We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restful, out-of-the-way retreat”
Review of Tacacori EcoLodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tacacori EcoLodge
Ranked #8 of 27 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed April 7, 2012

This was a great place to unwind after finishing a two-week-long group birding tour, while awaiting departure back to the United States. It is reasonably handy to the airport at San Jose, which was one factor in my choice. The promise of some more leisurely birdwatching to close out my third trip to Costa Rica was another factor, and the web site seemed to promise that. I was thankful that I had printed out the map provided on the web site; my taxi driver relied on it heavily to get me to the property. He knew Alajuela well, but had not previously been to this particular location. Patrick and Nadine were very welcoming, and very responsive to my needs. I stayed in Casita Poro and was most satisfied with the room. It was simply, but tastefully, decorated and very clean. Wireless Internet access is available in the room. This is a B&B, so no lunch or dinner served. There was a small refrigerator in the room, even though the owners request that no food be kept in the room, because of the potential for calling insects; a bottle of water was chilled inside. The nearest eating establishment (and only one within "walking distance") is Xandari Resort, some "600 meters away" (according to the Tacacori web site); as noted on the Tacacori web site, guests here are allowed to use the resort restaurant. Unless you are in reasonable physical condition, I suggest you call for a taxi. The 600 meters is downhill on a steep hill; then, once inside the Xandari gate, you have a steep uphill walk to get to the restaurant. (Take a flashlight if you go at night -- there are only sporadic streetlights along the way.) Once there, though, I thought it was well worth the trip -- a wonderful view of San Jose and the valley below, especially at sunset and at night, and really great food and service. Back to Tacacori. The grounds are well-kept and quite nice. The breakfast, as some other reviewers have noted, is likely less than you may be used to at a B&B -- fruits, juices, coffee and toast with jam. I have to particularly applaud Patrick for his tolerance of my schedule. I was scheduled for a 6 am flight out of San Jose. Patrick arranged for a taxi to leave from Tacacori at 3:45 and also brought me a fruit plate and juice so that I would have something to eat in the morning before I left. For those of you who watch birds, I note that there is a Montezuma Oropendula nest palm on the property; it was great to get a close-up view of these Costa Rican birds. Other birds were present as well in the trees and shrubs on and near the property. As a retreat, a great place to stay. Having a car, as other guests did, would make one's stay even more enjoyable.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WYbirdwatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (373)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 373 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2012

My wife and I were very happy with our choice of Tacacori for our last night in Costa Rica. The lodge is away from the bustle and noise of the airport area, but is close enough that you can be there in 20 minutes. Nadine was friendly and welcoming when we arrived, the casita in the gardens was private, with a comfy bed, a great shower, and spotlessly clean. It was great to be surrounded by a beautiful garden, and the continental breakfast on the patio adjoining their house/reception area was perfect. A large plate of 4 or 5 different types of fruit, followed by toast and jam, and a pot of delicious coffee. Nadine gave excellent directions to the airport, along with a map to make sure we didn't get lost.
I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again on future visits to the area.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sakillik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2012

On our recent trip to CR, we stayed our first and final nights at Tacacori EcoLodge for convenience. We found the B&B to be tranquil and beautiful beyond our expectations. The rooms are spacious, with a lovely terrace to enjoy the gardens from. We stayed in the Poro and Bamboo rooms, and both were quite comfortable. The modern baths are a wonderful touch.

When we left Tacacori after our first night, we rented a GPS device from Patrick & Nadine. Their price was SO much more reasonable than the car rental company (car rental co. wanted $20 per day, Tacacori charged $6 per day for high season!). The GPS saved us a few times when we traveled to more remote locations, as our traditional map did not show certain towns, and road signage in CR is virtually nonexistent in some places.

We were very happy with our stays at Tacacori. Patrick and Nadine were very gracious hosts, and we plan to stay with them again on our next trip.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rottmom71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2012

We took advantage of the Hello Goodbye offer that you can have at the Tacacori ecolodge and so spent our first two nights and last nights at the lodge. Patrick and Nadine were welcoming and our rooms were extremely clean and comfortable. The garden was beautiful and we saw some wonderful wildlife including a long tailed manikin from our lodge.

One of the reason we chose this lodge was because we wanted to stay somewhere relaxing and tranquil after our long flight from Europe and that is exactly what we got however if I were to stay here again I would arrange to have a car as eating out choices within walking distance are limited to the Xandari Hotel and it gets tiresome having to rely on taxis to go everywhere.

The breakfast consisted of fresh fruit, toast and jams which I enjoyed however when we moved on to other B&Bs and lodges in Costa Rica, which provided traditional Costa Rican breakfasts, I realised that in comparison the Tacacori lodge breakfast was lacking a little. The website says they provide a continental breakfast and that is what you get.

Overall I would recommend this place but would advise travellers to hire a car (and a very essential sat nav) and to be aware that they won't get the generous breakfast that they may have become used to at other establishments.

Room Tip: You get to see more wildlife if you stay in the room right at the bottom of the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2011

Our stay at Tacacori was exceptional in every way. The location is perfect. Close to town, for eating out, close to the airport, for convenience when you come in and leave Costa Rica, and close to volcanoes and coffee plantations and many other activities. Our casita was so nice - clean, comfortable and private with such beautiful landscaping right outside the wall-to-wall window and patio. You couldn't meet nicer hosts - Patrick and Nadine were so gracious and accomodating, treating us as special guests in their home. Patrick even got in his car and chased down the airline delivery van, when they delivered the wrong bag to me. They helped us plan our daily events, giving us directions and ideas on places to see. They were so helpful and nice, yet not intrusive at all. The breakfast that Nadine put together every morning was so delicious, and OH the coffee - wow! There is a small refrigerator in the rooms where you can store some cold drinks and a coffee maker, perfect for on the go people, who don't need a full kitchen. We enjoyed a leisurely morning at the property, looking at the the beautiful flowers and landscaping and watching birds - hummingbirds, flocks of parrots, from our patio chairs, drinking our coffee. Our recommendation is the Casita Poro, as the window and patio are completely private. We took advantage of their "Hello Goodbye" special, staying there our 1st two nights and last night. It was perfect. Great economic place to stay at the beginning and end of your trip and to be near everything, without staying in San Jose.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank islandgirlsammie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2011

We stayed here twice, for one night at the beginning of our trip to Costa Rica, and for one at the end. Both nights we were in the Banana Guest Room, which has a double bed and bunks for the children, and an en suite bathroom (about $95 per night, I think). There are cabins in the gardens too, they looked lovely. The room was clean and comfortable, although ants were traversing the floor day and night, there really isn't much you can do to stop them. The bathroom had an electric shower, we only got tepid water at best, which was disappointing, but the owners have plans to install a solar system which should be better. We managed to block the loo twice - not sure how good the plumbing was overall!

The view from the room was of the lush gardens, lots of trees, flowers and birds to see and hear. We had a couple of strolls through them, a good first and last taste of Costa Rica. Our daughter enjoyed playing with the owners' dogs and parrot. Our son enjoyed to good wifi.

Breakfast was provided on the terrace outside the owners' home, just next to our room, and consisted of fresh fruit, coffee, juice, bread and homemade jams. On our second visit, we had to leave at 4am for an early flight, so Nadine and Patrick packed us some bread and jam, boxes of juice, biscuits, and bananas from the garden to take with us.

Nadine and Patrick were very sweet to us, doing some laundry for a reduced price, providing the packed breakfasts, providing some bread, ham and bananas for an impromptu lunch when we arrived the second time, and even whipping up some pancakes for supper when it became obvious we were not going out in the rain and the dark to get any food. The lodge is on a tiny, hilly road, you need a car or taxi to get anywhere, and when all we wanted was some bread and fruit, a taxi seemed an unnecessary extravagance. Patrick even got up at 4am to open the security gates for us, and waved us off.

So - this is not a luxurious place to stay, but it is comfortable, friendly and beautiful. I'm not sure if we would go back or not, but that is only to do with location, everything is lovely once you are there.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TalbotTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

We chose Tacacori lodge for our first night of our Honeymoon in Costa Rica. The garden was lovely and the individual room very quiet with lovely views of the garden. We had a romantic dinner at the Xandari Resort down the road. However, compared to the other hotels later in our trip the Tacacori was just ok, since it was relatively basic for the price and some details let us down. It being the rainy season, the room felt rather humid and unfortunately we did not have hot water in the morning. I should have mentioned it to the owners, but since we were only there for a single night I didn't bother, but my newlywed bride didn't appreciate it.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BlogGrandVoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tacacori, Propriétaire at Tacacori EcoLodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2011

We are sensitive to your comments on our garden and are happy that you appreciated the serenity of the place. However, we wish to bring some precision concerning your appreciation on our lodge which you qualify as basic item in comparison to the other hotels of your honeymoon. You doubtless chose hotels of a superior category and we do not claim to be able to want to compete with services offered by these. However the equipment of our bungalow compares with these upper-class hotels and it at a much lower price because we provide a safe, a kettle with tea and coffee, a refrigerator with bottle of water offered upon your arrival, hairdryers, thermostatic faucets and multi-shower jet equip the bathroom, without forgetting the free broadband WiFi.
Concerning the absence of hot water, we apologize for this incident due to a technical failure. Indeed in Tacacori Ecolodge and in agreement with our environmental commitment the hot water is produced from solar panels, in case of bad weather an electric resistance has to warm the water, the dysfunction of a relay does not have allowed this switching. We quickly brought in the company which installed this boiler to replace the defective element. Other present guests in our lodge understood that this incident was outside our control and did not hold us responsible. We hope that this incident did not spoil your honeymoon and we wish you a lot of happiness.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
0.3 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 27 in Alajuela
914 reviews
5 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#4 of 27 in Alajuela
708 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#1 of 1 in Pilas
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Villa San Ignacio
Villa San Ignacio
#9 of 27 in Alajuela
142 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel Robledal
Hotel Robledal
#7 of 27 in Alajuela
318 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tacacori EcoLodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tacacori EcoLodge

Address: Calle Burios | Tacacori, Alajuela 20106, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Alajuela
#2 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#2 Family Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range: $110 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you’re looking for a stop over or a place to spend at few days to find time relaxation in a beautiful tropical garden. TACACORI EcoLodge is your deal destination. Located 15 mn away from the Juan Santamaria International Airport in a peaceful neighbourhood withing Alajuela, Costa Rica and just minutes away from the business district, entertainment spots and shopping centers in San Jose.Tacaori Ecolodge is an exclusive rest place for tourists coming from the airport to stop over for a good night’s rest.Each of the 5 bungalows rests in harmony with its surrounding and included personalized services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Tacacori EcoLodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tacacori EcoLodge Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing