We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“what an oasis!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Berlor Airport Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Berlor Airport Inn
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Alajuela
Wildwood, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“what an oasis!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Tired of getting ripped off by a chain hotel that feigns at service for points you can never use?How about a quiet clean room, an intimate restaurant, A staff that is brilliant, Free wi-fi and breakfast and a shuttle to the airport . Felt like home, perfect. Could you ask for more. Not at this rate!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Solarskinart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berlorair, Gerente at Berlor Airport Inn, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Mr. Estuart, Thanks for your comment, we are not only happy for your opinion but also for your staying in our hotel at your arrival to the country and also on your return trip home.
We also appreciate your gentleness in assessing the quality of our staff and our service
Best wishes and hope to see you again on your next visit to Costa Rica
Lester Luquez C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    67
    30
    25
    19
See reviews for
33
82
43
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newark, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

The little hotel is located in Rio Segundo, which is a town close to the airport, I went there because a suggestion from a friend, food was great, I had the Filet Mignon, Believe me, little place great food, nice people working. reservations required always full

Room Tip: Breakfast is very good include in all room rate, we got the room 7, three beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresa1236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berlorair, Gerente at Berlor Airport Inn, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Theresa, Thank for visit Airport Hotel Berlor,
We´re happyfor your opinion about our hotel and we would love you visit us in your next visit to Costa Rica, if so, remember to contact us before your arrival so we will be aware pick you up on time.
Thank you for mention the food of our restaurant, We are so glad you enjoyed our food.
Victoria, Adolfo & Silvia send a huge hug to you and we hope come back soon to Costa Rica.

Lester Luquez C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

The staff here are very welcoming, Victoria cooked very nice food, both in the evening and at breakfast and the complimentary lifts to the airport was much appreciated and make the stay good value. Even a 4 am lift wasn't a problem. We stayed here on arrival in Costa Rica for one night before travelling around, then for two nights at the end of our holiday and it suited us fine. It is on the flight path, but not too much of a problem, if you are getting up for a flight anyway. Rooms are basic but clean, this hotel really suits the purpose for travellers wanting to be close to the airport.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marion3034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berlorair, Gerente at Berlor Airport Inn, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Marion

Your opinion is really important for us and we want to thank you for choice Airport Hotel Berlor as your hotel to stay during your trip in Costa Rica,
I have to mention that we provide shuttle from the airport under request in order to bring you safe to the hotel.
Our staff feel so happy about the good opinion that you have about us,
Victoria sent greetings and we hope your visit us in your next trip to Costa Rica.

Kind regards

Lester Luquez C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Berlor Hotel for two weeks. I found the hotel welcoming, cozy and the staff was super friendly and helpful. This is our first time here in Costa Rica, we are most certainly looking forward to coming back to this beautiful country and make sure we stay at this same hotel. The rooms were well taken care off, cleaned thoroughly and as often as possible. I would recommend this place a 100%. Near the airport and close to a variety of good restaurants. We will be coming back to Berlor Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrindaHannabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berlorair, Gerente at Berlor Airport Inn, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Trinda HannaBella

Thank you so much for all these good things that you have mentioned about Airport Hotel Berlor and sharing your experience with other travellers through this site, we work hard in order to provide a good service for our customer, more than a job, we consider a rewarding experience to have the oportunity of sharing and offer a familiar enviroment during your stay, therefore we hope you feel welcomed anytime you visit Costa Rica.

Kind regard

Lester Luquez C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

So we decided to spend our last night in Costa Rica at Hotel Berlor. We were amazed by the hospitality and the dedication of the hotel staff. They made sure To serve a delicious american breakfast before we headed home.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joukster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berlorair, Gerente at Berlor Airport Inn, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank you for visiting Airport Hotel Berlor, your opinion is really important for us, and we consider every word you type here, in order to improve our service and we appreciate you mentioned a few a details of the service provided at Airport Hotel Berlor,as well as you mentioned, we serve breakfast from 6:00 am-9:00 am and is included in the room rate, We remind you that we provide Airport pick up under request or either, Drop off to the Airport, as one of the most important amenities required for our guest, Thank you for your review, we will ensure every detail in order to provide a better service everyday, Victoria, Adolfo and Silvia send you a "Pura Vida" and we will be aware of your next visit to Costa Rica and we hope you feel at as home in our Airport Hotel Berlor, Best Wishes.

Lester Luquez C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

I chose Hotel Berlor for the price and seeing as we only needed to stay one night I wasn't expecting much. Instead we found a real gem. The staff were friendly and very helpful, the hotel is small with a wonderful family feel. Lester offered us dinner and, again we didn't expect much, but what a meal! One of the best we had in Costa Rica. I would really recommend this hotel. Thank you Lester for a memorable stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Braytravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berlorair, Manager at Berlor Airport Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Family Bray, thank you so much for staying at Airport Hotel Berlor, we loved to have you here and sharing a good time with all of you.
Remember that you all are welcome and we hope to see you again in Costa Rica.

Lester Luquez Cano.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maracaibo, Venezuela
Level Contributor
292 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

We just needed a place to stay the night before we flew out of San Jose and this place served its purpose. However, if we go to Costa Rica in the future we will stay at a different hotel! I have stayed at many, many cheap hotels and hostels but this was one of the worst because it was VERY MISREPRESENTED ON THE WEBSITE.... the info and photos on Trip Advisor and the hotel website did not match our experience at all. On their website the rooms have white tile floors, flat screen TVs, and brightly painted walls. We got 2 dingy, old, and tiny rooms so we were shocked to say the least.

Pros - close to airport, free shuttle service that was prompt, staff spoke English, a/c works

Cons - Our rooms (2 of them) looked nothing like the rooms on their website. There was old, dirty wall to wall carpet, saggy beds, and questionable, ill-fitting bedding. The bathroom in one of the rooms was very dark with just a single dim lightbulb. The walls and doors are paper-thin so you can hear everything happening in the hallway and other rooms. The rooms were also very small and there was hardly room to put our luggage. The TVs were not flat screens.... that's not important to us personally but since they advertised photos of rooms with flat screen TVs on their website I feel I should mention it.

All in all the price was the best we could find for a decent place to rest. We were only there for a few hours and if you're doing the same you might not mind the questionable conditions since the cost is ok. I don't know if some rooms in the hotel have been renovated while others were not, but beware that you may get a room that does not look like the ones pictured online.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daisy21988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berlorair, Manager at Berlor Airport Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear daisy21988
Thank you for staying at Airport Hotel Berlor, your opinion is very important for us, so we can improve our service in order to satisfy the needings of our guest,I see you are unsatisfied with our service. I understand that you don't get the service that you expected from us, that's why as well you mentioned in your review, we have rooms with carpet and some with tiles and also there rooms with flat screen tv, also I want to mention that daily we clean deeply all our rooms in order to avoid any complaint from our guest and keep the cleanliness,
Rooms are designated since the moment our guest make the reservation, however if the guest is not satisfied, at the arrival and if we have room availables, we can modify it into another room,the day you stayed at the hotel you didn't show any complaint about the service, so we considered that everything was ok. Pictures were taken recently and up loaded in a original format. Once again I want to say thank you for staying in our hotel and we take seriously your opinion in order to improve our quality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
5.3 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 30 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica
1.6 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
2.1 mi away
Hotel Mi Tierra
Hotel Mi Tierra
#20 of 30 in Alajuela
3.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berlor Airport Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berlor Airport Inn

Property: Berlor Airport Inn
Address: East From Juan Santamaria 2 km | International Airport, Alajuela 20109, Costa Rica (Formerly Airport Hotel Berlor)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Berlor Airport Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Airport Hotel Berlor is located 2 km east from Juan Santamaria International Colorful hotel open 24/7 for all of those travellers who look for a hotel with amenities such as:Free Wi-fi access, drop off shuttle to the Airport, air conditioner, breakfast, sale taxes, swimming pool, safe parking & Restaurant.Stay at Airport Hotel Berlor enjoy your first or last night in Costa Rica ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Berlor Airport Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berlor Airport Inn Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing