We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad meal”
Review of Berlor Airport Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Berlor Airport Inn
Ranked #16 of 27 Hotels in Alajuela
Reviewed November 24, 2011

The Hotel was recommended by La Cocina at Manuel Antonio.
I was traveling with a couple, and there were no rooms left after we booked, so we all stayed in one room with 2 double beds. A pretty basic room/ not much light, but adequate.
Shuttle to the Airport available, and the Property is gated, so, even if it is in not so good neighborhood, it seems safe. They offer $15 dinners, which are way overpriced, but for convenience, people choose it- as did I. I ordered Fillet Mignon with potatoe puree, which I did not get, because they forgot that I ordered it. I got rice, which I did not want (white). The mushroom cause was pretty horrible and very spicy- which i can't eat, but nobody asked. The piece of meat was small, and done so poorly, that I sent it back 3x, and when it finally came, it was inedible. The cheese cake I got was still frozen solid- i could barely hack small pieces off it to sort of eat it. Though I didn't hardly eat it and did not like it- I told the person working at the Front desk- yet, I had to pay $15 for the bad experience.

Room Tip: Do not eat the overpriced meals there. They are no good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KirklandWAJara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berlorair, Gerente at Berlor Airport Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2012

Dear Guest We have read carefully your review and I must thank for you, as manager of place request the video for your dinner and I noted their claims, however you finished completely your dinner and your dessert, for us is important to have with the videos and detection of versions for improve, faithfully think that should have a problem with your dinner, we are working trying do not repeated to other people. thank you for your help

Bernal Gutierrez

Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (265)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 265 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2011

Close to the airport, cheap, clean, great garden, great breakfast and most of all friendly and very helfull staff.
LG, from Los Angeles

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Popkorn1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 22, 2012

Dear Popkorn 1955

A cordial greeting I want to thank your taking a few minutes of your time to direct your opinion.

The hotel staff has read your positive comments about the quality of service and cleanliness at our hotel

actually try to personalize the service and fought hard for satisfacccion of each guest.

Thanks again for your feedback thus achieve more travelers that we take as a decision to remain the first and last night at our hotel.

Please recommend us to friends and family

Lester Luquez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2011

My stay at Berlor Hotel was very pleasant, especially because the staff is truly friendly and helpful. The hotel itself is situated very close to the airport (3 km), and it offers free pick up at any time. This proximity is practical for early morning departures or late evening arrivals. And though the airport is close by, the rooms themselves are quiet, I was never disturbed by air traffic. I was travelling alone and had a some problems with my luggage, and the staff (especially Lester) was extremely helpful in helping me deal with the formalities involved. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a safe and practical place to stay, close to the airport.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ivanka_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Rio S, Director de Recepción at Berlor Airport Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2012

Dear Ivanka

I want to thank you have taken a few minutes of your valuable time to remember your experience in our beautiful country, I want to thank you remembered specific details about the quality of service, in my case I do it with pleasure, we constantly try to enable us to improve our service customer and exceed expectations .... back soon
Please advise if you wish to return and we will serve you with dedication

Lester

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

The owner of this small family run hotel does an excellent job making sure all your needs are met. He is also an excellent chef. The superb service, food, cleanliness, and very close proximity to the airport, more than make up for the small room and the not very pretty street they are located on. I thought it gave us a nice taste of the local flavor, but I still felt very safe because of the very nice security guard on duty at night.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HotMamaof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 22, 2012

Dear Guest / Hotmamaof3

On behalf of the hotel staff we thank you and your family remember many details during your stay. For us it is a pleasure to have served during your stay. Food and details on cleaning is one of our biggest concerns. We appreciate your recognition and hope to return soon and also recommend us to friends.

Lester Luquez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

Our stay at Berlor Hotel was nothing short of perfect. The staff was friendly and very helpful. And the dinners served up were out of this world. We'll gladly stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 22, 2012

Dear Guest

Dear Guest
We appreciate you have taken a few minutes to give us a perfect score, the hotel staff have read your comment and is motivated to continue giving the best ,Thanks, hope to see you again soon.


Silvia, Adolfo,Bernal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

If you are coming in or out of San Jose and need a place to stay before going on to the rest of the country, go here. The price is moderate but you get far more than the cheaper places. Free internet, free calls to the US, Cable TV, shuttles to/from the airport. It is very close to the airport and highway for easy in and out. The rooms are small but the restaurant and bar are great. Classy drinks and top-notch food cooked by the owner for you personally each evening. We loved it and it was the most relaxing (and best eating) way to end the trip.

Room Tip: Book online, in person, or on the phone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JutWags7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Rio S, Gerente at Berlor Airport Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2012

Dear Guests

I want to thank you on behalf of all the staff, have taken a few minutes of your valuable time to remember their experience in our beautiful country, I want to thank you for recalling specific details on the quality of service and food, in my case I do it with pleasure constantly try to enable us to improve our customer service and to exceed the expectations .... Thanks again for recommending our website visitors, back soon
Please advise if you wish to return and we will serve you with dedication

Bernal Gutierrez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

I have stayed at the Berlor at least 10 xs over the past 4 years. I would not stay anywhere else for several reasons. First of all- it is very close to the airport & the staff will take you or pick you up at any time of the day or night. Secondly, all of the staff display the "famous Tico friendliness" and make you feel at home. The owner/manager is usually on site ( or his daughter is) and they speak excellent English- for those of us with poor Spanish skills!
The cost is in the average range for a small hotel- but they provide so much more. There is interent access, a cute swimming pool and the best home cooked meals available for supper. By the way- the decor is all Costa Rican wood- furniture made by the owner's brother. Lastly, they can hook you up with any tour or travel to the rest of the country. They have travelled extensively and know where the best deals are- not to mention the best experience.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 22, 2012

Dear Mrs. Heather

Receive a warm greeting from all staff of the Hotel, as you mentioned your opinion is worth much to future travelers to Costa Rica.

We appreciate you have taken a room in your busy schedule to write your comments about our hotel.

Thank you for your constant visits, we hope to see you again soon.

Bernal Gutierrez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
3.8 mi away
Hotel Brillasol Airport
Hotel Brillasol Airport
#11 of 27 in Alajuela
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica
1.6 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
4.7 mi away
Hotel Robledal
Hotel Robledal
#7 of 27 in Alajuela
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berlor Airport Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berlor Airport Inn

Address: East From Juan Santamaria 2 km | International Airport, Alajuela 20109, Costa Rica (Formerly Airport Hotel Berlor)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range: $54 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Berlor Airport Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Berlor Airport Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berlor Airport Inn Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing