOW effect. The grounds are so lush and with only 4 casitas on the entire property, you get that sense of complete privacy. Our casita was nicely decorated, clean and comfortable. Walking up to the main building for our complimentary breakfast allowed us a better opportunity to see the grounds. The breakfast was delicious and cooked by the couple that owns the place. The service was excellent and you couldn’t help but feel as if you were staying with good friends. They told us about the property and all its unique stories, which made our stay even more memorable. This will definitely be our go to place on our future trips to CR should we arrive late or have to leave for an early departure flight.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jevpol1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
0.3 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 27 in Alajuela
872 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#1 of 1 in Pilas
691 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 27 in Alajuela
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Villa San Ignacio
Villa San Ignacio
#9 of 27 in Alajuela
131 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
10.5 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 7 in Heredia
1,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tacacori EcoLodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tacacori EcoLodge

Address: Calle Burios | Tacacori, Alajuela 20106, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Alajuela
#2 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#2 Family Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range: $102 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you’re looking for a stop over or a place to spend at few days to find time relaxation in a beautiful tropical garden. TACACORI EcoLodge is your deal destination. Located 15 mn away from the Juan Santamaria International Airport in a peaceful neighbourhood withing Alajuela, Costa Rica and just minutes away from the business district, entertainment spots and shopping centers in San Jose.Tacaori Ecolodge is an exclusive rest place for tourists coming from the airport to stop over for a good night’s rest.Each of the 5 bungalows rests in harmony with its surrounding and included personalized services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Tacacori EcoLodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tacacori EcoLodge Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing