We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for the day you land or the evening before flying”
Review of Tacacori EcoLodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tacacori EcoLodge
Ranked #8 of 27 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We stayed in the B&B the last night of our stay in Costa Rica. The place is owned and run by a french couple and their two friendly dogs. The bungalo was extremely clean. I'm not sure we would have found it without a GPS, but the location is quiet and in a gated area. Breakfast was continental style. They do a great job giving you information about various restaurant choices and also the information we needed about visiting Poas in the morning, since we weren't sure if we would have time to do it with an afternoon flight. They assured us that we did have time and we had a great one night here. Nice grounds and well run.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank tdtid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (368)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 368 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2012

What a great little escape from San Jose. You're close enough to San Jose, the international airport, and other tourist sights, but it feels a world away from the big city chaos. We loved the tranquility and gardens. The owners were very kind and helpful. The breakfast was great too. Who doesn't love fresh fruit, homemade spreads/jams, and even an omelet. The rooms were comfortable, clean, and even Eco-minded. Great stay, highly recommended!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank femalenomadperu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Patrick and Nadine are terrific hosts! Their ecolodge is the most beautiful that I have seen on my trip even to the north and south of Costa Rica. Their hospitality was unbelievable, anything you need. Breakfast was great with a French twist. The rooms are immaculate, European and very modern. It is very quaint, a fabulous way to get away from everything. You will see plants there that you won't find any other place in Costa Rica and they are very well tended to. Patrick was very helpful in getting us set up with a GPS on our road trip to Costa Rica and the price was half of what we saw any other place. If you looking for a quaint place to get away, were you can rest and won't be disturbed . . . . this is the place. The best place to stay in Alajuela!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dre_rides_bikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

My sister and I stayed at Tacacori Ecolodge this summer for three nights. Patrick and Nadine were wonderful hosts assisting us with travel, car rental and discounted tickets to La Paz Waterfall Gardens. Patrick picked us up at the airport, arranged a car rental and even mailed my sweatshirt that I had left behind, they definitely went above and beyond our expectations. Our favorite casita was the Orquidea, which had an outdoor sitting area with a table and a view of their lush gardens, where we enjoyed snacks and wine in the evening. The rooms are spacious and well decorated. We also enjoyed the main deck where breakfast was served. It's surrounded by lush gardens and visited by a variety of beautiful birds. For dinner we drove to Xandari resort (you can walk but it's a killer coming back up the hill). Xandari's food is delicious, the view is fantastic and they have lots of beautiful art as well. I recommend renting a car, my sister and I rented the least expensive automatic, next time I would go a step up to get more power, lots of hills in Costa Rica. And definitely rent the GPS from Patrick if you are going to visit other areas as we did, she, our GPS, saved us on many occasions. Even though we visited during the rainy season it only rained twice for a short time during the day on our 10 day trip. The weather in Alajuela was perfect! We also visited Lake Arenal, and Tamarindo and loved each for their beautiful scenery.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MegBSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

its like paradise...very friendly french couple. helpful and family. this lodge is like paradise. next time for sure i will visit again. perfect for first and last overnight, but also for longer stay. congratulation patrick and nadine

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iq-lionfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Stayed here about 4 years ago with my mom and it was a delightful casita stay. Came during easter vacation/ spring break and got along well with the owners even though we didn't speak French. Beautiful gardens with exotic flowers which was a treat for my mom who gardens back home. The shower/bathroom was really nice too and just the overall treatment here. Rooms were always clean and the weather for the April season was more than refreshing - the morning cool air going into the early afternoon.

On our first day, we went to Xandari which isn't a far drive and had a nice dinner with an amazing view. Breakfast at Tacacori was always delicious and fresh and the owners had great things to talk about - like their trip to the Philippines, etc. The owner even drove us back to the airport for our flight.

I also did a bunch of tours with my mom to Arenal, Irazu, Poas, the hanging bridges and a couple of others. Costa Rica is a great place for nature lovers and definitely a once in a lifetime experience. I would be willing to go back for a break from the city life.

The owner even drove us back to the airport for our flight.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

We chose Tacacori based on our friend's recommendation, and stayed there on our first and last day of our trip. Our experiences of both pre and during the stay with Patrick and Nadine were very pleasant. Tacacori took care of our lodging and transportation needs (airport transfers and car rental), and Patrick was very professional answering our emails at all times. The lodge itself is situated on a hill in a secluded area, you get there by driving up a winding and narrow road, but the surroundings are quiet and seem very safe. There are only 4 casitas and we stayed in Poro and Orquidea. Both were very spacious and clean, though I preferred the total privacy of the Poro's terrace with 2 sun beds facing the garden. We loved the lush tropical garden as it was filled with giant plants, different kinds of trees and flowers, and we could often see birds and small animals nearby. Tacacori serves a sufficient and tasty continental breakfast in the terrace inside the owner's private quarter. It is a pure B&B, and there is no restaurant facility on site. We drove to the Xandari Hotel twice (about 800m down the hill) and had delicious and affordable dinners on the deck with a beautiful view of San Jose. It is safe to drink tap water in Alajuela, and you get a free bottle in the mini-fridge. However, if you crave for a Coke or OJ, I guess you should bring that yourself (there is no supermarket or mini-mart within walking distance). Overall, we had a very nice time staying at the lodge, and encourage anyone to check out their informative website.

Room Tip: Casita Poro has the best terrace (sun beds and privacy).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fabysuzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
0.3 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 27 in Alajuela
902 reviews
5 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 27 in Alajuela
691 reviews
3.7 mi away
Villa San Ignacio
Villa San Ignacio
#9 of 27 in Alajuela
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#1 of 1 in Pilas
707 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
5.9 mi away
Hotel Robledal
Hotel Robledal
#6 of 27 in Alajuela
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tacacori EcoLodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tacacori EcoLodge

Address: Calle Burios | Tacacori, Alajuela 20106, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Alajuela
#2 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#2 Family Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range: $116 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you’re looking for a stop over or a place to spend at few days to find time relaxation in a beautiful tropical garden. TACACORI EcoLodge is your deal destination. Located 15 mn away from the Juan Santamaria International Airport in a peaceful neighbourhood withing Alajuela, Costa Rica and just minutes away from the business district, entertainment spots and shopping centers in San Jose.Tacaori Ecolodge is an exclusive rest place for tourists coming from the airport to stop over for a good night’s rest.Each of the 5 bungalows rests in harmony with its surrounding and included personalized services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Tacacori EcoLodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tacacori EcoLodge Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing